We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Beaumont, California
1 review
“Anniversary getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great place!! very nice, very clean, friendly staff, housekeeping staff was great, professional, attentive,and very nice. Their continental breakfast was limited due construction going on in their main lobby and dinning room area. Spectacular views, very quiet, very private, Awesome getaway!! Anxious to plan my next getaway!! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
First, thank you for your detailed feedback of your stay. Although all rooms on property do provide an ocean view, the oceanfront rooms do offer the most complete panoramic view. We are so happy that you brought it to our attention that you had envisioned something different and we were able to accommodate you and provide you with the experience you were looking for.
We pride ourselves on providing quality service and comfortable accommodations. We are currently investigating the internet issue. With many travelers now streaming movies from their devices, it is at times difficult to get a super signal to all. We hope that you will return to visit us soon.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    281
    73
    32
    19
See reviews for
246
360
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is our new favorite beach getaway. We've stayed several times over the last few years, our most recent stay over spring break. We've stayed in both ocean view rooms and two-room suites.

The staff is very friendly. From front desk to housekeeping we were warmly greeted. The rooms and grounds are clean, and the view is incredible. The kids love the heated pool and loved wandering around the grassy/gazebo area.

The breakfast is decent with quite a few options, including pancakes (another kid pleaser!).

The property does not have beach acess, but you can follow a path through neighboring hotel properties to reach stairs to the beach. It's nice if you just want to walk around the beach, but if you have a lot of gear (as we do with the kids) you'd be better off driving over to the pier area.

The room was clean and comfortable and fairly spacious. The toiletries are nice -Bath and Body Works brand. My only complaint is the pillows were not the most comfortable. They are small, square, and a little firmer than we prefer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your family vacation at the Best Western PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge. We knew the pancakes would be a hit with our younger guests as well as the big kids. The coastal walkways are beautiful when you are not hauling a day’s worth of necessities, so I agree with the short drive to the pier.
We look forward to your next stay and please feel free to contact our guest services for any items you may need such as a different type of pillow. We will do our best to accommodate any request. Thank you for your business and we’ll see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its claim to have the biggest heated outdoor pool of all the hotels in the area and it did not disappoint! Beautiful warm clean pool -- you can even do laps if you get in when the pool opens at 8 am. After that, it fills up, especially on weekends. Nice hotel in a spectacular setting, perched on the cliff overlooking Pismo Beach. Wonderfully pet-friendly; they even supplied 2 kinds of Buddy Biscuit treats (regular and grain-free!). Room (on the pet-friendly 1st floor) was spacious and clean. If I had any suggestions, it would be to provide more healthy choices at breakfast (all the cereals and yogurts were high in sugar), but other than that, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. We are thrilled that you and your furry travelling companion enjoyed your stay. We know that it is important to be hospitable to every member of the family. Be sure to check us out on Facebook and submit your pet’s photo for our Pet of the Month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After having a very disappointing stay in Monterey we told the receptionist, we would like a nice room for a change and he was very kind to give us an upgrade.
The roos are nice and spacious with a view to the sea. Pity there are no bathrobes available, only in the suites or to buy for 60 $ ...so the heated outdoor pool was not an option.
The breakfast is not bad, but the room is without atmosphere and heart...very cold, blank tables, cold floors and not a single flower anywhere...this room could be upgraded with small things, to make the start into the day more pleasant.
Overall, for a night break on the way to or from LA its fine. Sure in summer with good weather things look different. We had rain and it was cold, being march...

Room Tip: Seems like the room in the same building as reception are better, at least we had an upgrade to one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay at the Best Western PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and wish the weather had been more pleasant so you could have enjoyed more of the area. I greatly appreciate the suggestions on the breakfast room as well. We will take a look at how we can warm the room. We recently added the surfboards and will continue to create more personality.
We look forward to your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were on a family trip up the central California coast and chose to spend a night at Pismo Beach to unwind. We love an unobstructed view of the ocean and the sound of the ocean waves breaking on the rocks; finding a quiet, private spot to enjoy the ocean horizon and sound of the sea was our goal. I found what looked like a good deal on the Internet (Expedia, prepaid rate) and booked a room that was advertised as having an ocean view. The sample room photo showed an unobstructed view of the ocean off the balcony, so I figured we were all set for peaceful bliss.

We arrived at the hotel in mid-afternoon, and promptly checked in. The front desk agent (manager?) welcomed us warmly, and gave me a key to a second-floor room in the tower. The hotel is configured as an ocean-front block (where the lobby is located) and a separate tower with three wings. Our assigned room was located near the center of the tower, with a view that was partially blocked by an adjoining wing of the tower and directly overlooking the busy pool. The ocean was visible from the balcony, but off in the distance past the pool. It was definitely not what we thought we had booked, and did not afford us the relaxing, quiet ocean experience we were expecting.

I promptly went back to the front desk and expressed my concerns. The agent (manager?) insisted that we had booked an "ocean view" room on Expedia, and that the Expedia room was not an "ocean front" room. I was aware that she had me over a barrel because the rate was prepaid, and the payment had already been made before we arrived. To her credit (and the hotel's), she offered me a different room with a slightly different bed configuration (2 queens vs. 1 king) in the "ocean front" block as a replacement, for the same price. After checking it out, we found that the new room was more like what we thought we had originally booked, and accepted it.

Once in the room, our experience was excellent. The room was recently renovated, clean, comfortable, well-decorated and generally quiet. We enjoyed the view and the sound of the waves, and even had a visit from a curious seagull. The beds were comfortable and offered a good night's sleep. We ordered dinner from a local Italian restaurant using the in-room delivery service, which we enjoyed on the balcony. All in all, it was a fabulous evening.

Some notes: The in-room wireless Internet was free and worked, but wasn't very fast-- about equal to a slower DSL line. It was able to accommodate all of my devices, including two phones and a tablet. There are vending machines with sodas in multiple locations, although they carry different products. For example, the vending machine at the pool end of the "ocean front" block has only Pepsi products, but the vending machine in the tower carries Coca-Cola products. If you book your room through a service like Expedia, pay careful attention to the type of room, as "ocean view" and "ocean front" apparently mean different things, and the difference is significant.

Room Tip: Make sure to book an "Ocean Front" room if you want a view of nothing but the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great Hotel with all rooms having ocean view, have stayed there many times and never had a problem, nice place. Close to great restaurants and activities, Good place to eat on site also. Rooms are always clean and neat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge

Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Lodge offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.