We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Endless Summer Special
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
2 reviews
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is really a condo resort, not a hotel. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The views from the ocean front rooms are nothing short of spectacular and sleeping to the sound of the nearby surf is out of this world. Staff is well trained, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Greetings Chuck M,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you found your accommodations to be spacious with a spectacular ambiance. We are also happy that you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    36
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
136
79
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely 5-star property with superior construction. More like a high-end condo than hotel. Big granite kitchen, quality mill work, comfortable clean furniture, fabulous view and dreamy sleeping to the nearby sound of the surf. Stayed one night last year, came back for few more this year.

We were fortunate to be leaving as a big tent went up for a weekend wedding. One considering booking this property might want to inquire if large tent might be blocking view.

Room Tip: North side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Greetings Fivestarplus_11,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the fabulous view from your suite along with the ambiance of the entire property. We are also happy to hear that you were able to stay more than one night for your return visit. Also, in the event that we do have a tent on property we offer a special discounted rate for the rooms that are obstructed. It is not our intention to deceive any of our guests and want them to be as informed as possible. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, once again, in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fantastic views, Large rooms and good service

Pros: Our room was pretty much an apartment, full kitchen, lounge, dining area (with table), bedroom with two walk in waldrobes and a balcony.

Good and friendly service from reception and in the restaurant.
Amazing views when the sun is setting
Very close to the beach, accessible through a private walkway.

Cons: There was a wedding taking place at the time we were there, it made dinner reservations slightly difficult and we had to sit outside, although it was interesting to watch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Greetings Jamesy45,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your spacious accommodations and found our staff to be so friendly. We are also happy to that you were able to enjoy the beautiful sunset views and beach access. We would like to apologize for any discomfort that you and your guests encountered due to the event on property. It is our goal to create a cohesive environment to meet all guest needs and expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, in order to provide you with the experience you had anticipated and deserve.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
278 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

So when a hotel quotes $400+ per room night, it takes aim at some of the highest quality levels of lodging. This is a great place to stay, but it falls a little short of that bar. The hotel comes across as a luxury condo development on the california coast. The bedding is first rate, the views are amazing. Service is efficient and well trained. The ocean front condos are great. The restaurant is surprisingly good.

The downside - resort fee - never a good idea. Also the bathrooms while nice are simply not up to the level you would expect from this price range. At this price range you can't have a shower inside the tub and toilet seat next to it too. Overall - a great place to stay while traveling the california coast. Even if it is somewhat overpriced.

Room Tip: get ocean front condo. The ocean is one of the main benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Greetings Onepoet,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us here at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from your accommodation and found our staff to be so efficient. We apologize for that you disagree with the resort fee and did not intend for it to alter your stay. It is our intention to eliminate multiple charges by incorporating all the amenities we have to offer our guests in one fee. We greatly appreciate our guests' feedback as it helps us to better our operations on property and we will take your advice into great consideration. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A great place with a beautiful location on the cliffs of Avala Beach. It has what you would expect for a high-end resort, but without any of the high-end attitude. Employees were very helpful. Our kids really enjoyed the swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Greetings Jared H,
Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear you found our staff to be so friendly and accommodating. We are also happy you and your family were able to enjoy our saline infinity pool. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you all back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the moment of our arrival to the time we left - The Dolphin Bay staff made our experience a truly memorable one. The entire Resort ... From the Lido Restaurant, to the Spa, to the beautiful, clean, luxurious rooms, to the grounds the resort rests upon ... All are FIRST CABIN - TOP SHELF!! This resort and our stay there were among the finest we've ever experienced. We can happily recommend Dolphin Bay Resort to travelers looking for a "Special" experience on California's Central Coast.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front rooms / suites are Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Greetings Jim J,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay here at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. It is our goal to exceed all our guests' expectations and are so pleased to see we did so with you. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy not only your spacious accommodations but our Lido cuisine and La Bonne Vie spa treatments as well. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another memorable stay.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa as a stop off on our long drive of Route 1, we only stayed here for 1 night so I was not bothered about what sort of room so just booked a One Bedroom Deluxe. We were pleasantly suprised to see that our room was infact a one bedroom condo, with a fully fitted modern kitchen and large lounge and dining area. We were a short walk from the seafront, swimming pool and restaurant. The food in the restaurant was delicious aswell and all staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly. I wish we had been staying here longer as it was so nice and comfortable with amazing view of the sunset at the end of each day.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are very nice, but we could not fault the room we had which was towards the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Greetings JOanne_P10,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay here at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. We are pleased that you found our staff to be accommodating property wide and enjoyed the amenities within your suite. I am also happy to hear that were able to enjoy the entire resort, including our Contemporary California Cuisine in our award winning Lido Restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future, hopefully for more than just a one night stay.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#9 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#5 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
2.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#10 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at the resorts' spa, La Bonne Vie. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will savor every moment at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.