We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
The Cliffs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at The Cliffs, Pismo Beach,

Very nice hotel. Staff friendly, Rooms very clean and nice. Valet was great
Had great views of pool and spa from small balcony. Enough room to sit and enjoy.
Restaurant with a large patio was nice.
A really nice ocean front walkway connecting the other 2 hotels/restaurants/bars was really great
All three hotels have an oceanfront restaurant/bar.
My only con is the outdoor hot tub by the pool had the old style jets that point straight up the wall of the hot tub and really does no good and is loud. Others in the hot tub felt the same way.
All in all nice place

Room Tip: Go to the deli down the street. Very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
rackman0000 ~ Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had a chance to relax and explore the area as well. We also love DePalo & Sons, the deli down the road!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    229
    71
    45
    37
See reviews for
192
317
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its oceanfront location and the dramatic sunset images we drooled over on the hotel's website. Unfortunately, we had some bad timing because all we saw was an ocean of fog. Overall, it was a clean, comfortable stay.

ROOMS: We booked two rooms. The first was on the 5th floor (top) with a view out to the highway. It wasn't noisy, but the view of the parking lot wasn't too spectacular. We had a nice fireplace in the room, but when we turned it on it smelled a bit gassy and made creaking sounds. The second room was a partial ocean view. Again, all we could see was fog. The rooms weren't anything fancy, but they were large and comfortable and I miss that comfy bed to this day. On the down side, there was hard flooring in the hallways outside the room doors that were quite loud when suitcases rolled over them.

SERVICE: The service was pretty good overall. The front desk receptionist made us feel like we had her full attention when we were checking in. She was patient and professional despite the phone ringing, a small line building up behind us, and some malfunctioning computer systems. Great job! We had trouble communicating with some of the housekeeping staff though. The first one didn't understand English, and the second one gave a less than friendly look when I asked for a replacement coffee machine because ours wasn't working.

AMENITIES: We didn't have much time to check out the restaurants or the gym, but the pool looked really nice. I've made a mental note to go back in the summer time.

LOCATION: Again, a fantastic oceanfront location that we couldn't see with all the fog. But I'm sure on a nice sunny day, the view would be spectacular. The highway is a stone's throw away, so pretty easy to access.

FOOD: Didn't try, but wish we did!

Room Tip: The entry level rooms face the parking lot and highway even though the hotel calls them mountain vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
wangderlust ~ I'm so sorry you missed the ocean views and sunset this trip! From your photos, it looks like you were here for one of our rare days of actually being socked in! The best times to avoid the fog for your next visit, are spring and fall (and our pool is heated, so you can even use it in the fog). I'm glad to hear that you found the bed so comfy and felt well taken care of by the front desk. If you need assistance with anything, they are the place to go!
We look forward to your next (fogfree) visit!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Cliffs Resort is very clean and the grounds and view of the ocean are beautiful. Every employee that we encountered from check in to check out was very friendly and always started a conversation with you. The rooms were very pretty and clean and quiet. We were there for a long holiday weekend so the hotel was fully booked. We did go to the bar one evening and had drinks and soup, both were very good. Would like to return when it is not a holiday and a little less busy. Also, the weather the weekend that we were there was around 80 degrees. I loved seeing all the dogs, as they are welcome at The Cliffs Resort. I would love to bring mine if he wasn't so nervous all the time. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
tron2 ~ Thank you for your kind review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us! We would love to have you back at a quieter time when you can bring your pup. Maybe long walks on our beach, serene ocean views and stunning sunsets will help ease his nervousness!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We checking in on Friday February 14th. The hotel is very well located. The front desk staff and everyone was very nice, friendly and helpful. The room was good size and very nicely appointed. Clean and comfortable. We stayed 3 nights. The restaurant and bar on the property were very nice. Quite large outside patio area off the bar area. The weather was great. Pool and spa was great. Nice walk down to the beach. Great place, we will come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Tron4 ~ I'm so glad you had a chance to explore our property and great weather to enjoy it.
We look forward to seeing you again soon, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved this place. Come up for a weekend getaway, and left very impressed. The service was excellent, hotel was great, everyone went out way there to make us feel welcomed. We will be staying there every time we got Pismo and recommend you do as well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
easeinsb ~ Thank you for your very kind review. It sounds like you had a great getaway, I'm glad you enjoyed yourself so much! We look forward to your next stay, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at Cliffs Resort for one night with two friends. The weather was gorgeous and warm, so we were lucky because it's not predictable in February. The hot tub with a view of the ocean was perfect. The pool was a pleasant temperature. The room was nicely decorated with comfortable beds. In room 343 we had a "partial ocean" view, but it still afforded us a beautiful view of the ocean toward Avila. Our request for maintenance to unblock a slow sink was fulfilled within less than 15 minutes, as was our request for a 3rd robe. We had a small fridge to keep the wine we had purchased at one of the nearby wineries.

We had lunch on the balcony at the Marisol restaurant next door. Champagne and a lobster wrap. Yum! While there I made reservations for my husband and I to go there for his birthday in May. Can't wait! I would also recommend visiting Sycamore restaurant and spa while there. They have private hot tubs open to the stars.

Room Tip: There are three sections: Ocean view, partial ocean view and pool / ocean view. Ocean view are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Renery, It sounds like you and your friends had a great getaway ~ visiting wineries, tubbing at Sycamore, and lobster and champagne on our terrace! I'm glad you enjoyed it so much and that we could be a part of it. We're looking forward to your stay in May!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Celebrdated our 48th anniversary here on a Trazelzoo deal and got upgraded to room #345. Gorgeous with stunning views and every quality amenity. This is a terrific property with unusual beach access, nice grounds, complimentary valet parking, pool, spa and anything else you might want. The best part of the hotel is the staff. These people don;t know how to say no. Everyone went out of their way to provide a quality stay for us - and they succeeded. If you can possibly afford it, this is the central coast place to stay, play, and relax.

Room Tip: #345 is a sort of mini-suite on the corner with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
bud9845 ~ Congratulations on your anniversay, what a milestone! We're honored that you chose to spend this important date with us, and so happy that you enjoyed your room and your stay!
We look forward to seeing you for your 49th anniversary.
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#9 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#15 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#10 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Complimentary Friday night wine and cheese reception and Kids Club seasonally. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, Spa services and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast served Mon-Sat 7 a.m. -10:30 a.m. Sunday Brunch 8 a.m -2 p.m. Lunch Daily 11 a.m. - 10 p.m. and Dinner Daily 5 p.m.-10 p.m. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.