We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what living by the beach feels like” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Edgewater Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   280 Wadsworth Ave., Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This is what living by the beach feels like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i lived 2 blocks from this hotel for two years. Its just like coming home to the pismo we left when visiting this hotel. The motorcycles, the tourists, the rowdy neighbors. These cant be negatives when you are visiting a touristy beach town. This location lets you see the sunset, the fog rolling in, you can hear the ocean and smell the air. This hotel IS just what living by the ocean in pismo beach is all about. Embrace it all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, Pismo Beach is a unique town and I am glad you were able to embrace everything it has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    70
    43
    18
    15
See reviews for
73
71
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Well, my wife and I have stayed in numerous Hotels here on the central coast. This is our first time at the Edgewater. Overall, it's not a bad place to stay at all. Check-in was easy, and our room ended up being 10.00 less. The room (#143) was actually clean and nice. The only thing I didn't care for was that it was close to the pool. We got here on a Sunday, so there were people at the pool. That's normal..:)
However, I could hear my neighbors right outside talking. Not crazy about that as I'm a rather private person.
My only "beef" per se was with the bathroom exhaust fan. With it being a rather small room, it's essential for that exhaust fan to work properly. On a scale of 1 to 10 for the fan I'd give it a 1.
So, would we stay here again? Maybe. I'm honestly not sure. Maybe if we were in a different room. We were afforded the opportunity to see the room first, and that was great. Overall I think you'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding the exhaust fan in the restroom. We have many different room types, some with beautiful Northern Coastal views that I'm sure you will enjoy. We hope you will consider us for your future stays in Pismo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Friendly staff were welcoming and helpful the room was immaculate, we were close to a beautiful beach and all the town amenities, We would have liked a bit more selection than chocolate buns for breakfast but they were tasty!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Room 312 has awesome view of Pismo Pier and small balcony w/2 chairs to enjoy the view. Sit and relax and catch a few rays...or enjoy the sunset while sipping your fave refreshment.
Stated Labor Day Weekend -- although hotel was packed, no noisy and loud sounds from neighboring rooms outside.
Desk Staff are friendly -- Shana and Joel were the 2 we interacted with. They were helpful in guiding us to where "the locals eat"--- after all, locals get best value for their $$$$. Very friendly and welcoming staff....and, oh, the freshly baked cookies available daily in their lobby was an added treat.
An older hotel....but only 1/2 block to beach. Very well maintained, extremely clean and they want to know of any problem so they can fix right away. Refrig/microwave/cable tv/WI-fi/pool & small spa; laundry too, so you can take home clean clothes if you'd like.

Couple blocks to downtown for shops/restaurants/arcade/bowling/pier.
Best family location--park your car and can walk everywhere.

Highly recommend! You'll be return customers!! :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about our hotel. I am pleased to read you were able to enjoy many of our amenities during your stay and we are grateful you recognized the excellent service from our front desk staff. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to hosting many of your future vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We thoroughly loved our stay here. They have a heated pool, and spa. I had seen a complaint on another review about the pool being cold. The pool was very cold at 3:00 pm on Saturday of Labor Day weekend. I informed the manager- to find that no one had complained! So always make them aware! By the next day it was a perfect 85 degrees. If the pool is too cold the management will fix it , but it takes time. The room was an excellent value, a queen bed, queen sofa bed with a kitchenette. This was a must for us as my grand kids are 3, and 6. We always had snacks and/or meals available- and didn't need to take tired grumpy kids out to eat. The ad says 2 blocks from the beach, but between the hotel property and the steps to the beach is about 20 feet! We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you notifying us about the pool being cold, we try our best to correct any issues as soon as possible so that our guests can fully enjoy their stay with us. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our close location to the beach. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very clean, helpful staff and nice sized rooms. The location is the best part, it is close to restaurants, the beach and shops, but not right on the main drag either. I was so happy I didn't have to fight throngs of people or traffic to get there. It is a nicer location than the spendier hotels a little north and on the bluffs. I am not sure what all the fuss is about a bad breakfast, personally I skipped it and went to Penny's All American Cafe which was a block away on Price St.. There are also other options on Price St. as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review about our hotel. I am happy to read you were able to enjoy our clean and spacious rooms. Our location is one of our best amenities because of its closeness to Downtown Pismo and the beach. We look forward to your future vacations with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel was good. Had a little view of the sea. Room OK - fairly standard motel style room albeit on the third floor - bedding could do with being updated. Liked the table by the window is you could see the sea. Beach is walkable and the little town as well and Pismo is really nice. Had a baby next door to our room which cried most of the night which kept us awake so would have been good if they were away from people (hotel wasn't full). Breakfast is rubbish - skip it and walk a little to the right of the hotel were you will find the legendary cinnamon rolls (slurp)! Ok for a night or two but if you're staying a week you might want to look to some of the bigger places.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterInnSuites, General Manager at Edgewater Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations.I am glad you enjoyed your view from your room and our location. I hope you may consider us again the future, please contact me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Suites

Address: 280 Wadsworth Ave., Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a staircase away from the sand and a short two block walk from downtown, you’ll find the beautiful Edgewater Inn and Suites. This Pismo Beach hotel offers a heated pool and spa, complementary high speed (wireless) internet service, and a variety of room options ranging from single king beds to full kitchen suites with views of the ocean. In the mornings you’ll enjoy fresh baked muffins, fruit, orange juice, coffee, and tea. You’ll also enjoy the yummy fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. This landmark hotel also offers pet friendly rooms (with no additional fee), free parking, and 24 hour a day front desk staff for your assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Inn And Suites
Edgewater Motel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.