We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical American motel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Motel to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Newport, South East Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Typical American motel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

clean and tidy, with excellent shower, basic breakfast included, cereals, waffles and breads, my only gripe is that is close to the roads, and quite noisy in the morning. no ac in the room, so might get hot in the summer, April was fine. I found the receptionist friendly enough, and we chatted a while.

Room Tip: Ground floor I assume would be quieter than the upstairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    95
    38
    6
    9
See reviews for
42
97
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Good motell. but NO A/C! good locations, located in waøking distants to the beach/restaurants/bars, and short deiving distance to the outlets at groover, and the shopping/restaurants at arroyo grande. Great pool, good parking facilities. the breakfast was small but sufficient for a motel. Be carefull when entering the parkinglot, there's a huge dip at the entrance, dont damage your car!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

This place was good for the price paid, we had a clean large room with TV, coffee machine and bath. Close to local restaurants, friendly manager and well kept motel. Swimming pool is in the parking lot so we didn't use it. Breakfast is very basic but it was free. Wifi seemed to be patchy. Overall would recommend for a one night affordable stopover.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I arrived here last Tuesday. There were only two cars in the lot. I walked into the office and waited at the counter. A woman walked in from a back room and stared at me like I had interrupted her. I finally said I had a reservation and wanted to check in. She frowned and asked me for my license and credit card. I requested a room away from other guests and commented that this shouldn't be too hard with only two cars in the lot. She said nothing. She then asked me something which I couldn't understand due to her accent. No problem, I asked her what she had said. She half yelled her question again. My patience was wearing thin. I got my room keys and walked to the room. You guessed it. She had placed us between the only two guests at the motel! I walked back to the office and asked if there might be another more private room. She glared at me and asked what my problem was! I told her the problem was I asked for a little privacy and instead was placed between the only two hotel guests. She was unable to switch rooms. At that point I was ready to check out but my wife was so tired from the road that we ended up staying. I will never stay at this place again. Unacceptable and unprofessional.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

This was a cheap stopover on the way down to LA but turned out to be a cleaner and better run hotel managed with more pride that some of the far more expensive places we stayed.

Very easy to find off the highway and room was quiet, simple and clean and all the staff we met were friendly and helpful. An easy stroll down to the beach and into town for food.

Highly recommended and worth 5 stars for overall value

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We were here for one night, during our Westcoast Road Trip. The motel is a good one. Breakfast and free parking, near the beach and the CA1.
Free Wifi, microwave, fridge.
There was no air-con, but it was ok for the night in december.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. The room were clean, and the price was ok.
I would stay again here.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night on our road trip. Got to give it 10 out of 10. Bob was lovely and friendly and very helpful. Room was spotless and very spacious, bed was comfy and huge! It had everything, coffee, ice, breakfast, good wifi, fridge, iron microwave and pool, so reasonably priced as well. Will definitely come back here
From Paul & moira 40 something's from uk

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.