We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Central California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love, love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am so spoiled after staying here twice in the past two months. The suites are so beautiful and have everything you would ever need during your stay. Last month we stayed in a pool/ocean view room in the middle of the complex and I actually enjoyed it more than our ocean front suite that we had this past weekend. Every one is so friendly and go out of their way to make you feel special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings Roadtripper610,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to have had the chance to welcome you to Dolphin Bay twice in the past two months. We are also happy to hear that you continue to have a wonderful experience and find the staff to be so friendly. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back, once again, in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
104
63
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Left the terrible Tropicana in Vegas and arrived at a little resort 'heaven'. Helpful, courteous staff, no room issues except that we would have to leave it too soon to return to work. Beautiful beach, great vineyards for wine tasting nearby and memorable sunsets seen from the beach walks and our balcony. Serene.

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom suite and it was quiet and the kitchen was very complete so that we cooked a coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings Linda S,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are so pleased to hear that you found your resort "heaven" to provide you with an issue free stay as well as helpful service from the staff. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful beaches and local vineyards. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We drove down Highway 1 from San Francisco and having looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor thought this was a good place for an overnight stay. We arrived on spec and found the receptionist very helpful. Our apartment was a beautiful one bedroom apartment with all the amenities we could wish for. We reluctantly left the next day as we had a hotel booked in LA but wished we had stayed longer.
If we return to California we would definitely stay here again. Beautiful, peaceful location and views and excellent, friendly service from the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings Karen P,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your overnight stay in your one bedroom accommodation whilst on your way down Highway 1. We are also happy to hear that you found you had all the amenities you needed and found the staff to be so friendly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We returned to the Dolphin Bay Resort after a wonderful family stay last April. Excited to have the same room again, they were more than willing to help make it happen for us. We booked early and were ready to go. The drive from So Cal is about 3 1/2 - 4 hours. It's such a beautiful area along the central coast. Ocean Views are endless. When you arrive here, the ocean views are spectacular. I felt spoiled by the views. You can open your windows and hear the roar of the ocean while you sleep. In April it is light until 7 so you really get your moneys worth. The pool is amazing. Although rather chilly onces you get out. We get the 2 bedroom ocean view and enjoy the fully appointed kitchen and expansive views. We ran into a hickup with some housekeeping issues and it was addressed immediatly and the staff was more than accomidating to easy any discomfort. We traveleled with a 2 year old so we enjoyed some local attractions with her. Don't miss out on Avila Beach if you have kids. When you exit the freeway to head down to the beach there is a farm where you can feed animals which are well cared for and on imaculate grounds. They also have a lovely cafe and farm stand with local produce you can get to bring back to your amazing kitchen in the room. Talk a walk and shop at the Village at Arroyo Grande and grab some ice cream at Doc Bernsteins Ice Cream Lab. All around we had a blast here. This area is beautiful and the resort is top notch. I spent some time at Pelican Hill Resort in Newport Coast, CA and you'd pay 3x what you pay here for less amenities and no where near the view. I'd compare this to the Montage Laguna Beach. And though I'd love to stay there, I cannot swallow the rates. They are a little more than Dolphin but they are only rooms, not condo like suites. I cannot say enough about the value and extraordiary views and proximity to the ocean. It's unsurpassed!!

Room Tip: There are rooms with more living space in the front and bedrooms in the back, or you can get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Greetings Kliz15,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that we could accommodate you and your family with the same suite you prefer to stay in when you stay with us. We are also happy to hear that you enjoy the ocean views, pool area, and surrounding towns in the area during your visits. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back, once again, in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Coming from a home base in Florida where these types of accommodations are plentiful, I was pleased to find similar accommodations during our road trip through the Central Coast. The entrance and lobby are average but just beyond the view is spectacular. The condos are luxurious and the kitchen well-equipped. We stayed in a top-floor, ocean-front condo and enjoyed ocean views (consider a corner suite in the South Building away from the restaurant and activity). We enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the Lido Lounge and the service and food were very good. One evening there was a "local wine tasting" on the patio, which sounded inviting but was disappointing. A disinterested distributor from Angeline served two very mediocre wines. Also, during our stay, we only saw one adult running things (in the Lido restaurant); otherwise, the resort seemed to be run by young professionals (and they were doing a great job!). Would highly recommend but be prepared to pay for such lovely accommodations.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Greetings Boyntonbeach,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your luxurious ocean front suite and well-equipped kitchen. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner in our award winning restaurant Lido. We appreciate your input on the wine tasting on our patio, for it is feedback such as yours that helps us continue to better our operations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stumbled across this hotel as we travelled down Highway 1 on a road trip. What a place, didnt want to leave. Absolutely fantastic! Great rooms, service, views, pool and hot tub. A good restaurant and close to town. I can not praise this hotel/apartments enough - great, great, great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Greetings Darren P,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the great rooms, service, and views during your stay with us. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the California Coastal cuisine in our Lido Restaurant. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next adventure down Highway 1.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Dolphin Bay for one night and wished we had stayed much longer. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that was very comfortable in size for the 6 of us (4 adults and 2 kids). The rooms are very modern, nicely furnished, and the kitchens and laundry facilities are very high-end. Really, all you would need to feel at home at this resort. The pool is nice and heated. But I think that what sets this place apart is the level of service they provide. The staff could not have been nicer, more attentive and truly wanting to help make our stay as pleasurable as possible. They offer complimentary high-end tea and hot chocolate, turn down service, a large array of DVDs to borrow and even water bottles for the road as we were leaving. They go out of their way to deliver the best service possible. We will be back.

Room Tip: The views of the ocean are spectacular. Ask for a higher floor (there are only 3 or 4 floors).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Greetings Orr S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your two-bedroom suite, our heated infinity pool, and the extra amenities we have to provide our guests. We are also happy to hear that you found the staff to be so friendly and accommodating. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at the resorts' spa, La Bonne Vie. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will savor every moment at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.