We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“So Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nites - 2 were for business and one was for pleasure. We had an ocean/coast/pier view on the third floor.

The room was very clean and attractive - attention given to detail (lovely "fan folds" on the top tissue in the tissue box, ice bag, bathroom linens folded attracticely, etc - Ammenities were from Bath & Bodyworks.

We so enjoyed the view from our room - and having our door open all day and night! It was wonderful to not only see the waves, watch the surfers and see the coastline and pier (and fog at times!) - but to hear the waves also. It was wonderful to have chairs on our deck to "just sit" - something we rarely have the priviledge of doing. Also, we asked for extra tea bags at the lobby and they graciously supplied those.

One draw back - was that with our door open, "neighbors" had a midnight meal - either near their open door or on their deck. That was disruptive and not a problem of the hotel, but . . rather the guest - but . . it was enough noise (talking, crumpling of foil and trash, etc) to wake us up. Also, someone was smoking on their deck several times during our stay and that smoke came into our non-smoking room - annoying (and allergy irriatating).

The contential bfst was "OK" - waffles, oranges/apples, cold cereals, toast, llimted pastries, and tea and coffee. We were disappointed that only the bar area was open for eating - not the dining room. There were lots of people and the bar area was very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    323
    80
    34
    22
See reviews for
268
425
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

If you want a super nice ocean view, this is about as nice as it gets. The room we had needed a little upgrading. The TV was older and blurry but we didn't watch it much so it didn't really matter, but compared to other hotels at similar price points, I think they need to work on a few things like that. The room was reasonable during the week, but the weekend rate was pricey and at the rate we paid, it should be a little nicer. The grounds are really nice. Great pool and hot tub. Laundry facilities were nice to have after a week on the road. The rooms all had fridges and microwaves which is also very helpful when you are traveling for long periods and dragging food along with you. Overall, I really enjoyed our stay and I realize that you are paying for the view, not just the room and the view was incredible!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The rooms are well appointed. Loved the kitchenette, size of room great, ocean view very nice. We enjoyed the pool. Biggest beef was issues with check-in; check-out. I had made arrangements to pay for several rooms, one had issue checking in another had issue checking out. Poor communication between front desk employees. Breakfast was way too crowded..really long lines for the waffles. Need more waffle makers and need to put the plates, trays, flatware on a different table. We had to reach into middle of the waffle line to get a plate and silverware..:( Restaurant menu limited and spicy for dinner.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

As Best Western Gold Elite members, we stayed here in November and loved it, we had the most beautiful view of the ocean and couldn't wait to come back. We listened to a previous review and booked the pier view/ocean view room this time and are very disappointed. We mostly have a view of the hotel next door unless we go out on the patio and then we can see some beach, part of the pier that isn't blocked by the gazebo, and part of the ocean. This is a special trip for our anniversary and I am highly disappointed this time around. I called to ask to be switched to a different room and they are sold out. DO NOT book the pier view rooms, get a room with a full ocean view.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Traveled with my family, we have 2 little ones under 5. Staff was extremely nice and allowed for early check in. Pool is heated, HUGE, and also has a great view. You can enjoy a great view of the ocean, but note that their is NOT beach access at this property. Breakfast was really nice for a free continental and even had bananas and oatmeal for the baby. Agree with others that the key system sucks. We had to get new keys 3 separate times, and even when they were "working" it took 3 times for the cards to read. We enjoyed the patio area right off of our room and beds were comfy. The room was a bit on the small side but had a mini fridge and microwave which is a total nescessity for a traveling family as far as I'm concerned. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here the hotel rooms were nice but its all about the location on a cliff overlooking the pacific the bar and Mexican grill was amazing if you traveling down the coast you must stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The staff is friendly.

The room was ok, it was spacious but very outdated!
The door lock was broken.
The sea-view was really nice.

You can hear the people in the room next to you.
Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge

Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Lodge offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.