We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at the Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at the Cove to your Saves list
The Inn at the Cove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
OSWEGO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This hotel is definitely the best hotel with the vest view. The pool is ocean side which is a plus. The staff was really great offering tips for lunch. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    191
    46
    14
    16
See reviews for
175
272
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Upstairs rooms a little loud due to adjacent freeway noise, so we stayed downstairs. Very nice place, a little dated, they just installed flat panel TV's. Free parking, free wireless, and free breaksfast. Lots of good walking opportunities, including a nice little park is nearby. They have their own private beach down some stairs, and an overall great view. A very good place to stay on your trip along the coast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Our favorite stop between San Francisco and southern California is Pismo Beach, and we've tried several hotels here over the years. Shelter Cove is our favorite. In addition to the large rooms, super comfortable beds, clean and (again) large bathrooms and great ocean views, the swimming pool is very warm and totally protected from the wind. Imagine swimming at night in December and feeling totally comfortable. My guess is that the pool water is in the upper 80's. Lovely!!!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the lower level have patios with gates that open directly to the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This was a great stop off on our tour down the coast. This hotel is perched on the cliffs, with incredible views of the ocean. It is the perfect spot to relax, and we spent a good hour or so on our balcony with a glass of wine watching the water and the sunset. We saw sea otters just off the shore and a pod of dolphins swam by and played around just along the beach. Very comfortable beds and the continental breakfast was great - a good range of choices. Loved this place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed here one night oct 31 while on way to Garden Grove area, in a very scenic location by a cliff, nice area to walk around. Rooms were good sized and well maintained,and was quiet at night. Breakfast was good. Is also near to old town Pismo Beach where are some good reasonable priced restaurants and can walk out on the beach. Will for sure stay here again if passing thru the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I do not know the previous use of this building, but it appears to have been a private residence at one tine, I.e. Condo. The oceanfront rooms are huge with cathedral ceilings (would be great for family) and also immaculate. Even the the bath area was older, it was very clean and the entire room was decorated nicely. No big screen flat screen, but why would you need that here? The service was very good at check-in. Pool area was beautiful, but of course the view and access to beach was the best ever. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Whilst travelling up the length of California, we stayed here one night. The staff were very friendly. The room was very clean, but it was a bit cold.The room could have been updated; its esthetic were a bit dated. The big box TV and furniture were showing their age... not through wear and tear, they just looked dated. I guess that I was comparing it with the Best western at Shelter Island in San Diego, but for cleanliness and comfort, it was tip top. The views of the ocean outside the room were great. The room was huge and had a kitchenette with Microwave and fridge too. I couldn't access the internet and when I put the heating on it was a bit noisy,so that's why I can't give it top marks, but if you are on a budget, its great value for money. I'd recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, scenic gazebo, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at the Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.