We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently hosted a party at The Dolphin Bay Resort for a "significant" birthday of my wife. We had cocktails on the patio overlooking the Pacific and dinner in a private room off the patio. We are still hearing from our friends about how special the evening was. The location, the ambiance, the food and the staff's service were unrivaled. Hopefully we will have another chance in the near future to use Dolphin Bay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings Ted F,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time celebrating your wife’s birthday at the resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location, the lovely ambiance, the delicious food from Lido, and our unrivaled service. We strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and it is truly rewarding to hear comments such as yours. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay for your next special occasion.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
63
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Dolphin Bay Resort is in a great location in north PB, within a short run to Avila Beach.

Stayed here with another family and we shared a two-bedroom suite. It was an oceanfront unit, with a nice open and spacious floor plan. The room was clean and luxurious, what you would expect in a resort of this caliber. The kitchen is fully stocked, should you care to cook in. If not, the resort restaurant is very good.

Yes, the resort is not cheap, but worth every penny. Service was attentive, not obtrusive. The kids enjoyed the saline pool, as well as the poolside food and drinks.

There is also a beach, with tidepools, less than 200 yards north of the property. Kids loved that too!

Go go go! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SienaMiles,

Thank you sharing your fantastic experiences on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are delighted to hear that both families had a lovely stay in the clean and luxurious Two Bedroom Suite. It is also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the amenities we offer on property such as our Saline Infinity Pool, Lido Restaurant, and local tide pools within walking distance of our resort. Word of mouth is the best form of advertising and we are appreciate you posting on Trip advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another fantastic getaway at Dolphin Bay.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse suite with wonderful views and kitchen,dining room, very quite and the staff was wonderful.
We traveled to Avila ,beautiful area with shopping.
Pismo Beach is not far by car.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the noise. We got a South side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings Deborrah R,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the penthouse, the views, and our staff as well as the beautiful near by town, Avila Beach. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay for another wonderful stay.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just stayed in a one bedroom suite for 3 nights and were very pleased with the whole experience. The suite was very spacious, which was perfect for us because we have a 5 month old baby. We had a room that overlooked the pool but our balcony was completely private because of all of the plants surrounding it. The kitchen was fully equipped with the essentials, and while we didn't cook while we were there, it would have been easy to make a full meal. The food at the restaurant was great, and the views were spectacular. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The hotel is on the bluffs so there is not a beachfront that you can walk out to easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ClaireLower,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are thrilled to hear that your family had a great experience and enjoyed the spacious suite, private balcony, and spectacular views as well as the great dining experience at Lido. It is truly rewarding to hear comments such as yours. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, Surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in an enormous 2 bedroom ocean view suite. Excellent kitchen facilities (didn't realise they would be so good or would have bought some food for the room). balcony delightful
Restaurant nice but expensive for what it was and service a bit slow/inaccurate.
Wonderful room, beautifully clean and very handy to have a washer/dryer.

Room Tip: seaview 2 bedroom suite gave lots of space, excellent kitchen and washer/dryer-great if you are stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear gwesty,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spacious suite, gourmet kitchen, and view of the ocean from the balcony. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just spent two great nights at Dolphin Bay, with a stunning suite (luxury apartment) overlooking the pool and Pacific Ocean.

As well as excellent rooms, the staff was very helpful, and all the little extras a great touch.

The only minor thing for us was that the free bikes did not have a tag along for our youngest, but that wasn't too much of an issue.

It's a premiere resort so not cheap but highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Greetings Gav G,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your two night stay with us in your ocean view accommodation. We are also happy to hear that you found the staff to be so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was the highlight of our Californian holiday - the best out of the eight hotels we stayed in on our travels. We had a beautiful two-bedroom oceanfront suite which was spotlessly clean, extremely spacious and very comfortable for our family of five. The view from the balcony was stunning and the suite offered all amenities, including a very welcome washing machine! On arrival in our suite, the children were made up with the little welcome packs they received which was a lovely and thoughtful gesture. After a couple of busy weeks travelling, we did very little during our stay at Pismo so the pool - and sunshine - was just what we needed. My only advice would be, if possible, avoid staying at the weekend. On the Sunday of our stay we did struggle to find sunbeds around the pool which was very busy. However, the Monday proved much quieter - we had plenty of room and virtually had the pool to ourselves. The staff were all very efficient and friendly - from the time of booking right up to the day we left. We would highly recommend and hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor Oceanfront Suites provide a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Greetings HClarie68,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your two bedroom accommodations and ocean views from your balcony. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the sunshine out at the pool and found the staff to be so efficient. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next vacation to California.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at the resorts' spa, La Bonne Vie. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will savor every moment at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.