We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dolphin cove motel on the beautiful pacific ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Cove Motel to your Saves list
Dolphin Cove Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   170 Main St., Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Online Bookings
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Grass Valley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dolphin cove motel on the beautiful pacific ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

A nice clean older motel with upgrades, the suite has kitchen, frig, and micro and utensils etc. if you want to cook or many restaurants within easy walking distance and the beach and pier are just steps away. The sunset is beautiful in Pismo! Very comfortable and quiet and nice patio too. The inn keeper and staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    28
    14
    6
    22
See reviews for
32
41
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The staff are family oriented and friendly; the room was very clean, shower nice, extra comforters to keep warm and room has a great ocean view. Waking distant to pier. It was a peaceful night and woke up to hear the ocean waves as well to watch the sunset from your room. What was very nice, I had to reschedule my visit to another weekend and the staff was very accommodating to change it to another day; thank you so much!!! The motel is under new management and transitioning to a peaceful comfortable environment and they care about your stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis Orchards, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I traveled a long way to get to Pismo Beach, CA.
We were so happy with the 1 bedroom suite, along with all new upgrades.
The Furniture was new and had a sofa sleeper and a recliner.

The view is amazing! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Located on the beach...not like so many hotels along the beach strip with many stairs to access beach.

The hotel has been there for many years and gives you the 1950's-60's feel of it.

Thanks again for the wonderful room.

Janet B.
Otis Orchards, WA

Room Tip: We were upgraded to #10 suite...the value is great in the winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A nice little motel at the end of the road, right next to the pier. A great view of the beach as well. I made my reservation late and the staff was more than accomadating. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The rooms face the parking lot but security doesn't seem to be an issue. The only negative was no coffee pot in the room and no on site restaurant.
If I am ever in the area again, this will be a destination.
A good value.

Room Tip: No elevator, so keep that in mind if you don't want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have been here about 5 times each one was enjoyable. Last two times have been with grandkids and it was great. The last one was with my 2nd and 3rd grade grandkids. They had a wonderful time. Asking when they can back. New managers working hard to upgrade and remodel. If you want swanky ,fancy lodging don't come here. If you want fun, friendly, comfortable lodging with great views and access to the beach and Pismo and not to overly pricey the Dolphin Cove Motel is for you. Don't need to move your car at all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The place is "right on the beach" and the view is fantastic, however, they must have recently been sold with new management. Furnishings were from the 80's and everything was worn out and run down. I wore flip flops while showering in the room, towels felt like brillo pads, and the current manager had a cooler of beer in front of her apartment. The location is fantastic but I felt like I was camping indoors. The manager told us "People ask us if we have a pool, I say yeah, its the ocean, help yourself." Needless to say no pool.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor (top floor) will have better view of the ocean. There isn't any a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

First we met the couple that now manage the motel. Two very nice people, very helpful and informative. The motel is slowly being repaired and refurnished. My fiance and I have decided to have our wedding on their patio! We pretty much have the motel booked up with family next spring!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Cove Motel

Address: 170 Main St., Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Cove Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolphin Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Cove Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Cove Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.