We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Committed to providing a product that exceeds our guests expectations"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Suites Pismo Beach

Save Saved
You added Oxford Suites Pismo Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Five Cities Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off - Book Direct
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Committed to providing a product that exceeds our guests expectations"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here for one night. I'd describe the accommodation as fairly basic, however the service and added extras were great! An evening reception with 2 complimentary drinks per guest, plus snacks (soup and salad, plus crisps) were a very welcome surprise! So, they do live up to their mission statement.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    163
    59
    17
    12
See reviews for
186
157
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stopped during our trip up the coast and this was our favorite roadside hotel. Rooms are huge and very well maintained. Free breakfast is fresh and higher quality than the usual "free breakfast" fare. Location is very convenient just off the highway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed for 2 days while traveling down PCH for vacation from east coast. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff very polite and helpful. Didn't use it, but there is a heated swimming pool and hot tub. They even have a dog run. Guests are given a breakfast ticket and 2 drink tickets for the bar each day. Breakfast was exceptional, and the staff serving couldn't have been nicer. If you arrive late, there is a Denny's just up the road. Highly recommended..wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

Room Tip: Didn't use room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with our family for two days. Great hotel. Rooms were very nice and clean. Friendly staff. We liked the pool and the breakfast was great with people serving you. Really enjoyed the area, especially the farmers market on Thursday nights in San Luis Obispo and the drive in theater. Make sure you bring a bunch of blankets as it gets cold watching the movie. Enjoyed Avila beach, much warmer and less windy then Pismo beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family of 4 plus one dog left Oxford Suites this morning....here are my pros and cons:
Pros: staff is extremely helpful and friendly; free breakfast and drinks was an added bonus; great environment for those traveling with pets. Close to beach, restaurants, and things to do.
Cons: rooms need to be completely updated- beds are not comfortable- woke up with stiff neck and back. Sofa sleeper had no mattress remaining- slept on the springs. Expected the suite to be bigger based on hotel description.
This was our first time to Pismo Beach. Next time, we're staying on Avila Beach.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My BF and I stayed here for a 3 day weekend. It was awesome. It was a good (better than most) Hot breakfast which saved us $70.00 each morning. They had some different each morning that you can choose from. We traveled with two teenagers and our pet Buddy. Our room was facing the dog run. Yes!!! This place has dog run. I felt very welcomed with our pet. Which was awesome. Free welcome drinks. Kids were asked to leave the pool at 9 pm and adults only until 10 pm. Sweet! The rooms were clean and no complaints. I would come here again.

Room Tip: If your taking a pet, make sure to call and get a pet room. They only have 20 pet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Wonderfully impressed with the Oxford Suites during a crazy time.

My family of 7 were staying at the Oxford Suites for Father's Day/SLO Graduation weekend. We had three separate rooms all within a few doors from each other. My hubby and I as well as my Father and his wife got rooms with a nice patio area on the first floor of the garden/grass area. Rooms 172 and 174. The rooms were clean and welcoming. Thank you for the extra blankets. I enjoyed sleeping with the sliding door partially open and hearing the white noise from the freeway which really wasn't that loud. The bathrooms looked recently renovated but for some reason the bathroom fan did not work as it should....it did provide a light but the fan function was useless....if you know what I mean. Just a small peeve, perhaps a little soap dish for the hand soap at the sink....we left the soap on the counter and it left a giant soapy mess after three days in the hotel.

Front desk was helpful and we appreciated the apples and cookies as part of the welcome.

Breakfast was chaotic, not because of the lack of food, but because the hotel was crazy busy and everyone needed to be somewhere at the same time for graduation. There was a steady line to grab a plate but the servers and kitchen staff were awesome in ensuring everyone got everything they needed that tables were cleared for new people and that nothing was empty. One small thing....the to-go coffee cups are incredibly small...perhaps you can super size or mention to bring the bigger one from your room or from the coffee area in the lobby.

The room had a fridge and a microwave which was awesome for us to reheat our left over dinner for a pre party snack. No plates or silverware so make sure you bring your own which we did.

House keeping was on it and so friendly. I asked our housekeeper to just freshen the bathroom and the towels. Everything else was fine. They do so just a great job and I'm glad they spoke English.

The happy hour for the guests was quite nice with soup / salad, well drinks and beer. Interesting how the smoking section is just outside the cantina area...weird walking thru smoke to get to the pool and the hotel lobby.

Small bloop on our last evening at the hotel, the hot tub was out of order which sucked since they day was long with graduation festivities. Oh well it happens.

For a hotel that was fully booked, I believe the Oxford Suites did a fabulous job in ensuring everyone had a great stay during such a crazy weekend. We'd stay here again. Thanks for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room in the middle of the hotel area to not get so much freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Pismo Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We appreciate it! We'll review your suggestions and share the details with our team. We look forward to serving your lodging needs again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Suites Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Pismo Beach

Address: 651 Five Cities Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Suites Pismo Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located just a mile from the surf of the Pacific Ocean, Oxford Suites Pismo Beach provides incredible access to the beach, the Oceano Sand Dunes and the nearby Pismo Beach Premium Outlets. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Heated Outdoor Pool, Kiddie Pool & Spa and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Oxford Suites Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Oxford Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Suites Pismo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.