We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel to your Saves list
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2241 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93459   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Savings on Website
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is an excellent beach hotel. Most beach hotels simply rely on the location and put no effort into creating a comfortable stay. This hotel, however, has wonderfully updated rooms and heated outdoor patio seating . . . in addition to easy access to a gorgeous beach. The only item lacking is a restaurant on site, but the continental breakfast is pretty good. Overall, I generally book a beach hotel reservation while repeating to myself, "You only need this to sleep," and I steel myself for cheap towels and scratchy sheets. Not so at the SeaCrest. This is the type of place where you won't mind (too much) if the rain keeps you inside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeaCrestPismo, General Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Joe H, Thank you for your wonderful comments. As you mentioned a hotel can not just rely on its location, it also must be a comfortable place to just stay, even if it does rain. We are close to several restaurants and have a Marie Callenders on property. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    330
    88
    37
    22
See reviews for
285
453
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodlake, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you take a trip down to Pismo you have to stay at the SeaCrest our original plan was to stay 1 night when we got there we had to stay another night because it was so beautiful and the kids just loved it..... We took a walk down to the beach and to the pier at night it was just plane fun..... I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone!!!!!!!!!! It was a trip with my sister and each of our two kids.

Room Tip: Room 211 is perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeaCrestPismo, General Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Lily B, Thank you for the "WOW"! I am glad you stayed another night. This is a great hotel for everyone and families. And as you mentioned we are close to the pier and downtown Pismo. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great views, friendly happy staff, parking, coffee,water and Wifi are all complimentary, not to mention their daily continental breakfast
I feel that they are indeed trying to make their guests feel at home and our family really appreciate that!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeaCrestPismo, General Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Michelle 923, It is wonderful when you go to a hotel and are made to feel at home. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. This is the essence of hospitality. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san rafael
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I'm hesitant to review the Sea Crest OceanFront Hotel because frankly I'd rather not have people know about this gem along the Pacific Ocean.

We have been coming here as a family for 13 years. My husband came here often in the late 1970's and our friend's father started coming back in the mid 1960's so we have some history here!

The hotel has undergone dramatic design and decor changes in the past few years and while it looks very modern and hip, it retains its beach charm. Sure you can sit by the heat lamps or fireplaces and drink wine but you can also stomp down the 100 or so stairs and chill by the beach with a cooler full of beer while your kids dig holes, the dog chases waves and you check out the surfers near the pier.

The rooms are very crisp and well appointed (love the Keurig coffee pots), with nice towels, robes, a small fridge, microwave and complimentary waters and popcorn for late night movies.

There is a hot tub in the pool area which is a prime spot to relax as you watch your kiddies swim in the pool. There are also 2 other hot tubs separate from the pool area so you are a bit removed from the screaming and "Marco Polo" games going on in the pool!

The hotel provides a complimentary continental breakfast with hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, breads, waffles (plus toasters) and a variety of pastries, juices and of course, coffee. For a larger meal you can skip up the hill to Marie Calendars or take a walk downtown to one of the many breakfast joints in town. (Feeling the need for sweets? I would steer you to Old West Cinnamon Rolls. Just head toward the pier and you'll smell them!)

For the most part the staff is very helpful and friendly. If you visit, please look for La Mont. He's the maintenance person who works the late afternoon/night shift. He always has a smile on his face and is ready to help you out. He's the best!

If you're not content to relax, read, swim and meander down the beach, there are plenty of things to do. Wine tasting at the nearby vineyards, bike rentals, a trip to the dunes to ride quads or dirt bikes or a drive up or down the coast is available.

So if you must come down to Pismo Beach you ought to give the Sea Crest a look-see!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeaCrestPismo, General Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear keli h, What a well written review. Very descriptive with great ideas. What is nice is you described everything you can do within walking distance. Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a great time as we've had in past years. BUT when we checked out and booked for next year ( with a party that has been coming for more than 30 years) we were informed that our rates went from 134 a night to 197 , I understand increases but this seems extreme and we will probably have to take our reservation elsewhere. Very disappointed. Called in again today letting the booking agent know again who we are staying with (family has at least eight rooms ) he assured me he would call back....still waiting!!

Also during our stay our heater did not work even with a call into maintenance and the maid service was disappointing .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeaCrestPismo, General Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Michele F, We do hope you will return. We try to be competitive and fair with our rates in the marketplace. I am concerned no one has called you back. I hope you will read this response and connect with me at jamie.wallace@seacrestpismo.com or 805-773-1808. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel. Beautiful rooms, great service, and fabulous views. We enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi very much. Had great views from the pool area as well as from our private patio. Very close to downtown Pismo, so we could walk to the local shops, the pier, and we were right on the beach. The evenings here were very relaxing and peaceful, listening to the ocean from our patio was priceless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeaCrestPismo, General Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sandy C, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. Yes, we are very close to downtown Pismo and the pier. All walking distance by the beach. I am glad you had a relaxing time with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Last minute, booked a non-ocean view room on line for a family getaway (wife, 2 kids) - Arrived and the very friendly Spencer bumped us up to a partial ocean view AND kept us on the 2nd floor south tower (room 250) which meant no stairs or elevators - nice - the room was nice enough for the 4 of us and has been partially upgraded (new flat screens with DirecTV, plantation shutters) but the carpeting was absolutely abysmal and stained.

The free wi-fi and water were a really nice touch. Didn't have the breakfast so can't comment.

There was a new years party on the roof above us and didn't hear a thing. Walls are solid so you don't hear ANY neighbors (or better yet, neighbors didn't hear my screaming 2 year old).

Fantastic beach access, heated pool, jacuzzi's. Good landscaping and made good use of the fire pit and South Tower Deck View.

We did have a problem with the tub not holding water for a bath but Scott came and fixed it no problem (tub problems seem to be following us!).

I've stayed at many places in Pismo, and this one was "pretty good" - Half the price as Dolphin Bay (but not as nice), Rooms bigger than SeaVenture (but also not as nice). Better than Cliffs Resort.

Overall a pretty solid experience - would be back in a second if there were upgrades.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeaCrestPismo, General Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Dancing Boy, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I appreciate the compliments and comparisons to the nice hotels in our area. We are always upgrading and listening to our guests. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel

Address: 2241 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 5-acre oceanfront bluff top our iconic hotel features direct access to the beach, outdoor heated pool and three hot-tubs. All retro-modern rooms have latest the amenities and technology, including Free WiFi, iPod docking stations, flat-panel HDTVs with DirecTV,complimentary Continental Breakfast and 7,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space including our roof top terrace with spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Pismo Beach
Sea Crest Pismo Beach
Seacrest Pismo Beach
Sea Crest Motel Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Sea Crest
Sea Crest Resort Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.