We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at the Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at the Cove to your Saves list
The Inn at the Cove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay, beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Shelter Cove for 1 night on our way from Anaheim to San Francisco. The location is absolutely beautiful with a gorgeous view and a lovely large room. We had a very friendly seagull that joined us at the window whenever we were looking out. Obviously he must get some food from people who stay there! The motel is located off the highway but at night there is absolutely no noise from the road. The rooms are large and really clean with good curtains that block out the early morning sun.
The only thing that disappointed us was the breakfast. The room is very, very small and the food is very, very ordinary. The pancakes are made in an automated machine and taste that way, there are egg muffins to heat in a microwave (Ick!) and semi-frozen muffins (??). We left hungry and decided to get food on the road.
Overall, apart from the breakfast, the hotel is lovely and in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our local wildlife while admiring our gorgeous views. We are sorry to hear that you found breakfast to be less than satisfactory. Your feedback is extremely valuable and we thank you for sharing with us. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Pismo Beach area.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    191
    46
    14
    16
See reviews for
175
272
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is one of the best Best Western’s we have stayed in. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the ocean beyond the cliff. We stayed here over July 4th to see the fireworks on the distant pier, but the fog was so thick that we just saw the fog light up.

The breakfast area was really crowded, but they have a really cool pancake machine and yummy breakfast sandwiches.

Parking was free – they give you a permit so only people who are staying there can park, but we had a friend visit us for dinner and they were nice about providing an extra permit.

Overall the room was clean and nice, the view was impeccable and the stay was hassle-free.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you Adam R. for your recent stay with us and the glowing review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are sorry to hear that the Pismo fog interfered with the 4th of July fireworks show, however we are extremely pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our pancake machine at breakfast and our impeccable views. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We still are very happy that we choose this hotel for our last 2-night stay during our road trip from Denver to Los Angeles.
It's located just off the Hwy right on the cliffs (there are some short trails to get down to the ocean right in front of the hotel). The whole property is very beautiful and is very well kept (there are still some minor renovations going on, but that didn't disturb us at all).
After we were checked in by a very friendly staff we entered our room - it was on the "upper floor" (which means that it is located on the same level as the parking lot) and the view was breathtaking. The whole room was newly renovated and looked very nice (very bright colors). It was equipped with a fridge, microwave, flatscreen tv and we had a nice balcony where you can sit, relax and enjoy the view (we also ordered some pizza one night and had dinner there).
The bed was very comfortable - we both slept like a rock.
Breakfast was ok - nothing fancy but the sausage biscuits with egg (for the microwave) were good.
The only small issue we had, that the internet was pretty slow sometimes.
Make sure to get to the Ventana Grill (just a short walk away) for happy hour - delicious food with a view.
This hotel was definitely worth the money !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you Sial for providing us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of the hotel amenities and views that our property offers. We are also happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and the location of our property desirable. Thank you again for your review of our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to take our canine granddaughter to the beach. Everything was great! Better than we could have hoped for, from the pet treats, to the free breakfast choices. Excel many views as well! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you Dmills1062 for your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit along with our complementary breakfast and beautiful views. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to book one of our dog friendly rooms and enjoyed the amenities we offer in these rooms. We hope to welcome you and your canine granddaughter back to our hotel the next time you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great smelling linens/pillows. The breakfast was great as well as the location!
The CNN news in the lobby and dining room is a real buzz-kill. Its not a vacation when you hear disgusting details of trials and the like.... :-(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased that you found our linens to be comfortable and the breakfast location to be accommodating. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Pismo Beach area.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, scenic gazebo, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at the Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.