We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing 2 nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Save Saved
You added The Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An amazing 2 nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived from the Yosimite National Park to The Cliff for a brief two night stay that composed of
4 nights in Napa / Sonoma , to the YNP , onto Pismo Beach for 2 evenings and then on to Carmel for 4 nights.
We found the service, the ocean front rm, great, loved the fact I could keep the dr open while sleeping, and hear the sounds of the waves, and the restaurant for a happy hour snack was very good and quite upbeat. The staff were friendly, informative, and pleasant to deal with.
The hotel is well maintained, and offers beautiful water views of the ocean! The beach below is
O.k. For a brief walk, but if you want to visit a real beach with a pier, restaurants, & shops there is a sweet little village called Avila Beach only a 10 minute drive, fun to visit, has a nice vibe!

Room Tip: We choose a room with a view directly on the ocean, Loved it! ! So beautiful, great balcony, Views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Sounds like you had a whirlwind trip, so glad you made it to The Cliffs! Avila Beach is a great place to spend the day, but I'm glad you were able to enjoy the ocean views and breezes from your room as well. Hope the rest of your trip was just as amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    188
    57
    40
    33
See reviews for
143
267
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I paid a little more for a room facing the ocean and I am glad I did. Nothing beats enjoying a morning coffee on the balcony and seeing three dolphins enjoying themselves in the Bay. Plus a beautiful sunset in the evening.

Rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and everything you need. I enjoyed a good steak in the restaurant and drinks and dancing in the bar afterwards. I was there on a Friday night and it was busy.

I wish I had time to enjoy the the pool area as it looks great. If you want to impress someone then this is the place. A large tent was set up in the grounds for a wedding the next day and it would be a great place for that.

Enjoy!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself and that you were here for our dolphin show! I agree that is the perfect way to start your day ~ a cup of coffee with an ocean view. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, hopefully next time you can stay a little longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I had a wonderful getaway weekend here over Labor day. The rooms are comfy and spacious with fireplaces that warm up the room quickly. Beds were very nice and plush and we got a good nights sleep. The hotel bar, Marisol, is also amazing. It opens up to expansive ocean views and there was a DJ spinning top 40 hits and the drinks were yummy. The outdoor patio surrounding the pool would have been nice but it was soooo cold and not enough heaters for the size of the heating area. The pool area also has a fire pit but we couldn't enjoy it because of the number of people trying to warm up around it. Definitely will return as the proximity to amazing wine tasting (Paso Robles, Edna Valley and Santa Ynez) is all within an hour's drive. Not to mention Pismo Beach and all its amazing restaurants and family fun. Definitely consider this resort!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Chrisie ~ We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and it sounds like you got to explore our great wine country! We look forward to your next visit, let us know if you would like winery recommendations, and ask about coupons for complimentary tastings (wineries often drop some off for us). Good point, the evenings do get chilly by the ocean, so it's always good to bring a jacket so you can still enjoy the surroundings when the sun goes down. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've stayed several times and continue to look forward to our visits. Our ocean view room with fireplace was cozy. Our room on the 5th floor was renovated since our last stay. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The buffet breakfast with omelet station is ample, with many choices. We stayed over Labor Day weekend and several bands were performing on a stage set up on the grass area. Music was delightful. We will return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the better ocean view. I would not choose a room facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Congratulations on your 50th wedding anniversary! Thank you for your continued loyalty and for choosing to spend such an important celebration with us. Hope to see you next year (if not before)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We love the cliffs and have been loyal patrons since its conception. The pros always outweigh the cons, although we had a few hiccups this time. Upon check in we discovered we were booked in a non-pet friendly room. We always have him and is noted in our profile i believe. After some shuffling around we settled into an oceanfront suite which was fine but we didn't need a suite on this trip. Even though this trip required only a one night stay we were informed of the two night holiday requirement and no exceptions were made. Ok it was worth a try to avoid this. After having a $$$ wedding here a few years back and being a loyal guest I thought we might be accommodated. To save some money we switched to a bottom floor room with the slider opening to the beach path. Let me just say its like I-5 commuter traffic! It's a public beach access path and the people and noise are a few feet from your door. Lots of drunkenness, foul language and just plain noisy people. I will stay elsewhere before accepting one of these rooms. The area outside our room isnt carpeted so every person hauling an ice chest, maids cart or whatever else is going on out there is amplified, we've got noise from both sides!
We are also charged a 55$ pet fee which we know about, but usually get a doggie bed, water bowl, and some other treats which are really nice, this trip NOTHING! Not sure what's going on there. The charge is for a deep cleaning charge for our 6 lb Yorkie that doesn't shed and I'm sure is better behaved than some of the guests I've witnessed this weekend.
Will we return? Yes we love it here, we'll just be sure every detail is gone over when making our reservation.
p.s. we also realized that this room lacks the kurig coffee maker,lighted makeup mirror, or Kleenex box holder. :-(

