We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Efficient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   280 Wadsworth Ave., Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
san diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple and Efficient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is a great place on the beach. It is nothing special, but it is simple, efficient and clean. The beds are not the most comfortable, but they are clean. The showers are not the best, but they have hot water. The best place at the hotel is the pool, or the rooftop place for breakfast. With the regular horrible weather in Pismo, it is a good thing that the pool is blocked from the wind. Some years the pool is heated, and other years it is not, Management if you are reading this, you should always heat the pool!
If you are arriving to the hotel after midnight, triple check with the hotel that they are aware. Last year my parents tried to check in for my husband and I since we were going to arrive late and they said that everything was fine. When we arrived there after midnight, they had sold our room and we had to sleep on cots in my parents room. Definitely not the most enjoyable night sleep, for anyone involved. The next morning I went to the lobby prepared to battle with the front desk and then they just comped the room for the next night without having to fight at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Alykeany,
Thank you for writing a review. You said the last time you stayed with us was in August of 2012. A lot has changed since then. Most people come to Pismo to enjoy the wonderful weather, we’re sorry the weather hasn’t been that great every time you’ve been to Pismo. Our pool and spa are always heated, and if for some reason it doesn’t seem as hot as you’d like, please let our front desk staff know so we can fix it immediately. We have new euro-top beds and a brand new state of the art spa. We’d like to invite you to stay with us again to see all of the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    51
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
50
63
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Cozy, Comfortable, Clean.
Those three words pretty well describe our room. The added bonus was a view of the beach! The employees at the check in office were very pleasant and professional. We will definitely stay at Edgewater Inn on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the beach from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Stevenp,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! I am so glad you found "the perfect place" here in Pismo! I look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What do you expect for this price? Rooms go for around $100 on weekends and much less on weekdays. You are almost on the beach and minutes from restaurants and shops in town. Walk down a flight of stairs to the sandy beach, soak in the spa or swim in heated pool facing the ocean, or hear the sound of waves at night. Rooms are somewhat dated, but comes with a microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, mini frig. and a flat screen t.v. Nothing special about breakfast, just oj, coffee, tea, hot chocolate mix, and some ordinary muffins.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, get a room on second floor facing ocean or pay extra for a balcony room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Elaine505,
I appreciate you taking the time to write this review and I appreciate your feedback. Thank you! I’m glad you seemed to really value all of our amenities. We are constantly upgrading and trying to improve to provide guests with the best Pismo experience possible. It seems like you had a relaxing and enjoyable time. I’m thrilled to have you as a returning guest and I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here one night on New Years Eve. It was walking distance to downtown. The best part is how close to the beach you are and the easy access. The room was clean and had a fridge and microwave. Great quality for the price we paid.

Room Tip: We stayed in 446 on the lower ground and had an ocean view when looking out the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear DL4ME,
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking a moment to write this review, I’m sure others will value your input just as much as I do. All of our guests really seem to appreciate the easy beach access, as well the proximity to downtown. Why pay for parking when you can just leave your car at the hotel and take a nice stroll downtown? I’m glad you found use of the fridge and microwave during your stay. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

How can you complain when your room is steps from the beach? This hotel is not fancy, but it was clean. Beware that there is not really a "continental breakfast." Some coffee and a few muffins was all. The cookies in the afternoon were really good though. We got a King size room for $89. I must admit after staying the previous night at the Inn at Morro Bay, there was no comparison of the quality of the rooms, but it was ok. I may check around for other hotels to see if I can find just a little better quality for a similar price.

Room Tip: We were too near the pool, but the noise wasn't too bad. I like to be able to open the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Raiderkev,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate your feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel. I’m sorry the fresh baked muffins, orange juice, coffee and tea were not what you were expecting. I am glad you enjoyed our fresh baked cookies- everyone seems to love that special treat! You may be interested to learn that we are consistently upgrading our rooms and amenities, so the quality of our hotel will be constantly improving. I do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and keep going back. The price is reasonable for being so close to the beach, pier, shopping and restaurants. Staff was exceptionally friendly this trip. Room was clean and quiet. We had a relaxing time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the amenities our hotel has to offer. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to your future vacations with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

In town for a 1/2 marathon, and I tried to book elsewhere, but EVERYTHING was booked! Room was small, there were loud partiers right outside our door, and it was very outdated. Next time I'll choose to drive down the morning of the race if I can't find a room. Leaving town at 4:30 am would be better than staying at the Edgewater again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try our best to ensure that each of our guests stay is enjoyable and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I hope you would reconsider us the next time your in Pismo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Suites

Address: 280 Wadsworth Ave., Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a staircase away from the sand and a short two block walk from downtown, you’ll find the beautiful Edgewater Inn and Suites. This Pismo Beach hotel offers a heated pool and spa, complementary high speed (wireless) internet service, and a variety of room options ranging from single king beds to full kitchen suites with views of the ocean. In the mornings you’ll enjoy fresh baked muffins, fruit, orange juice, coffee, and tea. You’ll also enjoy the yummy fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. This landmark hotel also offers pet friendly rooms (with no additional fee), free parking, and 24 hour a day front desk staff for your assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Inn And Suites
Edgewater Motel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.