We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Monterey, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I think this was our 4th trip here and as always the service and facilities did not disappoint. From reservation to departure, everything is always great. So much attention is given to details that help make a memorable experience. Just wish I had more than 2 nights!!

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room here, but I would definitely recommend the ocean view suites over everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Greetings Jeffery0924,

Thank you for taking the time to post another great review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent return trip to Dolphin Bay. It is so rewarding to read that you had another great stay, from reservation to departure, and that we were able to help create a memorable experience. Our goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations and we are pleased to hear we continually do so with you. We appreciate your patronage and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay soon.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
63
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our 2nd venture to the Dolphin Bay. From start to finish, this place was again first class! We arrived a bit early for check-in and after a few phone calls to housekeeping, our room was ready. We were assigned room 312, a one bedroom ocean front suite which is what we had reserved online. This room was three floors up on the corner of the North Building, literally on top of the Lido Restaurant and the view was a 270 degree spectacular! Only way the view might have been better was to be in room 411. When entering the Suite, we were greeted with a note from Erica Coppola and a complimentary bottle of wine (2011 Cabernet Sauvignon from Castoro Cellars) wishing a happy stay. Very nice! We ate in the Lido Restaurant five times. The food in this restaurant is as good as it gets. Our waiter for dinner on our first night, Brian M. was beyond exceptional! Thank you again Brian! I'm a beer drinker in a wine dive and he kept the beers coming...he even gave me one to go...LOL. From the parking valet employees to housekeeping and restaurant staff and front desk, these people are trained well. The wifey got a Massage and the Spa treatment (In Suite was superior). Turn down service from Ivy was terrific and Housekeeping is phenomenal! Thank you, Olivia!

The only gripe we have is the "assigned parking" in the underground garage. Apparently they let anyone, including their employees, park in assigned parking spots. Our was 312. We were told to "park anywhere" and to not "block anyone in." A Toyota compact truck was in our parking spot on Saturday night. We noticed that this truck parked in another spot on Sunday. Why have designated parking with room numbers for guests in ocean front rooms if you're not going to enforce it? Very confusing! Other than this minor gripe, everything at this hotel is amazing! We are pinching pennies to return again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Greg B.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a great and detailed review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent return stay at Dolphin Bay. We pride ourselves on the service we provide to all of our guests and we cannot be more pleased to hear how much you enjoy it property wide, from our servers at Lido, Guest Service Agents at the front desk, to our housekeeping and valet attendants. Word of mouth is the best form of advertising and we sincerely appreciate you sharing your own personal experiences about Dolphin Bay, Lido, The Spa and all our property has to offer. We do offer non-assigned self parking spaces however, we are currently looking into ways to avoid confusion in the underground parking lots. We also offer a complimentary valet lot that is especially convenient to guests staying in the North Building. We certainly appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay soon.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This resort is excellent. Celebrating 2 Birthdays with friends and family. BEAUTIFUL Facility. The 2 bedroom suite is absolutely amazing. The kitchen is wonderful. Staff are helpful and curious. The location in Prismo Beach has breath taking views of the Pacific. Cannot wait to return. 5 stars in our book. Daryl and Linda Heiser, Indiana

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Daryl H.,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit to Dolphin Bay on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear your enjoyed our beautiful views and that you had an amazing birthday celebration with your family and friends. We strive to exceed all of guests’ expectations and we are pleased to hear we do so with you. Thank you again for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay on your next California trip.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We've been traveling to Pismo Beach and San Luis Obispo for years and our favorite hotel by far is The Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. Situated on the cliffs above Shell Beach, the ocean views are spectacular. Every room is a one or two bedroom suite with a full kitchen, dining area, and living room equipped with a gas fireplace. The decor is beautiful and the spa, pool area, restaurant and quaint bar are all very nice. But, what brings us back trip after trip are the people. Hands down, the service is the best you will find pretty much anywhere! The property is dog friendly and the grounds are beautiful. We travel to San Luis Obispo multiple times a year and the Dolphin Bay is our only choice. It is simply enchanting!!!

Room Tip: The ocean views are magnificent. You can choose from ocean fronts to ocean views. Even the poolsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Alison F.

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a nice review about your recent return visit to Dolphin Bay. It is such a delight to hear how much you enjoy all of our beautiful property, the amenities we offer, and especially our service. We strive to exceed all of guests’ expectations and it is truly rewarding to hear we did so for your stay yet again. We certainly appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

There are not many options in Pismo Beach and by far this is the nicest. This is an all suite hotel. I stayed in a 2-bedroom suite overlooking the Pacific Ocean. It had an eat-kitchen, full kitchen (stocked with plates, silverware, cups, etc), dining room, living room, laundry room, master bedroom with in-room bath and walk-in closet and a second bedroom with full bath right outside. Suite was huge and could nicely fit a family of 4 or even more as the living room had a pull-out sofa. Hotel has beach access down a path on the side of the hotel. Pool and jacuzzi and on-site restaurant. No gift store but they do sell odds and ends (I needed contact solution) and they offer free DVD rentals along with hot chocolate packets and microwave popcorn. Would definitely stay again, friendly and accommodating staff. Very close proximity to San Luis Obispo.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Greetings Kim G.,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments on Trip Advisor regarding you recent visit to Dolphin Bay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spacious suite, beautiful views of the ocean, and our close proximity to San Luis Obispo. We strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and we are pleased to hear we did so with you. Thank you again for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay soon.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The most excellent resort we have come across! Beautiful landscaping surrounds the small buildings and ocean views are enjoyed from each room. Hands down the friendliest, most attentive service in Pismo Beach. Dog friendly, but still clean. Get a top floor room or you can hear your upstairs neighbors walking and showering. Forgot to mention that Lido restaurant services perfectly prepared organic food in amazing combinations!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Fertucky420,

We appreciate you taking the time to share such nice comments regarding your recent visit to Dolphin Bay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all that our spacious suites have to offer as well as the amenities on property and the delicious organic food at Lido. We strive to exceed all expectations and it is rewarding to hear we did so with you. Word of mouth is the best form of advertising and we cannot thank you enough for spreading your great words about our property. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay soon.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights recently and had an excellent stay. Everything is top notch- front desk reception, bellmen, our room, the grounds, the restaurant, the pool…everything! This was our second time staying here and it certainly won't be our last. Jillian, the woman who checked us in, was so warm, friendly, and gracious. We had a lovely room with a beautiful view and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Nan831,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a great review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Dolphin Bay. We are thrilled to hear that you and your husband had an excellent stay and enjoyed all that our property has to offer, along with our top-notch service. We strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and it such a pleasure to hear we did so with you every minute of your stay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the resort in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at the resorts' spa, La Bonne Vie. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will savor every moment at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.