We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly, 4 star resort with an incredible restuarant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
The Cliffs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly, 4 star resort with an incredible restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed 5 nights including the 4th of July. By the 3rd pool was packed! Next time, we will avoid the crowds of the 4th. Sunday brunch was incredible, pastry chef is amazing. I thought I died and went to heaven when I took a bite of the red velvet cheesecake. I liked being a bit away from pismo, as it was fun, but crowded. This is a great property with super friendly service, clean, beautifully situated above the ocean. Swimming beach right below. Tide pools, great caves and beautiful formations to explore. Rooms are nice, not fancy, but nice. Pool was small. They do have a FREE kids program. My daughter is 12 and had no interest. Warm cookies in the afternoon, that again, are to die for. Free bottled water, just ask the front desk. I can't express enough how friendly the staff is, EVERY person was happy to be there. It was so different from a chain! Will definitely return or perhaps stay at one of their other properties. MUST go places in town: Splash Cafe for Clam Chowder, Giuseppe's for delicious italian food and last but not least, Old West cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: The rooms on the outside of the hotel are less expensive, BUT, it's also the path for public bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Cgoldburg, Thank you for your kind words, I'm so glad you enjoyed your 4th of July getaway! It sounds like you had a chance to explore our beach and all of it's secret spots. Just as important, you had a chance to experience Hannah's wonderful treats (seriously, who wouldn't be happy to work in a hotel with fresh cookies in the lobby each day)! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    201
    62
    43
    35
See reviews for
160
282
18
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I set up my parents for 3 nights at this wonderful resort for their anniversary and a nice weekend getaway. All they talked about was how helpful and caring the costumer service was. Heather especially was extremely accommodating for them and gave them an experience they will remember. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a beautiful stay with great people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Cory, I 'm glad we could help make your parent's anniversary stay a success! Thank you for sending them to our hotel to celebrate. You should stop in sometime yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My family & I stayed here a few times now and love it.
Right on the coast with beautiful views and the weather was perfect that week we stayed. We hung out on shell beach everyday & eat breakfast & dinner most mornings & evenings at the resort restaurant , food was amazing, & kids eat free at breakfast , so we loved it.
Our room was perfect size for us and our 200lbs Great Dane , patio room right by the path to shell beach , just perfect ! The staff at this hotel are amazing & are wanting & willing to help with all questions we had, it really helped us a lot, so thanks Cliffs Resort for yet again exceeding or expectations, we will be back again hopefully sometime soon, Regards : The Canning Family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dominic ~ thank you for your loyalty,it's nice to hear that you have consistently enjoyed your visits with us! I'm glad our hotel made a good base for you to savor the restaurant, explore the beach and also have enough room for your pup as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon and continuing to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

For our 40tieth anniversary, we decided to "splurge" a bit over the 4th of July holiday. We love the Pismo Beach area and thought Shell Beach would be a great place to spend a few days vacation. We have stayed at a couple of inns around Pismo, but we have now decided to bypass the crowdedness of Pismo to the laid back atmosphere of Shell Beach. We stayed 4 nights at The Cliffs and have never been more impressed from the moment we walked in the door to this afternoon when we departed. The hospitality and service was beyond expecations. Our room had an outstanding view north of the bay looking towards Avila Beach. Dinner at Marisol was a treat. Another night we opted for the "Happy Hour" by the pool for dinner-shared a "huge" baked potato with lots of toppings (try the aioli sauce). We would return without a doubt. This is a place to stop and stay for a few days to truly enjoy the ambiance. Great for families and for couples. We had a room with the "partial view" on the North Side, we'd prefer this to the rooms above the pool. One might find the rates a bit pricey, but for a getaway, worth it. Down Shell Beach Drive, about one mile south, try the Steaming Bean for morning coffee. It's a funky coffeehouse, great lattes, 60's atmosphere. Well worth the walk.

Room Tip: Ask for the "partial ocean view" rooms with the northern views on the third or fourth floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Luka302, congratulations on your 40th anniversary! Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend such an important occasion, I'm glad we could be a relaxing haven for you two. We hope to see you again for your 41st Anniversary! By the way, we love the Steaming Bean too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days and nights at The Cliffs and loved it. This was our 'mini-moon,' and after such an incredibly wonderful and exhausting wedding, we were thrilled to check in and unplug! We woke up to the sound of the ocean outside and watched the waves crashing from our balcony. We had a partial ocean/pool view -- with a fireplace -- which I highly recommend. The staff was so friendly and we loved hitting happy hour (and definitely appreciated the complimentary food that went along with happy hour). Every evening we walked down to the beach and watched the surfers surf. In the morning, we looked forward to our breakfast (highly recommend the package add-on -- you will save $) and reading the paper in a very lovely dining room (with views of the water and a fireplace). The hotel sent up a complimentary bottle of red wine and 2 glasses to congratulate us on our wedding (sooo sweet). Can't say enough good things; we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Try to get at least a partial ocean view -- worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
rtaufen, Congratulations! We're honored that you chose The Cliffs for your "mini-moon", and I'm so glad you were able to relax and enjoy time with your husband. We look forward to your next stay ~ maybe for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Cliffs this 4th of July weekend. We had a wonderful experience. Pool is a bit small but heated. It was a holiday weekend so spa was usually crowded, but we really like the way they are kid and pet friendly. They have s'mores out by pool at 7:00 pm and hot chocolate. Friday n Saturday they had a movie also out by pool. They have nice walking paths to take the dog out for a walk. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Mruano, thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and were on property to take advantage of our Kids Club activities,like the movies and the s'mores (which are not just for the kids :) )!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a relaxing stay we had at the Cliffs Resort. Our room was comfortable and spacious w/frig and microwave in room. Robes for lounging were soft and comfy. Breakfast was not included but we added it to our package and it was a full-spread with an made-to-order omelet station and delicious freshly baked muffins. Easy access to the beach and walking trail. Nice pool and lounging area. The hotel staff was very helpful - great service from the valet staff. Easy access to the freeway and only a short distance to San Luis Obispo and about a 30-minute drive to Hearst Castle. I recommend this hotel if you like easy beach access.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
nrmad ~ I'm so glad you enjoyed a relaxing stay at our hotel, and found our staff helpful and accommodating. It sounds like you started your day with Hannah's freshly baked muffins too, what a treat! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Complimentary Friday night wine and cheese reception and Kids Club seasonally. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, Spa services and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.