We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, staff and consistently reliable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
The Cliffs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great views, staff and consistently reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here again and always like a room away from pool activity to just chill in the room and enjoy the great ocean views. This was another relaxing stay with a clean and quiet room with large bathroom and tub. The staff is always very friendly and attentive and the rooms have always been consistently good - this is one of our favorite getaway spots.

We usually have a late breakfast downstairs and the buffet breakfast is really good. The wait staff is always attentive and willing to help if you with a special request. The manager of the restaurant is always walking around and checking on people - the same guy has been there quite a while. The food has always been good, tasty and fresh. We love the large buffet choices with omelet bar and waffles. There is also a nice patio to eat your breakfast on or enjoy happy hour and watch the sunset.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Travelin M ~ It sounds like you had a relaxing stay with us, thank you for taking the time to share it! I am so glad you have enjoyed breakfast or a cocktail on the patio, that view can't be beat! David, in the restaurant, loves taking time to chat with our guests and it sounds like he has taken good care of you.
We are honored to be one of your favorite getaways, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    204
    63
    44
    35
See reviews for
162
287
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Yes, everyone likes this place. Some don't like the active summer season as much because it can be noisy and busy. But, midweek is the time to go to The Cliffs if you can. Or, go to The Cliffs when school is in session. Marisol is a very nice restaurant with a great happy hour. Bar is popular with the beach crowd. Our room was Ocean View this time. Worth the added cost if you can get these twenty or so rooms. Staff was professional and accommodating at both the resort and the restaurant.

Room Tip: Mid-week before Memorial Day and after Labor Day. Ocean View best, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
OtisGuy ~ Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed the ocean views! You are absolutely right, fall is a great time to visit, as the weather is beautiful and the hotel is not as busy. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great views and nice rooms but very busy. Pool not big enough to fit everyone, struggled to find a chair. Restaurant ok, didn't go for dinner as it was really packed however did go for breakfast. Ok nothing special. Nice place for a stop over.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Gooz1974 ~ I'm glad you found your room comfortable and that you had a chance to enjoy the views from our property. I'm sorry that you were challenged for space at our pool, the beginning of August is definitely a busy time for us, as we have a lot of family activities and everyone is here to get their last vacations before school starts. For a quieter getaway, fall is perfect ~ the weather is gorgeous and the property isn't as busy.
Thank you for your review we hope to see you on your next trip through our area, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

With temperatures over 100 degrees inland, The Cliffs is the perfect getaway. Cooler temps, great views, sunsets and a wonderful area to go for a walk. The resort and surrounding areas are very pet friendly too. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and clean. We have always enjoyed our stay at The Cliffs!

Room Tip: We enjoy the pet friendly rooms when we take our dog. The slider opens to the outside for easy acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Kay R ~ I'm glad we could be a cool retreat for you and your pups! I am happy to hear that our staff has taken good care of you and been so accommodating. Thank you for being a loyal guest, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Stay cool, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the cliffs in August 2014 and enjoyed our stay. It was a bit of a flying visit, staying just one night, but the food was amazing, happy hour drinks were reasonable prices and the hotel was clean and modern with good facilities (didn't have a chance to use the pool but it looked good). The views from the clifftop were breathtaking and the sunset vista from the beach, just a few minutes walk down some steps, was stunning. The room was good with no view in our case (but by choice to keep the costs down) . Bed was company, shower was hot and powerful enough and generally nothing bad to say about it. Would return or recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Phil B ~ Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Although it was a short stay, it sounds like you were able to enjoy much of our property, and I'm glad you found it comfortable. We are fortunate to have some amazing sunsets, always a great way to end your day!
Thank you for the recommendation, we hope to see you again ~ Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My cousin was celebrating her 90-th birthday and this was the purpose of my visit in USA. We made 3-day trip to Pismo beach and Santa Barbara and staed two nights in that remarcable place. The staf was very nice and ready to help. The place was full but they changed our room who faced the pool for a very quiet and comfortable. We were surprised by a bottle of wine and a card for the birthday! I wish I could be there again for 100-th birthday of my dear Vera!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
smily53 ~ What a great birthday celebration for your cousin. I'm sure she was thrilled to have you there to celebrate with her and we are honored to have been a part of it. We look forward to seeing you both for her 100th birthday celebration, if not before.
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I recently spent one night at The Cliffs resort and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The resort is situated on a bluff overlooking the beautiful Pacific. There is a walking path along the cliff that connects the resort with the other two hotels and restaurants on the bluff. The beach-access path and steps down to the sand are located right next to The Cliffs. As far as the service is concerned, we were very impressed with the staff members. The valet, the front desk staff and the pool attendant were all friendly, accommodating and attentive. They made us feel special and helped us have a relaxing time. Overall, it was a wonderful getaway!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise. Rooms facing away from the pool (north west) are quieter and have per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
schneidy ~ I'm so glad you and your husband could enjoy a staycation with us! It sounds like you enjoyed a lovely walk down by the beach and along the cliff, but most importantly I'm happy to hear that you were impressed by the service. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Complimentary Friday night wine and cheese reception and Kids Club seasonally. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, Spa services and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.