We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Spotless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 James Way, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Shop
Ranked #12 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Spotless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This property was formerly the Mission Inn and became a Hilton Garden Inn about a year and a half ago. There have been some renovations, but the layout remains essentially the same. Built into a hill, the lodging offers rooms on four floors with an elevator for access. The hotel is right off Highway 101 (4th Street exit going north), but we never heard traffic noise in the lobby or in our room.

We stayed for three nights during the long Thanksgiving weekend and had reserved a standard room with a king bed. Our huge corner room proved to be extremely clean with a large, flat-screen TV that had lots of channels, a refrigerator and a microwave. The comfortable bed allowed us to get a good night's sleep.Though we overlooked the parking lot, we could also see the ocean in the distance. I peeped into some other standard rooms during our stay and they were considerably smaller than the one we had.

Free popcorn and delicious cookies are available in the lobby. Folks at the reception desk were always friendly and helpful. There is a small fitness center and a large heated outside pool.

Unlike the Mission Inn, however, the Hilton Garden Inn did not serve a free breakfast. Instead, a hot buffet was available that cost $12.95 for adults and $7.95 for children. We eat very little for breakfast so we went out each morning to look for food. There is a Starbucks across Highway 101 as well as a Denny's and a Coco's. In Pismo Beach itself, there are several places that serve breakfast at a reasonable price. For those who like to shop, there is also a Premium Outlets mall across Highway 101.

If you want to spend time at the beach itself, it is 1.7 miles -- a quick drive -- from the hotel to the pier. This, of course, is not as convenient as staying at a beachside accommodation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    106
    31
    14
    5
See reviews for
115
108
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We would stay here again. Kid friendly and clean. Hilton honor member so had a nice room with view. Spacious bedroom. Location to eateries, beaches and shopping. Good value. Pool and spa is very clean although temperature in pool could be warmer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had left Anaheim and were driving up the coast when it got dark and because we didn't want to miss anything we pulled into the Hilton. We have stayed in many Hilton's in the past and this one did not disappoint. Chad at the front desk was very helpful and gave us a gorgeous room. We ordered room service was tasty hot and arrived quickly. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room looking over the pool
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice room . The problem.is that the heater would get stuck on or the.a/c would.stay on. After the ac was turned off the room got to
78 degrees. We opened the window and turned on the fan but the fan made it hotter.on a nicer note they had complimentary cookies that were fabulous and free popcorn

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I was happy to hear how much you liked your room and the little extras we do to make our guests happy. I was sorry to hear that you had a problem with the thermostat. It is our goal to make sure that our guests are totally satisfied. Housekeeping sets the thermostats in each room at 71 degrees during this time of the year to make sure the room is comfortable for our arriving guests. The guest can adjust the thermostat upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here one night while on route from San Fran to Los Angeles. This is a nice little hotel. Chad on reception was very friendly and check in was efficient and completed within a minute or two.

Rooms are an excellent size and comfortable. The only strange thing is there was only a net curtain on the window, no blinds or curtains which could be closed! OK I guess if you like to wake up to natural light but didn't pose too much of a problem.

The restaurant in the hotel was very reasonably priced and had a good variety on the menu. The dessert I ordered wasn't available so the waitress brought me an alternative at no charge which was a nice touch. As a Hilton Gold cardholder I receive a free cooked breakfast which was tasty and extremely good value for $12.95 had I been paying.

Hotel also had free popcorn and other nibbles in reception for you to help yourself too. Pool, spa pool and well equipped fitness room are also available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed one night. Excellent check in staff, very helpful regarding directions and dinner recommendations. Rooms very clean and quiet location. Although we were on freeway side we did not notice traffic noise. Good size rooms and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is very unique, although viewing it from the highway would not tell you that! It is located on a hill. The front entrance is actually on the 4th floor! Some rooms have ocean views, although it is distant. Centrally located next to Highway 101. Rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. They need to work a little on the breakfast area as far as the made to order items. If you arrive when it first opens, the staff may be somewhat disorganized. It is also a host hotel for Cal Poly Sci sporting activities. There were college golfers staying at the hotel, but they were very quiet. However, the golfers need to learn not to bring their golf clubs and backpacks to breakfast and drop them in the walkway. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach

Address: 601 James Way, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 120 spacious rooms and suites, the Hilton Garden Inn Pismo beach is your new Central Coast vacation headquarters. Amenities include the Great American Grill restaurant serving breakfast and dinner, room service, Pavilion Lounge, free wireless and hard-wired internet access, pool, spa, business center, Pavilion Market serving snacks and beverages, a fitness center, a guest laundry, and over 1,600 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Close to great restaurants and the Pismo Prime Outlets, and only minutes from the beach, the Oceano Dunes, wineries, golf courses and quaint coastal towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Mission Hotel Pismo Beach
Mission Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.