We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A fabulous stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We found Dolphin Bay thanks to a Groupon and were absolutely thrilled with every aspect of our stay. The suites are spacious and beautifully furnished. The Lido restaurant where we had a couple of breakfasts and a dinner is exceptional. Excellent meals and super service. It was our first visit to Pismo Beach and we will back for sure. The spa was great too. They very kindly fitted me in without a reservation ahead of time which was really nice.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the side of one of the buildings but we could still see the ocean from our balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Greetings Fifegal,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you found us on Groupon and were able to have such a wonderful first experience in Pismo Beach. We are also happy to hear that you were not only able to enjoy your spacious accommodations but our Lido Restaurant and La Bonne Vie Spa. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
60
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I brought my husband here for his 50th Birthday and he was very pleased. From the view to the room it was a fantastic weekend. The staff is fabulous and granted several special requests I had which added to my husbands surprise. The rooms are more like a one bedroom condo/apartment, which was perfect for entertaining some friends that stopped by to celebrate with us. We ate at the Lido restaurant and it was fabulous...great service and the food was superb. I cannot wait to return with the whole family and enjoy all that this fantastic resort has to offer.

Room Tip: Ocean front is a must! We stayed on the 2nd floor south bldg corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Greetings Surgteck05,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are pleased you had such a fantastic weekend celebrating your husbands 50th birthday here at the resort. We are also happy to hear that you found the staff to be so accommodating and that we could meet all your requests, making your special occasion one to remember. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The rooms (suites) were very large and well appointed. It was like you were staying in your wealthy friends condo on the beach for the weekend. Restaurant and bar were perfect with great service. Location was incredible, right on the water with great views from almost every room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Greetings Vanpeltsky,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy the large accommodations and were able to experience our Lido Restaurant as well. We are also happy to hear that you loved the location and views from the property. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon at the Dolphin Bay Resort. The Doorman/Porter was very efficient and grabbed our bags and sorted the car out for us which was really handy, especially with 2 children who were keen to get to the room, get changed and go swimming!

We checked in and were shown to our room - which I might add is more of an apartment than a room. The kitchen, living room and dining areas were fabulous and if we had been staying for more than one night would of been excellent for our family. We were shown the balcony that looked out to the ocean and as if they had been called to come DOLPHINS appeared jumping right up out of the sea to welcome us! In the room buckets and spades had been left for our children, filled with glue, scissors, paper and small games which they thoroughly enjoyed playing with not only on the beach but on the car journey. It is a wonderful touch and please keep it going as it truly makes it for the children.

Our bedroom was wonderful, with a view out to sea and the bathroom was a great size. Bathroom scales were great until I stepped on them and realised how much I had eaten during our holiday ;-)

We used the pool which was lovely, there were a few young guys in the hot tub (apparently they were locals who came down and used the pool at this resort and others along the beach), they were friendly enough and did not stop us from having a good time. There was another couple who were at the pool and they came over and chatted and were very friendly too. Nice to be somewhere where people were friendly.

Hubby went to get us a drink by the pool and it did take a little time to get to us, and considering it was not busy thought service would be a little quicker.

We dined in the restaurant that night and the meal was fine, not excellent but ok. It was a little pricey for what we had but I guess that what Resort Restaurants can be like. The staff were good but not fantastic and seemed more in a rush to get service over with and get us out.

We had bought an expensive bottle of wine with our meal and they had put a service charge on top of that, so when we checked out we requested that it be taken off our bill. Initially they wee not going to do this, but I ended up speaking to someone in management and they got it removed, but not before feeling like I had to justify it :-/

The next morning we ventured down to the beach where our boys enjoyed using their buckets and built sandcastles.. and watched the seals chasing the fish in sea right in front of us. It was one of our special moments at Pismo Beach..

Was a little disappointed with this hotel only because I had emailed them stating we were on a RTW holiday to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and my Birthday and had hoped they may of done something a little special for us like some of the other hotels had... but this is just a personal thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greetings funfamilyholidays,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our spacious accommodations. I am sure the dolphins who jumped out of the sea to welcome you provided a special touch to your trip. We are sorry to hear that your experience with Lido was only satisfactory, as it is our goal to exceed all of our guests’ expectations. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention that locals were utilizing our pool/Jacuzzi facility as we intend this to be used by resort guests only. We certainly hope that next time you visit the resort, we can improve upon these areas and provide you with the exceptional experience you should receive every time you are here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for four years at least twice a year, sometimes three times a year. We are always impressed with the staff, and kid friendly environment (two girls ages 6 & 8). We have had a blast here every time. From pool to the beach to grilling your own steaks overlooking the ocean, this.place is very fun. We will be back again this year. BTW....70+ degrees in January in Pismo. Pretty cool.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Greetings RWieler,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the beautiful weather during your stay and were able to utilize the BBQ area overlooking the ocean. We are also happy to hear that our staff could provide such a family friendly environment for you to relax in. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back, once again, in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The room was better than all the previous rooms, which seemed closer to the ocean. We watched the sun set over the ocean from bed... so relaxing! The staff was super helpful in booking the room and making travel arrangements. It was so nice that they could accomodate all of my requests! The restaurant did not disappoint either! I cannot stay at this place and pass up the duck hash for breakfast. It is amazing! The quiet, luxurious room was a perfect place to get cozy and enjoy a trip away. We definitely felt refreshed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Greetings soloTrvl,
Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the sunset view from your bed and found the staff to be so helpful in meeting all of your requests. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy one of your Lido favorites, the duck hash for breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another romantic getaway.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The view from the hotel is gorgeous with a breath-taking view of the sunset. The suite has everything you can think of from salad spinner to shoes closet. A little on the pricey side but all worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Greetings Sherylq,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort and we able to experience the beautiful sunset view. We are also happy to hear that you found your suite and all the amenities to be so accommodating. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at the resorts' spa, La Bonne Vie. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will savor every moment at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.