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate your input and your loyalty. Holiday weekends at the resort and the beach below are a busy time with lots of activity, which it sounds like you were witness to. While the first floor, pathway rooms do provide easy access outside for dog-owners, they also see increased traffic at these busy times. I'm sorry this was disruptive to your stay. While we do keep notes in your profile (like that you travel with your pup), we don't assume that you will have your dog on every stay, especially since we charge the $55 cleaning fee, so please let confirm that with us when you make your reservation. This may have been the reason for no Doggie Amenities, however that should have been changed once we knew you had your dog, and I'm sorry this was overlooked. Please contact us, so we can make note of this experience, and we can make up for it during your next stay. We want your wedding spot to always be a special place to return to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It had been over 5 years since we had stayed at the Cliffs and it has changed dramatically for the better. We were coming from Charleston, SC, with a stay in Boston, a few days in LA & finally up the coast.

We had spoken with Lauren, the properties Rooms Executive prior to booking. I had requested a 'romantic' room and the Cliffs certainly delivered. Upon arrival we noticed the parking lot was full, not a problem; pull up to the door and you are greeted and checked in smoothly. There was a complimentary wine and cheese service in the lobby at that time so we sent our bags to the room with the bellhop and began to relax. We were met warmly by Louie who poured us a local red and we stepped out onto the grounds. It was around happy hour and you could see how hopping the bar/restaurant area was. Nice craft beers on tap and you pay what you like for the brick oven pizza as the proceeds are donated to a charity of the week. Pretty smart! Grabbed a beer and looked out over the ocean to see pods of 30-40 dolphins driving schools of bait fish into rolling waters. This place is called The Cliffs for a reason, it's has to be a 30 foot drop to the water and the views change with the different lighting of the day. There is a walkway that spans a number of properties and there is a stairway leading down to the beach.

We watched to the sunset and headed to the room before dinner. Ran into Lauren at the front desk who was going off-duty and she took the time to escort us to our room. I could see my wife's eyes taking in the colors and custom tile work and knew I had some redecorating to do when we got home. It was gorgeous, and the focal point was a modern round whirlpool tub backed by a large custom designed glass wall fixture leading to an adjacent tiled shower with three water features. A separate seating area had another flat screen that we never used.

We walked out one of the two passageways to the wrap around balcony and saw a group of people pointing out to the ocean. There we saw three whales breaching over and over until they moved out to sea. A first for us, so pretty memorable.

We went over to 'Maribol' for a light dinner. The bar was still jumping and we almost passed on dinner because we thought it may be too loud due to it's proximity. We took the chance and we were seated in a room with nice views which was as quiet as could be. There were eight tables being served and we only had the crab cake and cheese plate, so I won't rate the food. Both were fine and the other tables seemed to be having a nice experience. It was very subdued and cozy. They do need to lose the foil wrapped butters though.

In all, the Cliffs has just about everything we needed for a romantic stay and the staff makes sure that happens.

Room Tip: If it's a special couple stay, inquire about one of the suites. You may never leave the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you had a front row seat to our Ocean Show of dolphins and whales (a truly California experience)! It sounds like the Front Desk took good care of you, fulfilling all your special requests, and how nice that you got to see Lauren in person after speaking with her on the phone ~ she always goes above and beyond! Thank you for your loyalty, we hope to see you on your next visit to California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

First time I've stayed at The Cliffs after going here for happy hour many times while attending Cal Poly years ago. I disagree with some of the poor reviews here - maybe it has been renovated since then. My husband, toddler son and I enjoyed our clean, pool/oceanview room on a Sunday and Monday night, which was likely more quiet than on the weekend. We slept well on the really comfortable bed and quality linens. The bathroom had white marble. The staff was friendly. The $15 for 2 buffet breakfasts was a good value given the made-to-order omelet station, although pancakes, waffles and French toast were only available by menu. I like The Cliffs. Just wish it wasn't so far from restaurants in Pismo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay on your recent return to the area! We look forward to having you here when your son comes to Cal Poly, and hopefully many returns in between!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Complimentary Friday night wine and cheese reception and Kids Club seasonally. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, Spa services and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.