We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in a lot of beach resorts, but this was about the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Saint Louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Stayed in a lot of beach resorts, but this was about the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family is lucky enough to have been on a lot of vacations, and we love the beach, so have stayed at a number of places, in California and around the world. I have to say that Dolphin Bay ranks about at the top of all of them. This was the end of a weeklong trip up the coast, taking along my wife's mother (her first trip in California), and we decided to end it with 2 nights of relaxation by the ocean. We thought that Pismo Beach and Dolphin Bay seemed like a great choice. The 2-bedroom was perfect for our group of 5, and splurging on the oceanfront room was definitely worth it. What an amazing view with private balcony! We spent the mornings and evenings gazing out at the beautiful coastline, cliffs, and the unending blue of the ocean. But what really stood out in the experience was that all the details were right, and the staff were amazingly helpful and solicitous. From the perfectly stocked kitchen, to the welcome gifts for the kids, to the frequent checking-in and offers to help from the staff. Nothing was more decadent than getting drinks and lunch brought out to us while we lounged at the pool, and breakfast perfectly cooked and delivered to our room. The food was fantastic as well! My wife and her mother decided to get joint massages at their spa, and remarked that they were top-notch. She exclaimed that our time in Dolphin Bay was the perfect end to the vacation, and kept complimenting us for finding this gem of a resort. We couldn't agree more!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the oceanfront room was definitely worth it. We were in 334, which had an ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Greetings NeuroTravelerDad

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. We are delighted to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your two bedroom Ocean front suite. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool services, our restaurant's quality and the massage treatments. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to the resort in the future.

Warm regards,
Dolphin Bay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
68
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Wow. Where do I even begin?! We had an amazing 24 hours at this fabulous resort and simply didn't want to leave. (We had to, of course, as this was just the first night of our summer vacation up the central coast.) A great big thank you to Anthony M. for getting my family of 5 situated in a gorgeous two-bedroom, ocean front suite. We checked in around 7 pm and were greeted with warm cloths to refresh from our trip. Upon entering our suite, our kids were greeted with pails and shovels filled with fun kid stuff. Anthony had taken the time to call me and ask the kids' names so the welcome gifts were labeled just for them! We settled in quickly and our kids couldn't wait to get into the awesome infinity pool that overlooks the Pacific.While the kids enjoyed the night swimming, hubby and I enjoyed a glass of wine with a view of the roaring fire (fire pit near the pool). The staff was able to arrange a late checkout for us so we could spend a little more time enjoying the resort. We took a nice long walk down to the beach and spent more time poolside before we had to leave.The beds were cozy and comfortable. The property is impeccable. The staff is really friendly. There is a great little deli within walking distance of the resort. We will be back. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Greetings Mandfamily404,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy your two bedroom accommodations and all the amenities offered, including the kids buckets. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the infinity pool and beach access. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you travel up the coast.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Dolphin Bay hosted our daughter's wedding so we opted to stay in one of the suites. The rooms were so lovely and spacious. We were able to have plenty of room for all the wedding supplies we brought along, plus room for guests who dropped by for a visit. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. The staff is so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: While all the rooms are lovely, I would choose an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Greetings MooMa30
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you chose to celebrate your special occasion with us. We appreciate you taking the time to compliment the friendliness of our staff and the quality of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at Dolphin Bay Resort. The layout of the two bedroom is prefect for our family. Our younger kids stayed and swam at the pool and went to the beach, and the boys went to play golf at a nearby course. The beds are phenomenal, so cozy!! The staff are all very helpful and there is a strong sense of taking care of the guests. It's a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Greetings Vacations4us5,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on trip advisor. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the two bedroom accommodation and that you found the staff to be so helpful. We are also happy to hear that your children enjoyed the pool and other activities in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beautiful Hotel on Cliffs of Shell Beach - smallest room is 1600 square feet with full kitchen, dining room, washer/dryer, Gym, Heated Saline Pool, walk to restaurants. Great Deli next store - get dinner or pre-made dinner - heat up at your hotel room and sit on balconey and watch sunset with beautiful birds flying by. Very clean - pleasant place. They supply free Movies (DVD) with popcorn and hot chocolate. Hotel is great for Breakfast - go somewhere else for dinner. They always run out of food for dinner. Great maid service. Beautiful setting.

Room Tip: First floor if you have a dog - noisy on first floor. Penthouse overall ocean view with 2 beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Greetings Zahzel R,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spacious accommodations as well as all the amenities we have to offer property wide. We are also happy to hear that you enjoy the deli next door as well as our Lido breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

From the moment we pulled in the drive, the Dolphin Bay delivered. The staff was attentive, accomodating and professional. The lobby is beautiful with amazing views and delightful refreshements.
Our room was AMAZING, with a fully stocked gourmet kitchen, lovely living and dining areas, spa like bathrooms and beds I never wanted to leave. We had an ocean view and we could open the slider and listen to the ocean while lying in one of the most comfortable beds I've ever been in. I literally said to myself several times, "Life doesn't get better than this!".
We used the salt water infinity pool during the day and it was sooo much nicer than other pools that smell like chemicals and dry out your skin. The staff was so nice and made sure we had everything we needed, and lunch by the pool was just perfect.
Besides the unbeatable views and the top-notch accomodations, the one other facet that deserves commenting on again is the staff.
Every step of the way during our stay the staff was professional, attentive and gracious. They greeted us by name. They remembered things about our preferences and we feel thay took a personal interest in making us feel like special guests of honor.
I left Dolphin Bay with a feeling of bliss..... and that feeling is still lingering.
Kudos Dolphin Bay!!
You have set the bar!

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the slurge! You are there....make the most of it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Greetings Kimberly A,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are so pleased to hear that you found your accommodations and ocean views to be so amazing. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our infinity pool and found the staff to be so attentive. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The dolphin bay resort is a wonderful place to bring the family. The views are amazing.
The condos have full gourmet kitchens. There is a great restaurant and bar. The local area has several beaches, tons of places to eat and lots of hiking trails. Avila beach is a fun place to check out- watch the dolphins, go to the farmers market there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Greetings Josie L,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family could enjoy the resort as well as the amazing views. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the local beaches and farmer's market. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at the resorts' spa, La Bonne Vie. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will savor every moment at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.