We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and basic, as expected! Reccommend!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Pismo Beach

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Pismo Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Pismo Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   860 4th Street, US 101 at the 4th Street exit, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
County Durham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheap and basic, as expected! Reccommend!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here as a couple in our late 20's for 2 nights as a stop off from the drive from Monterey to LA. the location of the motel was very good 5-10 minutes drive from Pismo beach, shops and restaraunts. 5-10 minute walk from a factory outlet shopping center which also had fast food restaraunts, fuel station and a supermarket. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, average size, had AC, TV and expected nothing more. The motel also had a pool which we didnt get chance to use. Staff at reception were polite and helpful and would definitley reccommend anyone to stay here if you are after somewhere cheap, basic, clean and comfortable to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    30
    17
    16
See reviews for
33
25
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed one night on the drive back from LA to San Francisco. The motel was just what we wanted in that it was economical, clean and convenient. It was a simple room but we were able to get wifi. It was good value for money and the large number of them meant we could be flexible about where and when we stopped on the trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We asked for a king size bed and was told they only had a queen. It turned out to be two double beds instead. The mattresses were the worse we have ever experienced, very hard! We were on the first floor and the second floor sounded like one thin layer of plywood - we could hear a dog wagging it's tell on the floor each time someone got up to go to the bathroom, LOL - it was unbelievable!
It wasn't even as cheap a price as it should have been, $75.00 It was difficult to control the air and wasn't a safe place to leave window open. Only one towel and no washclothes. Make sure that you bring your own comforter not matter where you stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd floor and where you can park your car in front of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Have not stayed at a Motel 6 in years and years.
Of course it was a simple room very basic. But for a night or 2 the (senior rate) price is right and in a great location. We stayed 1 night.

I brought with me, my own sheets and comforter. With all intentions of using them. Well you never use the top comforter in any hotel. So did use the one I brought. The bed could have been more updated.

The pool was great. Room was very clean. We were able to check in 2 hours earlier then expected. I even asked for a pool view and got it.

Had to pay for Wifi. I mean every hotel offers FREE Wifi.

The staff was very helpful and friendly.

All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: 2nd floor over the pool has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here recently for 2 nights whilst driving up the California coast. We thought that this motel was really good value for money (apart from having to pay for wifi). Clean, spacious rooms. Swimming pool. Free coffee. Easy walking distance togrover beach which is lovely. A 3 minute drive/30 min walk to downtown pismo. Large mall next door. I would highly recommend this budget motel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Did not get adjoining rooms as asked. My family was seperated. No soap in the bathroom had to ask for it. Lucky I brought my own shampoo & conditioner. Tv was a 2000 version of a 19" magnavox. Just fyi if your just looking for a place to shower & sleep its awesome. But if you're looking to spend any amount of time in the room go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, the room on first inspection was what we expected, basic and clean, as much as we could expect for what we paid. We arrived late afternoon, so we quickly dropped our bags and made our way to the beach to watch what was an AMAZING sunset. After drinks and dinner we returned late and had a few more drinks in our room. So when we actually got to sleep it was rather late, this is when I realised how dreadful the bed was! My side dipped really bad, it was knackerd!!! I couldn't sleep all night.
In the morning I told the receptionist, but all she replied with was "you should have told us and we could have moved you". 1am isn't really a good time to move rooms though!!
I just think that even though its a budget motel, decent beds should be a basic necessity!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Pismo Beach

Address: 860 4th Street, US 101 at the 4th Street exit, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Pismo Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Clam Capital of the Central Coast! Motel 6 Pismo Beach CA is 2 miles from Pismo Beach Pier. Area dining is within a mile. Visit Avila Valley Hot Springs 7 miles and Lopez Lake13 miles. Relax with Wi-Fi in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Motel Six Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Motel Six
Pismo Beach Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Pismo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.