We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath Taking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Save Saved
You added The Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Cliffs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Breath Taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The views here are amazing. The resort is well kept. nice pool, and bar, with Happy Hour. The rooms are great, upgraded to Executive Suite. Steps down to the beach.Felt like you were in Hawaii. Happy Hour had free food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
So glad you enjoyed yourself and were able to take advantage of our great location and our amenities! Your photos are beautiful, I hope you got to see the whales and dolphins that have been cruising by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    172
    53
    38
    32
See reviews for
129
249
17
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for a single night travelling to LA and had a great stay. We chose this hotel based on other trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. As others recommended we chose the ocean/pool view room and had a fantastic view our over the coast and the great pool/spa area. The hotel is modern, spotless, with large rooms, free wifi and queen size beds. We were travelling with children and had plenty of space (adjoining rooms were available if needed). The beach is within easy reach down a few steps. As this hotel joins with others along the coast you can simply walk between the restaurants if the onsite is not your choice.

Room Tip: Ocean/pool view room worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
So glad you were comfortable during your stay, and that you enjoyed yourselves. Hope the rest of your trip to Los Angeles was great as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West Az
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this nice property. The good things about the hotel are the view, pool area, restaurant and comfortable beds. We had a pool/ocean view that was nice. The things that could improve are the workout facility - machines need replaced. We had no place to sit and read in our room the only chair was for a desk in our room. The Valet Parking took up too much area for those who wanted to park on their own. They should cut the Valet parking area in half. I heard several compaints about this while we were there.

Room Tip: they have deals to get up graded if you stay 3 nights - includes breakfast/parking and you get upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay, and were able to take advantage of the great views! We do have a large valet lot, which enables us to double park the cars to allow more parking ~ but as always, the valet service is complimentary, and you have access to your car at any time.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I had booked this room for 2 nights and became concerned when I read some of the reviews regarding noisy kids and dogs running wild on the property. So glad I called and spoke with Lauren in Guest Services who reassured me that my husband and I could have a relaxing stay in spite of the summer crowd. And did we EVER. From the moment the valet and front desk service staff greeted us and assisted with luggage and the reservation, we felt special. Our room was clean and spacious with a view that was spectacular. (Our only concern in the room was the shower - it did not have the water volume necessary to wash away the shampoo efficiently.) We had a leisurely breakfast at Marisol, seated on the patio to view the whales and dolphins. Sammy did a terrific job serving us a hot breakfast, keeping our coffee cups filled, and allowing us to absorb the display of nature in front of us. While enjoying the pool and hot tub, we ordered lunch, snacks and drinks from a very accommodating and competent waitress. Even the pool staff brought us a shade umbrella when the summer sun became intense.
Yes! We saw barking dogs on the grounds but did not hear any in the hotel. We viewed children of all ages with family members by the pool and in the hotel - but none of their playfulness disturbed our vacation.
So glad we were able to appreciate a special stay at the Cliffs - we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Mimila ~ I'm so glad you enjoyed your vacation, and thank you for taking the time to write your review. Yes, we have an active hotel, especially in the summer, but it sounds like you enjoyed a peaceful stay. That's great you were able to catch the whales, they've been amazing!
We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Cliffs at Pismo Beach was perfect for us! I stayed here in the past for conferences, and was looking forward to this visit. We brought our dog who was accommodated with a large comfy bed, a water/food dish, and a crunchy bone cookie. The room was clean and spacious, was located on the first floor with a siding glass door for easy exit.
The hotel is lovely, and the dinner on the patio in the evening was delicious. Excellent menu choices with fresh vegetables beautifully arranged and presented. The staff was friendly and helpful, a water bowl was brought for our dog, and we had a beautiful evening looking out onto the ocean.
The breakfast buffet was convenient and good, particularly the custom omelets and fresh fruit.

Room Tip: First floor rooms accommodate pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay ~ thank you for taking the time to write your review, Maxiedad! We hope to see you and your puppy again soon, either for work or just to enjoy another evening on the patio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Check in was a breeze and the lobby area very welcoming. Upon first entering the room, we were impressed as it appeared newly updated and large. Upon further inspection the couch was dirty and needed to be replaced and the tub and fixtures also needed updating. The tub is not made for two unless you are child size. The shower has absolutely no water pressure so plan on spending some time to get the shampoo completely out of your hair. There is no insulation in the walls as you can hear everything happening in surrounding rooms. The toilet leaks so it runs all night long, I had to get up and shut the door to try to drowned it out. The very nice radio on the dresser didn't work which was disappointing when trying to relax and listen to some music instead of the neighbors talking and doors slamming. For almost 400 a night, I expected more. The rooms are very clean which is a priority. The beautiful view from the balcony and the very comfy bed did make up for most of the short comings. I would stay again but only if I got a much lower rate.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
I'm glad you were able to enjoy the amazing ocean views we are fortunate enough to have outside our door! It sounds like check-in and Housekeeping services were satisfactory, as well. I apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced, however ~ I will be sure to have our Engineers check for running toilets in the suites, and Housekeeping check the radios on their daily inspections. I hope you will stay with us again soon, as we are going into a quieter time, when we will be offering more specials and discounts. Please check our website or Facebook page for these deals. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Booked a room here for two nights in early June. I could not be happier (except for the cloudy weather) the service was great, we got our room with no problems, the room was clean and spacious and the view from the balcony was priceless. We got a ocean/pool view room, it's totally worth the extra 20-30 dollar upgrade from partial ocean view rooms. The pool/jacuzzi area was also great for relaxing and enjoying a drink. The restaurant is average at best, it's great for small plates and appetizers but I suggest going out for dinner. The drinks at the bar are well made and the bloody mary's are amazing. Overall, a great hotel, very romantic and pleasant, and a perfect place to just relax and unwind. Main advice I can give is to ask for a higher floor room (for better view) and if you can afford it, upgrade to the full ocean/pool view rooms, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay from room to pool to Bloody Mary's ~ and even with the June gloom, you were able to enjoy the view as well! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Complimentary Friday night wine and cheese reception and Kids Club seasonally. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, Spa services and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.