We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Cool" Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
The Cliffs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Columbia, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A "Cool" Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

With temperatures over 100 degrees inland, The Cliffs is the perfect getaway. Cooler temps, great views, sunsets and a wonderful area to go for a walk. The resort and surrounding areas are very pet friendly too. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and clean. We have always enjoyed our stay at The Cliffs!

Room Tip: We enjoy the pet friendly rooms when we take our dog. The slider opens to the outside for easy acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Kay R ~ I'm glad we could be a cool retreat for you and your pups! I am happy to hear that our staff has taken good care of you and been so accommodating. Thank you for being a loyal guest, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Stay cool, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    196
    57
    41
    34
See reviews for
150
277
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the cliffs in August 2014 and enjoyed our stay. It was a bit of a flying visit, staying just one night, but the food was amazing, happy hour drinks were reasonable prices and the hotel was clean and modern with good facilities (didn't have a chance to use the pool but it looked good). The views from the clifftop were breathtaking and the sunset vista from the beach, just a few minutes walk down some steps, was stunning. The room was good with no view in our case (but by choice to keep the costs down) . Bed was company, shower was hot and powerful enough and generally nothing bad to say about it. Would return or recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Phil B ~ Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Although it was a short stay, it sounds like you were able to enjoy much of our property, and I'm glad you found it comfortable. We are fortunate to have some amazing sunsets, always a great way to end your day!
Thank you for the recommendation, we hope to see you again ~ Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My cousin was celebrating her 90-th birthday and this was the purpose of my visit in USA. We made 3-day trip to Pismo beach and Santa Barbara and staed two nights in that remarcable place. The staf was very nice and ready to help. The place was full but they changed our room who faced the pool for a very quiet and comfortable. We were surprised by a bottle of wine and a card for the birthday! I wish I could be there again for 100-th birthday of my dear Vera!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
smily53 ~ What a great birthday celebration for your cousin. I'm sure she was thrilled to have you there to celebrate with her and we are honored to have been a part of it. We look forward to seeing you both for her 100th birthday celebration, if not before.
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I recently spent one night at The Cliffs resort and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The resort is situated on a bluff overlooking the beautiful Pacific. There is a walking path along the cliff that connects the resort with the other two hotels and restaurants on the bluff. The beach-access path and steps down to the sand are located right next to The Cliffs. As far as the service is concerned, we were very impressed with the staff members. The valet, the front desk staff and the pool attendant were all friendly, accommodating and attentive. They made us feel special and helped us have a relaxing time. Overall, it was a wonderful getaway!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise. Rooms facing away from the pool (north west) are quieter and have per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
schneidy ~ I'm so glad you and your husband could enjoy a staycation with us! It sounds like you enjoyed a lovely walk down by the beach and along the cliff, but most importantly I'm happy to hear that you were impressed by the service. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It has been over 5 years since I had stayed at this hotel. I recall the rooms being fair and the outside looking ok, but this recent trip was a pleasant surprise. When I open the door to the room I said "Oh Yea" It looked brand new. The set up was very comfortable and so was the bed. I only spent one night here for a business trip, but it was a nice stay. The price is about right for a hotel room by the beach and the view is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the pool towards the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
145jaimev ~ I'm glad we were able to pleasantly surprise you with our room updates and that you found the room comfortable. Be sure to come back when you're not working so you have some time to enjoy the property!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our second stay at the Cliffs, and once again we were very pleased. We spent four nights the week of July 4th. Again we brought our little dog, and again we had a patio on the pool area - this is ideal with dogs. Staff all super friendly. Complimentary chocolate covered strawberries and champagne at our Saturday check-in. Saturday Movie night outside at the fire pit included complimentary s'mores fixin's and hot chocholate with a showing of Nemo. Plenty of seating around the pool, nice large hot tub. There is complimentary coffee every morning, and Sunday morning there were delicious muffins as well. Comfy outdoor couches. The location is just perfect - on a bluff with a staircase to a swimmable beach. The bathroom is still small and dated, but everything else is great.

Room Tip: Ocean or pool view. We love ground floor with patio exiting to pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Cassietrip ~ Welcome back! I'm so glad you and your pup enjoyed your stay with us over the July 4th weekend. It sounds like you had a chance to take part in our weekend festivities, what's a summer by the fire pit without s'mores afterall!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Me n my bf both went out there last year or the first time in August and the experience I'm this hotel is the reason why we come back, we got the deal from groupon and we loved it the staff was really nice the lobby is beautiful the location is good patio view is ocean front I loved it

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Camila N ~ I'm so glad you've enjoyed your stays with us and continue to come back. We hope to see you again before next summer!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Complimentary Friday night wine and cheese reception and Kids Club seasonally. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, Spa services and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.