We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time even better than the first!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel to your Saves list
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2241 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93459   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate!
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
dallas, tx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2nd time even better than the first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We visited the SeaCrest for the first time in August 2009 and we liked it so much that we returned again in August 2011. It was fantastic again! In fact, it was improved this time because there were some improvements such as information in the room about what's happening in Pismo Beach. I also noticed that the room was super clean. I clorox-wiped the whole room and found no trace of dirt or anything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    343
    90
    40
    23
See reviews for
300
482
36
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stayed at the SeaCrest for two nights mid-week in early August for business. I was amazed by the gorgeous views as soon as I walked up to check in. The views here are as good or better than any place I've stayed in other beach towns, including San Diego and Talum, Mexico. The staff at the front desk was very outgoing and personable.

My room was very clean and spacious. It looked like it had been recently updated. The free continental breakfast was ok, but I was hoping for at least one hot food item. I enjoyed the free cookies in the afternoon.

I would love to return to Pismo Beach for a weekend getaway and I'll definitely return to the SeaCrest!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Nice friendly staff but sadly the hotel was not up to scratch. The room smelt of - well - urine and it was a really noisy hotel. We were on the ground floor. Insect screen was hanging off, fridge was so noisy we couldn't sleep and although it seemed clean, the room just felt a bit grubby. It was on the cliff above the beach, but we couldn't see the sea from our room. Couldn't have stayed there for another night. Sorry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeaCrestPismo, Front Office Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear PMTK_11

On behalf of the management and staff of the SeaCrest Oceanfront Hotel, please let me express our regret at your recent experience with us. We encourage our guests to promptly contact the Front Desk if they encounter any problem or dissatisfaction. Yes, you were here doing peak season, with the normal general noise level attendant to such a busy time, but we could certainly have arranged another room for you to alleviate the odor you encountered and possible a quieter part of the property. We would also have discussed any options available to place you in an ocean view room if you chose to upgrade your reservation from the room type you had booked.

Nonetheless, we thank you for bringing the issue to our attention, the carpet in the room is being replaced today.

Please visit us again soon and give us the opportunity to provide you a memorable vacation spot. Contact me directly to make your reservation.

Matthew Wilkins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stayed two nights in the SeaCrest midweek in a signature suite. Very clean hotel with spacious rooms, the majority of which have ocean views and a terrace. The property truly opens up as you walk through the lobby and go from a view of hotel rooms to a gorgeous view of the ocean from a patio area with tables and fire pits for lounging! The hotel also has a very large lawn area for grilling and lawn games and direct access to the beach. Seems like an ideal space for family vacations as they provide the equipment for the games (i.e. croquet, giant chess set) and there is also a pool on property.

I left my terrace door open slightly every night for the breeze and was able to fall asleep to the soothing sounds of the ocean. What more can you ask for?!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at the SeaCrest for two nights as part of a longer trip to California. The hotel is well-located in Pismo Beach - an easy walk along the beach to the main area of the town. The hotel has attractive grounds, high quality rooms with balconies, a good-sized pool, great access to the beach (as long as you don't mind quite a few steps), inclusive continental breakfast, very helpful reception staff and free WiFi.

We walked into town both evenings for food - can highly recommend Steamers and the Cracked Crab (share a bucket of seafood there - it's amazing!) - but there was a restaurant just across from the hotel.

This hotel was a great stop-off point between LA and Monterey/San Francisco and would be a great place for a longer stay with children.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We love the Seacrest Resort. The ocean front location can't be beat. Recent renovations to the patio, pool and BBQ areas are so nice. The continental breakfast served in the kitchen area across from the lobby provides many choices and a lot of variety. Sitting on the patio enjoying coffee and a bagel is how we love spending our mornings at Seacrest, followed by a walk on the long beach. Rooms are great...comfortable, modern and clean. The prices have always been reasonable and more affordable than other not as updated hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were happy with our room, #110 in the north tower (no pets). The beds are comfy, the bathroom is clean, we had a sliding door with easy access to ocean views and a jacuzzi mere steps from our room. We also had a microwave (didn't try it) and a mini-fridge. No problems with our reservations, check-in, or check-out.

We did have minor problems with the bathroom sink clogging up our first night and our mini-fridge wasn't cold enough (wet, messy, spoiled food the next day). But the maintenance guys were very responsive and pleasant about fixing things for us. Nothing is perfect, but I appreciate it when people work hard to make things better. As we walked around the facility, I noticed that some of the patios of the standard rooms directly face walls, which would bother me. I'm glad that wasn't the case for us, but just be aware that some of the standard rooms might make you wish for a view of the parking lot!

Their free breakfast is quite elaborate for a continental breakfast (bagels, english muffins, toast, pastries, apples, oranges, grapefruit, bananas, cold cereal, oatmeal packets, hard boiled eggs, milk, orange juice, and coffee). It's a little lacking if you need a hot breakfast for an active day of sightseeing and activity. They have coffee and tea in the lobby and cookies in the afternoon.

The facilities are great and very conducive for relaxation. Our kids had fun playing with a giant chess set on the lawn. Other people played with a badminton set on the lawn. The pool is very nice and there are 3 hot tubs available. We also enjoyed the views on the rooftop terrace. They also have a decent set of stairs leading down to the beach and an outdoor shower to rinse off the sand and salt after hanging out at the beach. I think this site is also great for reunions and other large group gatherings as they have conference rooms and one night one group had a BBQ at the outdoor patio.

As a side note, I went to Marie Callendar's on Sunday to see about picking up some takeout for breakfast on Sunday before our Hearst Castle tour. I walked in at 9 and they weren't set up for the Sunday brunch yet but don't do takeout on Sundays. We later went back for dinner and were completely underwhelmed by the service and the quality of the food. We went to Splash Cafe for breakfast one morning and loved it!!! No lines, great food at breakfast. The girls at the front desk also recommended eating at Cracked Crab for dinner and we loved it. Thanks for the awesome recommendation.

I felt we overpaid a little bit but we had a good experience and don't mind so much. Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely consider staying here again if the price were right.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCrestManagement, General Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review. "Like us" on Facebook, we often have really great specials for our Facebook fans.
Roger Corwin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel

Address: 2241 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 5-acre oceanfront bluff top our iconic hotel features direct access to the beach, outdoor heated pool and three hot-tubs. All retro-modern rooms have latest the amenities and technology, including Free WiFi, iPod docking stations, flat-panel HDTVs with DirecTV,complimentary Continental Breakfast and 7,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space including our roof top terrace with spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Pismo Beach
Sea Crest Pismo Beach
Seacrest Pismo Beach
Sea Crest Motel Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Sea Crest
Sea Crest Resort Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.