We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cant wait tk go back !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tides Motel
2121 Price Street at Ocean Way, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
1 review
“I cant wait tk go back !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

The tides is a cool place to stay if you are not to good for a older motel. The staff is very friendly , grat views close to beach ,great price, it is older and some things show it but no big deal at all to me and my wife. I will stay here everytime i come to pismo, and there is a kool cat here named brewster that i think they should name the hotel after him ORANGE CAT MOTEL, we would stay here jus to see brewster !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
11
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Should never trust reviews online. We checked into this place- walked into the room and ran out.
Dirty, worn, paint peeling, carpets stinky and moldy, hair all over bathroom and beds, beds sagging with worn linen. Need I say more? Trip advisor- please consider removing this place from your list. I can put up with a lot- and have-- but this place is scary! Checked into The Cliffs Resort for not much more money and it was absolutely perfect. This place is way beyond renovation. Demolition would be more in line. Sorry--oh-- the lady at the desk was nice enough to refund our money--

Room Tip: Check out the Cliffs Resort down the road. VERY nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Staff was very friendly.... The motel is older but kept up very well and clean.... The view was amazing from our room... Had a wonderful experience here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

we got in late the first night we also got up late. the girls were so nice it turned out that in the morning we had no hot water. the girl was on it come to find out the water heater busted..she took care of it quickly too..so we decided to another night and moved across the way.it was awesome everything about it. unlike the day before at the santa maria inn that $500.00 for a tv we DID NOT BREAK !! SANTA MARIA INN would have proably charged us for the water heater breaking!! YES i recommend the tides motel in pismo beach its on price rd.by marie callendars...GO AND STAY THERE if possible......

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I are locals on the central coast. Our home is having repairs where we need to find a place to stay for 4 days. The first girl at the tides showed us several rooms. Even though they are very old and run down she was so helpful gave us a decent price we decided to make a reservation. When we called back some other woman was rude and said that we were quoted the worng price and tried to almost double the rate we were quoted. There is no way even on my worst day would I be crazy enough to pay $99 per night for such a run down old motel even if it is on the beach. I should have been granted the original price I was quoted. They not only lost the 4 nights reservation I will be telling everyone in town and friends from out of town what a worthless place this is.

Room Tip: Dont stay here...even Motel 6 has this place beat and thats just plain sad
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Been going to the tides since the late 1950's. Still owens by the same family. Nice to beable to talk to the owner as well as his very nice staff. Have already made our trip for our 40 wedding anv.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Great motel, great, super-nice staff, great cat, great location! We love how everything seems stuck in the 50s. Reminds us of our childhood visits and that era. We want to live there! That's how much we loved it. If you're super picky and need to have first class everything, then you probably won't like it. Then again, you probably wouldn't fit in there anyway. We can't wait to return. Thanks for such a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tides Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Motel

Address: 2121 Price Street at Ocean Way, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Pismo Beach
Tides Motel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Tides Motel to your Saves list