We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice location with good service..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Reno, United States
1 review
“Very Nice location with good service..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our recent trip to Pismo Beach and it was a pleasant experience in all regards. The staff were helpful, the location was great and the breakfast was very good. We will stay here on our next trip to Pismo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Ray and Daryl,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your support and feedback inspires our staff to provide every guest with the best customer service every day! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    321
    80
    34
    22
See reviews for
268
422
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Shore Cliff Lodge. Every room faces the ocean. Our room on the second floor was roomy, clean, quiet, even though Highway 1 is close by. We spent lovely evenings on the balcony, relishing the ocean air, watching the flocks of birds, the evening sunset. We even saw a few dolphins traveling by. A nice breakfast room, helpful staff. A great base for beachcombing and exploring the town of Pismo Beach and other small towns around. We'd stay there again, happily!

Room Tip: Only two stories...we loved being on the second floor with a higher overview of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

First, let me say that this motel has a fantastic location. The beautiful, blue Pacific is just down the cliff and you get spectacular views from your balcony with an oceanview or even partial oceanview room. Second, it is located right next door to Ventana Grill Restaurant & Bar where we went for a wedding reception. The food, drink and atmosphere was wonderful. Again, the views from the balcony were quintessential California coast!

My biggest knock on this property is the noisy in-wall A/C/Heating units instead of central air/heating. These units are loud and it's impossible to sleep with it on. Okay, so what you say . . .if it's hot, just sleep with the window or balcony door open and let the night air cool the room. Point well taken, if you're on the upper floor like we were, but, what about the security risk if you're on the first floor? And, what do you do when the weather turns cold and you need this noisy heater to keep the room warm at night?? If you spend most of your time outside enjoying the sights on your vacation and only need a good, safe, clean, QUIET room to get a good night's rest on your journey, how can you do that with a noisy wall air conditioner?? And, I agree, the flies were a bother and agree with the JulieandDan comments on this site. They really could use a good exterminator on-site.

I don't wish to knock this property too much. It was a good value for the money with continental breakfast (including a make your own pancakes machine), attentive staff and up-dated rooms -- just go when you know you won't need to turn on the A/C/Heater and you'll be assured of a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are worth the price difference. Isn't that why you booked near the beach in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all of our guest's comments, postive or negative, so that we can continue to make improvements to our hotel. I completely understand your frustrations regarding the noisy air conditioning unit. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we wil work hard to fix this issue so that your next stay with us is nothing but extraordinary!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Shore Cliff Lodge as part of a road trip from LA to San Francisco along the Pacific Coast highway on the 17th October 2013. The hotel is in a great location overlooking the ocean, the views are stunning. Rooms were very comfortable, the hotel has a pool with sun loungers if you want to take in a few rays of sunshine. Breakfast is a serve yourself arrangement with cereals, pastries, toast and juices.
We cannot fault this place, highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It was our first stop on our drive up the Pacific Coast Highway. When we arrived and got out of our car, I noticed a ton on flies near the front door. I didn't give it too much thought until we walked in the lobby, and a big swarm of flies was in there too. It was pretty gross, and not a good first impression. We stayed at several other hotels near the beach during this trip, and didn't run into this fly issue again. Every time we opened our door to our room, it was a mad dash so we didn't let the flies in. Also, when we checked in, I asked about the restaurant next door and if it was walking distance. The young man behind the desk was a little snarky and responded with a exasperated little laugh "it's like 20 feet away..." Like I should've known--even though we just pulled in, coming from the other direction. Again, not a great first impression. The woman behind the desk was more helpful and kind of made a face like she knew he was being less than gracious.
The room itself was average. I did find a few hairs in the bathroom that weren't ours....but other than that the room seemed OK. The saving grace of the stay was the view. It's beautiful. We were ocean front on the second floor. And there didn't seem to be any flies on the balcony side so that was a relief. We went for a run in the morning on the beach and that was great too--very pretty rocky coast worth checking out. We also really loved the Ventana restaurant which is walking distance (duh!), right next to the hotel. That meal and the great view saved this stop. It was fine for the one night we were there, but I'm glad we left the next morning. I would not stay here again, but I would eat at Ventana restaurant again and enjoy the same view from there.

Room Tip: ocean view is a must. only real positive about this hotel is the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Julie and Dan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your expeience with us. I am sad to learn that your stay was not as enjoyable as we had hoped. Your comments regarding your stay have been taken into account and we are working to make sure that the issues you mentioned are addressed and corrected. We hope that we wll have the opportunity to WOW you during your next stay with us.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were going to San Simeon to the Hearst Castle. There was not much there. We looked at Pismo Beach and read the reviews for this motel. Everyone was happy with it so we booked. It was wonderful! The location was great, the views of the ocean were fabulous, each room had a balcony, there was a continental breakfast that was well staffed and adequate and the staff was great. A perfect spot for a vacation or get away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the favorable review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the compliments and are thrilled to know you had a great experience during your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I think good value for money. Nice location for (only) one overnight stay. Near the highway. But further not very special. Don't let you fool by the pictures, yes the location looks stunning especially the pool. But it is very moderate and you don't want to be there for more then a hour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to hear that you felt your stay was a good value. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge

Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Lodge offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.