We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cue the whales"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
The Cliffs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“"Cue the whales"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It had been over 5 years since we had stayed at the Cliffs and it has changed dramatically for the better. We were coming from Charleston, SC, with a stay in Boston, a few days in LA & finally up the coast.

We had spoken with Lauren, the properties Rooms Executive prior to booking. I had requested a 'romantic' room and the Cliffs certainly delivered. Upon arrival we noticed the parking lot was full, not a problem; pull up to the door and you are greeted and checked in smoothly. There was a complimentary wine and cheese service in the lobby at that time so we sent our bags to the room with the bellhop and began to relax. We were met warmly by Louie who poured us a local red and we stepped out onto the grounds. It was around happy hour and you could see how hopping the bar/restaurant area was. Nice craft beers on tap and you pay what you like for the brick oven pizza as the proceeds are donated to a charity of the week. Pretty smart! Grabbed a beer and looked out over the ocean to see pods of 30-40 dolphins driving schools of bait fish into rolling waters. This place is called The Cliffs for a reason, it's has to be a 30 foot drop to the water and the views change with the different lighting of the day. There is a walkway that spans a number of properties and there is a stairway leading down to the beach.

We watched to the sunset and headed to the room before dinner. Ran into Lauren at the front desk who was going off-duty and she took the time to escort us to our room. I could see my wife's eyes taking in the colors and custom tile work and knew I had some redecorating to do when we got home. It was gorgeous, and the focal point was a modern round whirlpool tub backed by a large custom designed glass wall fixture leading to an adjacent tiled shower with three water features. A separate seating area had another flat screen that we never used.

We walked out one of the two passageways to the wrap around balcony and saw a group of people pointing out to the ocean. There we saw three whales breaching over and over until they moved out to sea. A first for us, so pretty memorable.

We went over to 'Maribol' for a light dinner. The bar was still jumping and we almost passed on dinner because we thought it may be too loud due to it's proximity. We took the chance and we were seated in a room with nice views which was as quiet as could be. There were eight tables being served and we only had the crab cake and cheese plate, so I won't rate the food. Both were fine and the other tables seemed to be having a nice experience. It was very subdued and cozy. They do need to lose the foil wrapped butters though.

In all, the Cliffs has just about everything we needed for a romantic stay and the staff makes sure that happens.

Room Tip: If it's a special couple stay, inquire about one of the suites. You may never leave the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you had a front row seat to our Ocean Show of dolphins and whales (a truly California experience)! It sounds like the Front Desk took good care of you, fulfilling all your special requests, and how nice that you got to see Lauren in person after speaking with her on the phone ~ she always goes above and beyond! Thank you for your loyalty, we hope to see you on your next visit to California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    211
    64
    45
    36
See reviews for
167
303
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

First time I've stayed at The Cliffs after going here for happy hour many times while attending Cal Poly years ago. I disagree with some of the poor reviews here - maybe it has been renovated since then. My husband, toddler son and I enjoyed our clean, pool/oceanview room on a Sunday and Monday night, which was likely more quiet than on the weekend. We slept well on the really comfortable bed and quality linens. The bathroom had white marble. The staff was friendly. The $15 for 2 buffet breakfasts was a good value given the made-to-order omelet station, although pancakes, waffles and French toast were only available by menu. I like The Cliffs. Just wish it wasn't so far from restaurants in Pismo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay on your recent return to the area! We look forward to having you here when your son comes to Cal Poly, and hopefully many returns in between!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We went for a wedding and had a great time! It's certainly not the cheapest option on the Central Coast, but it's a lovely hotel with great service. The ceremony and cocktail hour were overlooking the ocean and it was gorgeous, but the pool-goers were overlooking the entire time which was awkward. The ballroom was nothing special, but the food was much better than I expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We hosts our family and friends at this resort 12 years ago. Apparently the quality of the resort has gone down significantly. My husband and I visits Shell Beach every year because we have so much fun memory of the location. Since we haven't stayed at The Cliffs Resort for a while, we decided to take advantage of the internet discount and booked with The Cliffs for 4 nights. At the time of reservation, we had specified that we'd prefer a quiet room away from the stairs, elevators, vending machines, etc. Once we checked in, we discovered that our room was right next to the elevator. After a night of hearing people and kids running in and out of elevator, we requested to change the room. They have accommodated this request by switching us to 3rd floor directly above the lobby. Throughout the night all the way until 1am, we heard car doors open and shut, people making loud conversation checking in and the same noises started again before 8am in the morning. It's much worse than the previous room. When we complained, the hotel told us that for $30 more a night, they can place us to a quieter room on the other side of the building. When we asked to be moved back to the original room, we were told that the room was already given to someone else. They did move us the next day again to an upper floor. The situation improved but the damage has been done. Not only we (including our son) had so little sleep, I was covered with bug bites in the second room we moved to. I couldn't tell if they are flea bites or bed bug bites. But by seeing people with pets around the facility, I only hope it's a better case of flea bites.
We were hoping to have a wonderful relaxing stay and reminisce the great time we had at our wedding and many years of visiting the location. It's such a disappointment, we'll not visit the resort again.

Room Tip: If you must stay, don't book any room facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it sounds like you have made some great memories in Shell Beach. I'm sorry we weren't better able to fulfill your request of a room away from the elevator, although I am glad they were able to find quieter accomodations for the remainder of your stay. I understand, especially with a child, how hard a sleepless night can be. We hope you enjoy your next visit to the area whether you stay at another hotel or try our property again. We would love the opportunity to help you relive your initial, great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The views here are amazing. The resort is well kept. nice pool, and bar, with Happy Hour. The rooms are great, upgraded to Executive Suite. Steps down to the beach.Felt like you were in Hawaii. Happy Hour had free food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
So glad you enjoyed yourself and were able to take advantage of our great location and our amenities! Your photos are beautiful, I hope you got to see the whales and dolphins that have been cruising by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for a single night travelling to LA and had a great stay. We chose this hotel based on other trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. As others recommended we chose the ocean/pool view room and had a fantastic view our over the coast and the great pool/spa area. The hotel is modern, spotless, with large rooms, free wifi and queen size beds. We were travelling with children and had plenty of space (adjoining rooms were available if needed). The beach is within easy reach down a few steps. As this hotel joins with others along the coast you can simply walk between the restaurants if the onsite is not your choice.

Room Tip: Ocean/pool view room worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
So glad you were comfortable during your stay, and that you enjoyed yourselves. Hope the rest of your trip to Los Angeles was great as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West Az
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this nice property. The good things about the hotel are the view, pool area, restaurant and comfortable beds. We had a pool/ocean view that was nice. The things that could improve are the workout facility - machines need replaced. We had no place to sit and read in our room the only chair was for a desk in our room. The Valet Parking took up too much area for those who wanted to park on their own. They should cut the Valet parking area in half. I heard several compaints about this while we were there.

Room Tip: they have deals to get up graded if you stay 3 nights - includes breakfast/parking and you get upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay, and were able to take advantage of the great views! We do have a large valet lot, which enables us to double park the cars to allow more parking ~ but as always, the valet service is complimentary, and you have access to your car at any time.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Complimentary Friday night wine and cheese reception and Kids Club seasonally. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, Spa services and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.