We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Friendly Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   280 Wadsworth Ave., Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location and Friendly Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you're visiting Pismo Beach for a day or a stay, I would recommend the Edgewater! The price was reasonable, our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Our room also included a mini fridge and microwave. The staff was extremely friendly and check in was hastle free. The Inn is just minutes from all the action, shops, restaurants, and the pier. The Beach is also right outside your door just a few steps away. Heated pool and jacuzzi are on site, but the weather is always on the cool side.The continental breakfast was a bit on the weak side only having coffee, juice, and muffins. While there, I would recommend eating at the Splash and Pismo Fish and Chips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Coachchappo,
Thank you for writing your review. We appreciate all of your kind words. For future reference, all of our rooms have a microwave and mini fridge. I’ll let housekeeping and our front desk staff members know you appreciate all of their hard work. I also wanted to let you that we have added fresh fruit in the morning. It is something light to get you going in the morning, but now, you have more healthy options. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    37
    15
    13
See reviews for
61
64
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We travel to Pismo several times a year. Usually stay right near the Edgewater. 4th of July was our first time staying at the Edgewater. The facility is acceptable but old and in need of updating. There were large crowds and limited parking which we expected. What we did not anticipate was the Motel 6 crowd that was staying at the Edgewater over the 4th. People above us, rudely put cones in two parking spots adjacent to the "dog area" lawn to hold them and invited about 50 of their friends and family, many who were not guests of the Edgewater, over for a BBQ. They took over the place, left trash everywhere, were loud, rude and crude. Didn't mind playing their rap loudly. They took over the pool and spa too and their kids ran around screaming and getting into everything. These people did this Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. To low lifes even left dirty diapers in the parking lot.

What made this intolerable was, when we complained to management, they refused to do anything about it. And, since many of the miscreants had shaved heads and tats on their necks and shoulders and, I wasn't armed taking matters into my own hands was out of the question.

The Edgewater is located steps from the beach and rates are reasonable in the off season. We wouldn't stay there again at any price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear TomHAntioch,
Thank you for your input. We apologize for your stay during the 4th of July. It is our busiest time of year and Pismo Beach draws a huge crowd. With all the people in town, it can get sort of rowdy. We will take your complaints as a learning experience to prevent this sort of thing from happening again. We hope you will give us another try in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

what a smooth check in, staff very welcoming, room nice size, beds comfortable and linen cosy.
nice place to stop on our trip. down the coast. you can see the gorgeous beach from the balcony, literally a one minute walk and you are on the sand. nice walk to the pier, wonderful wonderful coastline. loads of eating places 5 minutes walk, plenty to choose from.

very nice stopover, it being so close to the wonderful beach is a real bonus for this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear CathS1,
Thank you for this review. We are glad you enjoyed our beds and welcoming staff. We pride ourselves on our customer service and it is always great to be appreciated. We agree with you, Pismo Beach is a great place to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

EXCELLENT location--we were literally a staircase away from the actual beach and that was definitely the best part about this hotel.
OK room--it was clean, the pillows and sheets were alright, they've got heaters too, microwave, closet space, coffee maker. the walls are thin though so, you can hear the people next door, below or right outside.
OK service--staff seemed friendly enough and were helpful when our key was malfunctioning.
GREAT price--paid only $80 a night for a clean room and an amazing location!

I would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Melimund,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed our close proximity to the beach. We are happy to see that you thought we are such a great value- there are a lot of people that seem to agree with you. We will be glad to see you again (hopefully soon). Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port macquarie
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Walking distance. To the pier and beaches the strongpoint. alternative newer hotels were a lot more expensive or a lot further away. It's a sleepy town but clearly weekends are full on with the beach loaded with people. We had a handicapped room.. Still not sure how you use a shower chair in the shower which is over a bath. Breakfast was complimentary three sorts of muffins, juice and coffee nice realtor toast. They have brownies for free at the. Oh tee for afternoon tea. All the counter staff were cheerful and helpful, the place is just tired. If our room was a bigger one .. Humm.. We could hear the upstairs neighbours chundering through the night.. Must have been a bad prawn.. And the we could hear the neighbOurs each side as well..

Room Tip: Check the room out first. There is bound to be better ones than what we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Moriac,
Thank you for the review. We agree with you, newer hotels are much more expensive and much further from the beach/downtown area. We’re sorry you didn't enjoy the city of Pismo beach. We are a small town, but many people come here for just that reason. We are sorry you had loud neighbors. In the future please let the front desk know, so we can discreetly and respectfully handle discourteous guests. We hope you give the city of Pismo beach another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is at a great location along Pismo Beach. It is about 200 yards north of the Pismo Pier. It offers great views of the beach and sunset over the Pacific.

The rooms were clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable.

The pool and spa sit right across the street and overlook the beach. Unfortunately, the spa was under reconstruction so we didn't get to enjoy it, but it will be nice when it is done.

The hotel itself is an older property but they have done a good job overall maintaining it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Stewar040,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our close proximity to the pier and our beautiful ocean views. We’d like to invite you to stay with us now that our spa is completely remodeled. It is a gorgeous seven person spa with enough jets to relax every muscle in your body. Thank you so much for acknowledging all our great amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is a great place on the beach. It is nothing special, but it is simple, efficient and clean. The beds are not the most comfortable, but they are clean. The showers are not the best, but they have hot water. The best place at the hotel is the pool, or the rooftop place for breakfast. With the regular horrible weather in Pismo, it is a good thing that the pool is blocked from the wind. Some years the pool is heated, and other years it is not, Management if you are reading this, you should always heat the pool!
If you are arriving to the hotel after midnight, triple check with the hotel that they are aware. Last year my parents tried to check in for my husband and I since we were going to arrive late and they said that everything was fine. When we arrived there after midnight, they had sold our room and we had to sleep on cots in my parents room. Definitely not the most enjoyable night sleep, for anyone involved. The next morning I went to the lobby prepared to battle with the front desk and then they just comped the room for the next night without having to fight at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Alykeany,
Thank you for writing a review. You said the last time you stayed with us was in August of 2012. A lot has changed since then. Most people come to Pismo to enjoy the wonderful weather, we’re sorry the weather hasn’t been that great every time you’ve been to Pismo. Our pool and spa are always heated, and if for some reason it doesn’t seem as hot as you’d like, please let our front desk staff know so we can fix it immediately. We have new euro-top beds and a brand new state of the art spa. We’d like to invite you to stay with us again to see all of the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Suites

Address: 280 Wadsworth Ave., Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a staircase away from the sand and a short two block walk from downtown, you’ll find the beautiful Edgewater Inn and Suites. This Pismo Beach hotel offers a heated pool and spa, complementary high speed (wireless) internet service, and a variety of room options ranging from single king beds to full kitchen suites with views of the ocean. In the mornings you’ll enjoy fresh baked muffins, fruit, orange juice, coffee, and tea. You’ll also enjoy the yummy fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. This landmark hotel also offers pet friendly rooms (with no additional fee), free parking, and 24 hour a day front desk staff for your assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Inn And Suites
Edgewater Motel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.