We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic view and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Save Saved
You added The Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic view and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Cliffs Resort several times this year. The ocean front rooms are as close as you can get to the beach on the Central Coast—sit out on the balcony and there is little that beats it. Nicely appointed rooms. Seem like they have been recently redecorated. Every encounter we had with any staff people was a positive—cheerful and very helpful. The restaurant was also quite good. We usually avoid hotel restaurants but this one is definitely worth exploring. The only negative we have experienced is that on Sunday the restaurant serves only a fairly expensive brunch buffet after 10:00. Would be nice to be able to order something lighter without having to go elsewhere. Our friends joined us last week and brought their dog. They were impressed with the amenities and support for pets.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for being loyal guests, we look forward to seeing you again! Jasminka has done a wonderful job updating our suites, I will pass on your compliment to her. I'm so glad you have enjoyed the rooms as well as the view. Thank you for pointing this out, we serve Sunday Brunch from 10-2, with breakfast served until 10 am. Room service is available during Brunch and we serve off the menu starting at noon in the lounge, but if you are just looking for a quick bite earlier, there is a great little market on the next block. Hope you are able to come back soon, we're right in the middle of whale watching season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    188
    57
    40
    33
See reviews for
143
267
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have often passed by Pismo Beach on our way to Monterey, Ca, but decided to stop this year and enjoy the area. A friend recommended the Cliffs Resort and it was a great decision. The hotel offers fantastic views of the ocean with well appointed grounds and rooms. Our room was an ocean/pool view that allowed us to view otters and seals from our balcony. The staff was both welcoming and helpful and demonstrated a high standard of service. Also of note, it is a pet friendly hotel. We plan to return next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Carol, we're so glad you stoppped in Pismo this time! It sounds like you received a true Cliffs experience from our active sea life to our warm staff! We look forward to your next visit, maybe with a pup?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Took Amtrak train to Grover Beach where we were picked by the Cliffs Resort shuttle. Stayed 2 nights at the Cliffs Resort in partial ocean view second floor room. Wonderful to watch sunrise light up the hills and San Luis Obispo bay. The resort overlooks the ocean and waves can be heard 24/7. There is also a walkway that goes along two other resorts in area and leads to small mall for shopping and dining.
We enjoyed coconut shrimp and burger at on site Mirasol Restaurant happy hour with very good Merlot wine *the happy servers pour a good amount for happy hour! it was great to eat and drink with ocean views.
There is a nearby beach for walking and massages can arranged in room. We enjoyed this short stay and will return. Please go here to see our photos...https://plus.google.com/photos/116190315107492683472/albums/5822321291475799665

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. Your photos are amazing, you captured the coast (and our resort) in all its glory! I'm so glad you enjoyed your getaway, we look forward to your next stay, and the amazing photos that will accompany it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Definitely worth it to get the ocean view. Room has balcony overlooking the ocean, and at night ou can hear the sound of the waves.

Bed very comfortable. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast buffet very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay ~ lounging on the ocean view balcony and going to sleep to the sound of the waves. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is our fourth time to stay here and we have always had a great experience. The staff is very accomomodating and the restaurant, Marisol, is excellent. We are able to take our dog and she loves it too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty, Sharon ~ I'm so glad you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your fifth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The room, a suite, with an ocean view and balcony exceeded our expectations. It was large, clean, comfortable and well maintained. The bathroom was spacious, well lit with large mirrors and had a jacuzzi tub. The first night after strolling on the walk along the cliffs, listening to the crashing waves enjoying the fresh salty air, we watched a beautiful sunset from our balcony. The next morning we spent relaxing by the pool, swimming (the pool was a perfect temperature) and sitting the in the whirlpool. The weather was so nice that we didn't go to the fitness center or spa but instead walked down to the beach and strolled along the oceanside watching the surfers. At the hotel every staff person we encountered smiled, said hello and made us feel welcome. When we asked how to get to the Monarch Butterflies the staff was prepared with written instructions for us. The breakfast buffet was very good with a large variety of food, eggs made to order and delicious muffins. We had a perfectly enjoyable and relaxing mini vacation and did not want to leave. We plan to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it sounds like a perfect Pismo Beach experience ~ walking on the beach, enjoying sunsets, lounging by the pool, and exploring the monarch groves! Thank you for the nice words about our employees, they truly are our greatest amenity. We look forward to seeing you again in spring (who knows what amazing treats our Muffin Goddess ~ Pastry Chef, will have come up with by then)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you want the perfect spot to relax, spend time walking on the beach, hike a mountain trail that overlooks the coast, or do some wine tasting near San Luis Obispo the Cliffs is it! We spent 2 nights and 3 days at the resort and didn’t want to leave. The accommodations were upscale and the facility was in the perfect place to enjoy a relaxing weekend. We were only 10 minutes from SLO and were able to visit and take in the city.
The staff at the Cliffs were polite and professional. The valets (Ian and Logan) even helped us plan our wine tasting tour and gave us discount tickets to do some free tasting! The food at the restaurant was great and the views of the Pacific were unobstructed. Sunday morning brunch and jazz on the patio made it difficult for us to leave.
We’ve already made our plans to return. Can’t wait!

Room Tip: Look for an ocean view room. We did and were VERY happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience ~ I'm so glad you enjoyed your getaway! If you are with us on a Friday during your next stay, join us in Marisol, our restaurant, for a complimentary guest wine tasting with our wine expert Jeff Chaney. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Complimentary Friday night wine and cheese reception and Kids Club seasonally. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, Spa services and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.