We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Nights, Save $50
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is one of the best Best Western’s we have stayed in. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the ocean beyond the cliff. We stayed here over July 4th to see the fireworks on the distant pier, but the fog was so thick that we just saw the fog light up.

The breakfast area was really crowded, but they have a really cool pancake machine and yummy breakfast sandwiches.

Parking was free – they give you a permit so only people who are staying there can park, but we had a friend visit us for dinner and they were nice about providing an extra permit.

Overall the room was clean and nice, the view was impeccable and the stay was hassle-free.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you Adam R. for your recent stay with us and the glowing review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are sorry to hear that the Pismo fog interfered with the 4th of July fireworks show, however we are extremely pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our pancake machine at breakfast and our impeccable views. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    188
    44
    14
    16
See reviews for
169
259
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We still are very happy that we choose this hotel for our last 2-night stay during our road trip from Denver to Los Angeles.
It's located just off the Hwy right on the cliffs (there are some short trails to get down to the ocean right in front of the hotel). The whole property is very beautiful and is very well kept (there are still some minor renovations going on, but that didn't disturb us at all).
After we were checked in by a very friendly staff we entered our room - it was on the "upper floor" (which means that it is located on the same level as the parking lot) and the view was breathtaking. The whole room was newly renovated and looked very nice (very bright colors). It was equipped with a fridge, microwave, flatscreen tv and we had a nice balcony where you can sit, relax and enjoy the view (we also ordered some pizza one night and had dinner there).
The bed was very comfortable - we both slept like a rock.
Breakfast was ok - nothing fancy but the sausage biscuits with egg (for the microwave) were good.
The only small issue we had, that the internet was pretty slow sometimes.
Make sure to get to the Ventana Grill (just a short walk away) for happy hour - delicious food with a view.
This hotel was definitely worth the money !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you Sial for providing us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of the hotel amenities and views that our property offers. We are also happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and the location of our property desirable. Thank you again for your review of our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to take our canine granddaughter to the beach. Everything was great! Better than we could have hoped for, from the pet treats, to the free breakfast choices. Excel many views as well! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you Dmills1062 for your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit along with our complementary breakfast and beautiful views. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to book one of our dog friendly rooms and enjoyed the amenities we offer in these rooms. We hope to welcome you and your canine granddaughter back to our hotel the next time you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great smelling linens/pillows. The breakfast was great as well as the location!
The CNN news in the lobby and dining room is a real buzz-kill. Its not a vacation when you hear disgusting details of trials and the like.... :-(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased that you found our linens to be comfortable and the breakfast location to be accommodating. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Pismo Beach area.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel in Santa Maria was full, it was by accident that we booked at this hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was amazing, (loved the balcony and the view, and the extra's they have to make the room more comfortable) , the breakfast was great. But our favorite part was the beach access.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are so delighted to hear that you loved our beautiful views, beach access and complementary amenities such as in room items and breakfast. We are also very pleased to hear you kind words about our staff, we as a team do our very best to ensure each and every guest has a pleasant experience during their stay with us. We hope to welcome you back for another wonderful experience very soon.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, scenic gazebo, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.