We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place ROCKS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SeaVenture Beach Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
SeaVenture Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place ROCKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a very pleasant stay at this motel. We've been here several times before and have had some very enjoyable and memorable moments at this place. The staff at the front desk were attentive, pleasant and courteous from the moment of our arrival. We had requested a specific room and that request was fulfilled, no problem. All of the things we love about this place were all there - the comfy bed, the classy bathroom, the fireplace, dimmer lights above the bed, the CLEAN spa on our own private balcony - even a radio with CD player and input for i-pod type players beside the bed. The soak in the hot tub before bedtime under a full moon and NO fog was memorable. We had signed up for the optional $5 breakfast to be delivered in the morning (you pick the time) and it came on time and was delicious. The meat and egg fritata was better than we expected. After a morning walk on the beach (which is right there in front of the motel), it was time for another soak in the hot tub before heading on out. One reason we love this place is because of its proximity to the beach, downtown area and the scenic dunes to the south. The motels to the north are situated on the bluffs, so you have to drive to get to the beach area and downtown. Additionally, they have bicycles and beach towels available for use (that's where the $7 resort fee comes into play). Since we waited until after Labor Day, we received a very favorable rate for our stay and even received a complimentary bottle of chilled, decent quality champagne (delivered at the time you request). The front desk staff were extremely helpful, printing out directions to nearby markets for us and offering us a towel for the sand shower upon our return from the beach. This place does an outstanding job of providing the kind of memorable stay that will keep you coming back and make you want to tell others of your great times here.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the southwest corner offer a cool view of the cars on the beach at night (from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan H, Manager at SeaVenture Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi RichFlourney,
We are so grateful for your wonderful and thorough review! All of your compliments mean so much to us.
You really described so many different aspects of our hotel in such detail, I don't even know where to begin. Compliments for the wonderful staff; from those who work the front desk and took care of all of your needs, to the housekeeping staff who service the rooms and spas to keep them in top notch shape for our guests mean the most. We've all read your review, and are grateful.
I also enjoyed looking at the photos you posted. They are all great, and the one facing the hotel from the beach at sunset was my favorite!
We truly look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
SeaVenture Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    86
    20
    15
    11
See reviews for
35
173
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was the one we were most worried about and it turned out to be the best. As we pulled into the underground parking and went to reception they could not have done enough for us. The staff were extremely efficient but the groaning lift didn't appear to be (it never broke down). The room was comfortable and we received complimentary wine with a cheese board and fruit. What a wonderful thought that set the tone for the visit. We ventured onto the beach, after purchasing body boards and proceeded to enjoy the waves. We were joined by a pod of dolphins who began playing about 10 feet from us in the very same surf. Well that made it for us!! The restaurant on the top floor was the best meal we had on this particular holiday. More than worth a visit with informed and attentive waiters. First class!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and were in a deluxe king room. We had a fireplace which was nice - the only downside was that we felt the place a bit old fashioned and most of the clientele were older. The windows in the room were not clean and we faced onto a broken down old house on the street side of the hotel. For the money we paid we felt this was a cheek.

The restaurant whilst in a nice setting served bland food, utterly tasteless.

The staff were very friendly however!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Sea Venture Hotel. Our room faced the beach and had a hot tub on our deck. however, while sitting in the hot tub you cannot see the beach due to the privacy wall height. But, I guess you do get privacy. The hotel was very quiet, but if you stay on the beach side expect to hear the trucks on the beach picking up the garbage at 7:00 every morning. We were already awake, so it didn't bother us. The room is comfortable. The closet is very small to store your items. And our room only had a shower not a bath/shower combination in case you wanted a bath.

The hotel is in an excellent location, at the beach and just a couple of minutes walk to downtown. The beach is great, and the hotel gives you beach chairs and towels if you want (as part of the $7 amenity charge, but I think worth it). You also have access to the use of bicycles from the hotel, that we took advantage of, where we rode through town and into Shell Beach.

With all the great restaurants in the area, we never did try the hotel restaurant. It is open from 5-9 for dinner.

We paid $10 each day (5 each) for the continental breakfast which was delivered to our room. The breakfast choices include cereal, bagels, fruit, and what they called a frittata. And you got your carafe of coffee, which was not very hot. The breakfast was OK for the price. Might be better off eating downtown.

The Sea Venture has covered parking. However, if you have a bigger vehicle, it makes parking a bit difficult because of the poles next to the parking stalls.

The staff was very friendly.

We will go back to Pismo Beach again, and we will stay at the SeaVenture. It is expensive, but with the location, you can park your car, and just walk or ride a bike to wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location is fantastic, right at the beach, an easy stroll to the Pier. The Hotel was clean with comfy beds. Decor nice if one is into the nineties look. For some reason it all reminded me of the show Dynasty. We did not use the hot tub on the balcony. For the price we paid for a Monday night stay, I would not do a repeat visit. I also thought the $7 resort fee was a little silly, for a $200 + night you might as well roll the resort fee into the rate of the room.

We did arrive rather early at the hotel and they checked us in right away, that was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Wonderful location right on the beach what more could one ask for?. Good facilities, hot tub, bikes etc. Staff really helpful and friendly. Restaurant was good The only down side was we only stayed 1 night!.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed three nights, Sept. 5,6,7. Chose hotel based on great reviews. The great stuff: Ocean front view fabulous. We were on 2nd floor. Staff at hotel absolutely wonderful. Room and hotel very clean. Spa on balcony was grand. The restaurant is fantastic. Food and service. We loved dining outside facing ocean. No need to eat anywhere else. Parking free and convenient. Beach towels provided and breakfast delivered to room every day very reasonablely priced and tasty. The other stuff: Our fitted bottom sheet kept flying off and we were left sleeping on bare mattress by morning. Note to staff: get deep pocket sheets! Bed comfy though. We both thought the room itself was cruise-ship tiny. Perhaps not all the rooms are this small. Do you really need 6 large throw pillows? They take up a lot of room in such a tiny space. Am I being picky? Sorry. Even on second floor facing ocean you are very close to two busy parking lots. Lots of people outside pretty much all the time except at night. People can easily see you on your balcony so you have to sort of sneak into the spa if using during the day. At night some rowdy people come and hang out until cops come and shoo them away. Room is stocked with tons of snacks and drinks but at the end of your stay you have to fill out an antiquated form lisiting all the stuff you used. Since we brought some of our own soft drinks and water we were totally cluesless as to what we used from the hotel stock. Did the best we could filling out the form. Hope we don't get charged at a later date for unknown items. So if you lower your expectations a bit you can have a very nice stay. Walking the beach is wonderful!

Room Tip: Second floor ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SeaVenture Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaVenture Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Seaventure Hotel Pismo Beach
Seaventure Resort Pismo Beach
Seaventure Resort
Sea Venture Pismo Beach
Address: 100 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SeaVenture Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your SeaVenture Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaVenture Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added SeaVenture Beach Hotel to your Saves list