We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy Here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Pismo Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Pismo Beach to your Saves list
Motel 6 Pismo Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   860 4th Street, US 101 at the 4th Street exit, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy Here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Motel 6 in Pismo Beach is acceptable for the price. We stayed here without making a prior reservation and paid about $55 with tax. The room was small and dated but not dirty. The bathroom had soap but nothing else. The premises seemed less sketchy than other Motel 6 locations I've come across. It's close to the freeway and a short drive from shops and restaurants. The neighborhood is fine but not very interesting. Overall, this Motel 6 gets the job done if you are looking for overnight accommodations en route to somewhere else, but I'd definitely upgrade to something nicer if the Five Cities were my final destination.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    38
    21
    20
See reviews for
40
31
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Because I'm always traveling with dogs (so it seems), I tend to stay at Motel 6s, because of being able to not have to pay pet fees and try to explain to them with certified therapy/service dogs you are NOT suppose to by law pay fees.

This Motel 6 was right up there as one of the nastier ones. When I was there, it appeared that there were 4 or 5 rooms filled with large amount of people...perhaps street folks that pooled their money, or druggies on the lam and so it was a bit scary. Tons of traffic in and out, making me believe there were drugs going through there. Rooms were pretty filthy and alot of mold ....so if you need a place to crash because there are no other choices, I might stay here, but I certainly won't rush back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel. From The smokey room to the dirty floors, and really dirty matresses. I am not sure even where to end. I was very dissatisfied. I would not recomedn this to anyone. I paid 115.00 a night to stay here and had dogs in the room next door barking. HORRIBLE. Sleepless in Pismo Beach Califiornia!

Room Tip: Don't saty here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Me and my Family stay here every year for the fathers day Car show at the Pismo Beach Pier.
Its very average, we never have any problems, and we always stay here every year we come.

Room Tip: There's a Denny's next door so that's cool your able to just walk right up and eat break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed one night and found the place to be the worst hotel we stayed at on our 4 weeks in the USA.
Check in was very slow, the lady was very loud and hard to understand. she was busy though.
The room was just OK, needed an upgrade but was clean enough. You have to pay for wifi, other similar priced hotels don't ask you to do that.
Wouldn't stay there again and not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was not expecting much considering this was a motel 6. But this place needs some major help. We only stayed here due to not many vacancies left in the area so we booked 4 rooms two weeks in advance. Dirty carpets nasty bed spreads and sheets. Only 2 towels per room and these were double twin rooms. I have stayed in motel 6 before but this is up there with the worst. And good luck with the shower. They look like stand up tanning beds.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Everybody knows what to expect at Motel 6: low price, simple accommodations, no frills. This particular one is aging and a little worn, at least on the outside. Our upstairs room was simple but clean. The bathroom was recently redone and actually very nice. I wouldn't say the staff went out of their way to assist us, but they did their jobs. The location is right by the freeway, but our room on the inside perimeter received no traffic noise. What bugged us more than anything else was the late night noise of other guests driving their cars around and stomping through their rooms... but I don't know what anybody can do about that. I would probably stay there again as I don't like spending a bundle on a place to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Motel 6 Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Pismo Beach

Address: 860 4th Street, US 101 at the 4th Street exit, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Pismo Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Clam Capital of the Central Coast! Motel 6 Pismo Beach CA is 2 miles from Pismo Beach Pier. Area dining is within a mile. Visit Avila Valley Hot Springs 7 miles and Lopez Lake13 miles. Relax with Wi-Fi in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Motel Six Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Motel Six
Pismo Beach Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Pismo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.