We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   280 Wadsworth Ave., Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Below Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

In town for a 1/2 marathon, and I tried to book elsewhere, but EVERYTHING was booked! Room was small, there were loud partiers right outside our door, and it was very outdated. Next time I'll choose to drive down the morning of the race if I can't find a room. Leaving town at 4:30 am would be better than staying at the Edgewater again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try our best to ensure that each of our guests stay is enjoyable and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I hope you would reconsider us the next time your in Pismo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    54
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
60
63
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Outdated, poorly maintained. Location is near, but not on the beach. Highway noise. We were in town for a 1/2 marathon and requested a late check out, due to not being able to get back to the hotel from the race in San Luis Obispo until about noon. Despite 3 requests for a few extra minutes to allow us to shower before our 4 hour drive home, they refused to accommodate us. Seemed very unreasonable considering it was a Sunday in October (not tourist season) and their check-in time for arrivals is not until 4 PM.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. I do apologize that we did not provide excellent customer service and did not meet your expectations. We try our best to accommodate all requests for a late check out and unfortunately there are times when we are not able to. I hope in the future you would reconsider us, I'd be happy to personally assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was conviently located @ beach front & short walk to local highlights. Drawback is that it's an older outdated hotel. The "ocean view" sales pitch is just that a pitch. If you want that view you'd have step outside & turn west to get that "ocean view". If you're looking for the "ocean view" go next door to the sea gypsie. They have rooms w/ back sliding doors that open w/ full ocean view.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you were able to enjoy our location, being able to walk to the beach or Downtown area is one of best amenities. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations regarding our Northern Coastal view and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I intended to stay in this motel for one night but we stayed for three instead. The motel is excellent value and situated right on the beach. Rooms are clean and comfortable, with complimentary coffee and muffins every morning. I must pay special mention to the staff who were most helpful and welcoming to us [you were brillant and part of the reason we stayed on]. Pismo Beach is beautiful and we have noted it for our next visit to California.
Keep up the good work.....

Room Tip: enjoy the pool, we had it to ourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you were able to experience the great customer service our staff provides. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This motel is nice and close to the beach. Yes the decor is a little dated but the room was clean and the staff very nice. It is a short walk to the pier and they are dog friendly. Stay of the third floor with a high room number for the best view.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor, ocean view higher the room number the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your future vacations with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i lived 2 blocks from this hotel for two years. Its just like coming home to the pismo we left when visiting this hotel. The motorcycles, the tourists, the rowdy neighbors. These cant be negatives when you are visiting a touristy beach town. This location lets you see the sunset, the fog rolling in, you can hear the ocean and smell the air. This hotel IS just what living by the ocean in pismo beach is all about. Embrace it all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, Pismo Beach is a unique town and I am glad you were able to embrace everything it has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Well, my wife and I have stayed in numerous Hotels here on the central coast. This is our first time at the Edgewater. Overall, it's not a bad place to stay at all. Check-in was easy, and our room ended up being 10.00 less. The room (#143) was actually clean and nice. The only thing I didn't care for was that it was close to the pool. We got here on a Sunday, so there were people at the pool. That's normal..:)
However, I could hear my neighbors right outside talking. Not crazy about that as I'm a rather private person.
My only "beef" per se was with the bathroom exhaust fan. With it being a rather small room, it's essential for that exhaust fan to work properly. On a scale of 1 to 10 for the fan I'd give it a 1.
So, would we stay here again? Maybe. I'm honestly not sure. Maybe if we were in a different room. We were afforded the opportunity to see the room first, and that was great. Overall I think you'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding the exhaust fan in the restroom. We have many different room types, some with beautiful Northern Coastal views that I'm sure you will enjoy. We hope you will consider us for your future stays in Pismo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Suites

Address: 280 Wadsworth Ave., Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a staircase away from the sand and a short two block walk from downtown, you’ll find the beautiful Edgewater Inn and Suites. This Pismo Beach hotel offers a heated pool and spa, complementary high speed (wireless) internet service, and a variety of room options ranging from single king beds to full kitchen suites with views of the ocean. In the mornings you’ll enjoy fresh baked muffins, fruit, orange juice, coffee, and tea. You’ll also enjoy the yummy fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. This landmark hotel also offers pet friendly rooms (with no additional fee), free parking, and 24 hour a day front desk staff for your assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Inn And Suites
Edgewater Motel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.