We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Save Saved
You added The Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
1 review
“Awesome View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed for one night. Our stay was relaxing & enjoyable. We were able to enjoy the pool, beach and bar area. We recommend getting a room on the 3rd Floor with the view of the ocean. The view is absolutely breathtaking. We plan on returning in November.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
gosukigo ~ Although you were just here for one night, it sounds like you were able to enjoy many of our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again next month, we'll save a 3rd floor room for you!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    175
    55
    40
    32
See reviews for
135
257
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Staff were friendly- guests noisy.

The attention to detail was shabby and most suspect we're the bed sheets- they looked as if they'd been slept in. For the price I would expect clean pressed sheets. Also bathroom tiny.
I think there are many more places to stay in the area with better value and the same view! I wouldn't return

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Stephanie R ~ I'm glad you found our staff friendly, however I'm sorry you were not happy with your stay. We take great pride in our housekeeping staff, I apologize that your room was not up to standard. I hope you return to enjoy our area, even if it is at another hotel.
Thank you, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

There are 3 hotels and a restaurant in this location with a nice walkway along the cliffs connecting them.... nice for a stroll with panoramic view of the ocean.

We had a room with a view overlooking the pool and ocean. It was a good size with two queen beds. Some might find the bathroom a bit small. The room was clean (this is super important to me) and bedding was very comfortable.

What stood out was the helpfulness of the staff.

Food was average. They are spa services in treatment rooms off the gym. We had massages and facials. Both were good but if you are expecting a good size spa with lockers, showers, steam rooms, etc... they do not have the facility for that type of service.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: there are corner rooms with very small balconies... we ended up with one of these and called down to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Debrabeckham ~ thank you for your review. I'm so glad that you found your room clean and comfortable and that our staff was helpful and accommodating. As you mention, we do not have a full spa, but we offer many spa services in our treatment rooms with a talented staff of therapists.
We look forward to your next stay, Debrabeckham!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I did not expect much from a beach resort so The Cliffs Resort is a great surprise. Generally properties that accommodate dogs are not much to write of, but The Cliffs is close to perfection for those who travel with or without dogs. We brought our Jack Russell Chihuahua and she found a doggie bed, doggie treat, doggie menu and doggie love everywhere she went. The rooms are well-appointed, clean and recently updated. The sliding doors open up to a nice dog lawn and chairs. Service was impeccable as well as genuine as it related to taking care of guests human or canine. This is a don't miss opportunity to show your dog what it's like to live. This is truly a commendable property top to bottom. No worries if you don't like dogs, they are restricted to the first floor rooms and the staff ensures they are unobtrusive or disruptive. We give The Cliffs thumbs way up as would our dog if she had thumbs. Pack up the dog or just yourselves and go to this perfect, well-priced-for-the-beauty-and-location beach resort soon, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms if you do not like dogs or do not want to risk a bark or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
beagle47 ~ I'm glad we could pleasantly surprise you during your visit, and that you and your pup enjoyed yourselves so much! We truly love dogs at our hotel, but understand that not everyone does, and it's good to hear that both groups of people feel well accommodated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay. I would like to say a special thank you to the housecleaning staff for coming into my room and cleaning it as great as you did. Often I think it is a thankless job, so I wanted to make sure you know thati appriciate you!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Katjaxs ~ I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. That's true, the women and men in our Housekeeping Dept are our unsung heroes and so hard working. Thank you for your praise!
We hope to see you again soon, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is Amazing it is perfect I would change nothing (but the broken elevator). We opted for a non ocean view because the price did not warrant the upgrade. The view was nice and from the balcony you could see the ocean. The rooms were very nice and the beds were amazing. The breakfast was really good the service was amazing. The pool area was great and do to the fact that it gets chilly the poolside fire pit was great. I would decide fly stay here again and would recommend it to all. This small little beach town is a must satay on you way up the coast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
1travelking ~ Thank you for the glowing review, even down to the firepit! I'm so glad you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. I hope the elevator wasn't too much of an inconvenience and that the other one was near your room as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I took my wife here for our anniversary. When calling them I had mentioned why I was booking and upon arrival we found a bottle of wine in our room waiting for us....chilled. I booked a pool/ocean view room.

Our room overlooked the pool area and the ocean, but was more on the north end wing. This side gets less direct sunlight than the wing of rooms parallel to the beach. We were on the lowest level and probably would have preferred being on the upper level, but in truth the room and location was fine. All the rooms have patios with two chairs. The bed was very comfortable, however we did find the bathroom to be a little on the small size....more to the liking of European bathrooms. The shower was great....lots of water pressure and the lighting was perfect. My wife had no problem putting on her makeup.

I was a little surprised to find that they did not have an in-room safe....could have used that. Seating was adequate, comfortable wing chair with ottoman along with a short sofa.

I did find it a little noisy around the pool area at night, (sound carries a long way due to the winged layout of the rooms around the pool, but they close the pool down at 10:00 and by 10:05 it becomes very quiet.

The food in their restaurant is very good. We pre-purchased buffet coupons for the two nights we were there and was pleased that we did. Think this is your best value. Plenty to eat with a omelet bar.....made the way you want them. Bacon and Sausage was very good, along with fruit, cereals, mini-bagels, smoke salmon and lots of awesome muffins, etc.. Plenty to eat and many choices for everyone and the food is good. Oh....coffee and juices come with this as well. Think when you purchase the buffet certificate when making reservations it comes out to about $10.00 per person per day, but you should double check with the reservations clerk.

The hotel resort fee charges include valet parking. The guys are great and you can call from your room and within a minute, or two the car is waiting for you down stairs. The guys are always friendly and courteous.

We will certainly return to this cliff side resort!

Room Tip: Go for the pool/ocean view room and ask for something on the 4th or 5th (top) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
1momo1 ~ Happy Anniversary, thank you for choosing to spend it with us! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast buffet ~ Hannah's freshly made muffins are delicious! For future stays, we do have security boxes behind the Front Desk for guests, please just inquire at the desk. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe for your next anniversary! Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Complimentary Friday night wine and cheese reception and Kids Club seasonally. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, Spa services and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.