We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and right on the beach!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Cove Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Cove Motel to your Saves list
Dolphin Cove Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   170 Main St., Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and right on the beach!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you're looking for glamour...this ain't it. BUT...what is does have is the closest beach location, a friendly staff, parking, BBQs you can use and outside seating for a picnic or dinner. About 25 steps out your door and you're on the beach. You can smell the ocean.

Sure, it needs paint and a few fix ups, but it's neat and clean...and ON THE OCEAN!

It's also within walking distance of everything...restaurants, shopping and a small market for anything that you forgot. Be sure to ask for Brett and Torri...they're the new management and they are happy to help.

Room Tip: Every room as a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    12
    6
    22
See reviews for
27
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon and decided on Dolphin Cove purely due to it's location. It's the only really 'on the beach front' motel but on hindsight we should have kept our options open!

The rooms and the entire motel is very tired. If James Dean did stay here then it hasn't changed since then and he wouldn't stay there now! The bed squeaked upon every roll and the bedding had us checking for bites the next morning - we didn't have any but it wouldn't have surprised us. The bathroom was clean and the shower surprisingly good with regards to pressure and heat but that really is the only positive. I doubt the carpets had been changed in decades and likewise for the rest of the furniture.

The view from the balcony and location is good - that's about it. A real shame as there is such potential here; I hope the owners invest some TLC - it could be such a great little place and is crying out for some attention.

Would we stay here again? No. We like to try local, non-chain motels when we travel and Pismo itself is quite old school but there comes a time when local businesses/motels need to make some investment if they want people to return and recommend them. The owners need to stop relying on Mr Dean and start listening to these reviews; it would be a shame to lose this place but as it is we recommend you stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you do stay here; stay upstairs to get a view at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

mi wife and I spent a nite at this motel to have a relaxing time but about one in the morning the stupid couple next door were fighting and screaming hitting the wall it was horrible 2 hours later they started again I reported the management lady didn't do anything about it iwas pist the rooms are dirty there was no shampoo or soap in the showers what kind of service this is ;don't waste ur money in this place if you do' boy you gonna b sorry

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed two nights in room 21; we just showed up and enjoyed our deck outside room. We had great view and sounds of the ocean. New boardwalk leads to downtown, beach and pier . Window in bathroom and old tv with hbo. Free wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in the Dolphin Cove Motel in Pismo for the first time in July 2012. It was right on the boardwalk and the beach was right there. It is an older motel, nothing fancy, no pool, but close to the beach, the pier and shopping. The price was reasonable for being beach front. We will probably stay there again. The room was large, but covering on daybed was in poor shape. Bathroom was smallish, but workable. Refrigerator in room. No microwave, coffeepot, (but there was in the lobby, but didn't open until 8am.) or hairdryer in room. BBQs and plastic tables and chairs with umbrellas at the end of parking lot towards beach.

Room Tip: Take a hair dryer if you need, none provided in the room. Refrigerator in room, but no microwave or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

NEGATIVE five stars! Please DO NOT let the other reviewers comments about rudeness by the owner and his wife go ignorred! They are rude to the 10th power! Reviewer "Eve L" may have appreciated their "Gestapo" policing of the parking lot and property but, trust me, you likely WILL NOT.

I do not base this review on one bad one experience either! Two summers ago, my in-laws were staying here for the annaul St. Anthony's Feast and when his sister and her husband came up to visit and have a glass of wine on the patio, same thing, the manager came out and ordered them off of the property. Obviously an un-reasonable demand given that she was a guerst of one of their guests. So, fast forward to this past weekend (8/18 & 19, 2012), after one St. Anthony's feast away from this dump, my in-laws decided to give it another chance (it really IS a GREAT location!). On Saturday my brother-in-law and I rented one of those six passenger bikes that they rent in Pismo to take my in-laws on a ride down the boardwalk with their grandchildren and, AGAIN, the owner and his wife had a fit! They screamed at us from the second floor balcony and threw me, my wife, and my in-laws two grandchildren (1 and 7) off of the property and propery!

These two need to look up the word "hospitality" if they plan to stay in the hospitality industry! There are literally dozens of places nearby to stay better than The Dolphin Cove Motel!

Room Tip: There are two hotels right up main street that are not right on the sand but, personally, I would gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

OK, so this Motel is a real pile of Crap!!!! It was the only thing available so that is why we stayed. The room was extremely small as two adults cannot walk past eachother in the room. The temperature outside was in the 80's and there is NO A/C or fans in the rooms. Had to ask for a fan. Spiders crawling around and the room as is terrible condition. Old school TV's and you had to make sure you give them the remote when you leave (I didn't understand that at all)! The ONLY thing this motel has that is good is the Location. Steps from the beach and downtown Pismo. This motel is way worse than any Hotel 6!!!!!!

Room Tip: There isn't any, good luck. Bring your candles, pillows, and fans!!!! No fridge or coffee make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Cove Motel

Address: 170 Main St., Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Cove Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Cove Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Cove Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.