We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, Subpar Sleep Quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Bakersfield, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, Subpar Sleep Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

And most of that is location. It is right on the ocean with every room having at least a partial view of the ocean. It is close to a small beach, but involves many stairs to get to, so a better suggestion is to drive closer to the pier for easier beach access.

The rooms here are rather large and spacious, complete with fridge and microwave. Every room has a balcony or porch with chairs for guests to enjoy as well as random benches set across the property with stunning views for relaxation. We unfortunately had a room that was right in front of the pool, so our view was not as breathtaking as we had hoped, but that didn't distract from our trip at all. Beds were just ok on the comfort scale. Could really go one level softer and let people sleep a bit better. They were softer then say, the ground. But not by much.

Breakfast is served every morning with the usual muffins, cereals, and even pancakes.

If you are looking for a nice middle of the road place to stay in the central California coast area, you could do a lot worse. I would stay there again in a heartbeat even with the hard bed. Location really trumps a lot of that for us.

Room Tip: If you can pay extra for the unobstructed view of the ocean, I would do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you Btown007 for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We appreciate the detailed review of our property and all that we have to offer our guests. We are glad to hear that you will stay with us again and look forward to a visit in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    171
    43
    13
    15
See reviews for
150
223
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

No question, we would stay here again! Nicest, most comfortable and beautiful beach area we could imagine. We had our dog and they provided a nice doggie basket of blanket and goodies....great breakfast room with many choices. Always will to help with a smile!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear lapazlovers,

Thank you for taking the time to enlighten future guests about the wonderful experience that you had during your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy that everyone including your four legged family member enjoyed the pet friendly room amenities along with the beach access. We look forward to saying hello when your travels return you to California.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge on February 5th, 2014.

We always enjoy our stays at the Shelter Cove Lodge and consider it a “Destination Property” where we can relax, stroll on the beach and enjoy sunsets /sunrises from our room’s balcony.
The Lodge is extremely well maintained including the grounds. Our room was very spacious, clean and well-furnished and the bed comfortable.

The staff is friendly, efficient, and accommodating.

The breakfast room provides a view of the pool and the ocean and is large enough to accommodate the guests making for a relaxed dining experience. A nice touch is the use of real glass glasses, china and metal silverware. The food is nicely displayed and offers and nice variety of fair.

We are looking forward to our next stay at the Lodge.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms provide a better view of the ocean, all room have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Bill E.,

Thank you for the wonderful review about the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We love reading that you consider our location to be a “Destination Property”. We have taken a lot of steps to improve and maintain our property and we are so pleased that you enjoy it as much as we do. We look forward to your next visit to our property and Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were able to get a good rate for the times we were there. The room was expansive, views were great, everything worked as it should. Bed was comfortable, overall, it was a great experience. Will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you Marilyn L. for the wonderful review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your entire stay with us and that you will be returning again.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The beds were too short. We should have gotten a king size bed instead of two beds. We have stayed there before and didn't seem to have the problem of the beds being too short. Other than that, the room was comfortable. I don't know why I have to type 200 words when I don't need 200 words to say what I need to say. So, I guess I should have skipped this survey because it is a waste of time to just type words when I have already said what I needed to say.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Dennis E,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the beds in the room you reserved at the time of booking however we are pleased to know that we do offer a room type that better suits your needs. We look forward to your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

From the moment I walked into my room, two things struck me: the size of the room (big), and the proximity of the ocean (immediate). All rooms at the Best Western Shelter Cover Lodge have an ocean view. But from the center of my room, when I looked out the sliding door I could only see water, no land. It was like being on a cruise ship. Just listening to the waves from the room made me super happy to be there. But sitting on the balcony watching the water was also incredible.

The other good thing about the location is how close it is to Pismo and Shell beaches for incredible dining options.

The down sides are these: the room could use a good tub, and a fireplace. With the addition of those two things, this hotel would be impossible to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you ColleenQD for the wonderful review about your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the sound of the waves from your room location and the wonderful ocean views that our property offers. We thank you for your stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORANGE COUNTY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband, two kids, one dog and I had a wonderful two night stay. The room was nice and clean for a pet friendly room. Although, our small dog had dug out a huge bone from under the bed it didn't ruin any part of our stay whatsoever.
Our view was breath taking just watching the waves hit against the rocks. Sunsets were amazing! Breakfast was perfect. They had pancakes, boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, muffins, pasteries, cereal, coffee, juice, etc... The girl (wish I got her name) who takes care of the weekend breakfast room did an excellent job of setting up and keeping the place clean. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room you get will give you an excellent ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you OCMOMOF244 for the review of your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are thrilled to hear the entire family, including the dog, enjoyed your two night stay with us. Our guest rooms and location do offer some of the most breathtaking views and sunsets on the Central Coast. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, scenic gazebo, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.