We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall pleasant!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Palms Motel to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“overall pleasant!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Overall hotel is nice . room was clean, staff was nice and pleasant .. hotel is walking distance to just about everything although not to the beach carrying chairs, ice chest etc.etc. pool and picnic area was clean and nice .. bathroom is a little small ... priced about accordingly to other hotels which is pricey( price and demand)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    86
    35
    6
    8
See reviews for
39
88
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Creswick, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A good basic motel , good sized room with comfortable bed . Clean facilities and pleasant staff.
We would stay here again as good price for what you get. Ideal for short stay.Free parking , and walking distance to main street shops and restaurants .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel is in the middle of Pismo Beach, within walking distance of Ocean, and Pier. Great location for restaurants, and shops. Rooms were clean,and quiet. If you are eating locally try Rosa's next door, for great Italian food. If you have more time and want a steak of a lifetime drive to Nipomo and stop at Jocko's.... worth the 20 min. drive...

Room Tip: We asked for a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My first experiance of a motel and a very good one at that. We payed £60 for the night and the room was very, very clean (and I'm fussy) with all mod cons, fridge, iron, hair dryer etc.

Parking is free, and it's 5 mins to the beach. If your staying here go to the lake 15 mins drive away. It's not advertised anywhere but the scenary is incredible and the highlight to our entire trip to California pacific coast.

The national park has fishing, trails and water sports. It's huge and well worth the 10 dollars to drive round. You can stay all day for this fee and if you have children there is lots to do here. Take a picnic would be my advice.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We booked this motel as a stop over from LA to Monterey and it was everything we needed - clean, free parking, close (but not too close) to the highway and also to some restaurants/shops in Pismo Beach. After a long drive we decided to walk into the town centre to get some dinner and enjoy the sunset, this took about 10 minutes but it seems that everyone drives everywhere in the US! The next morning we were on our way after getting some breakfast at the motel, easy checkout and no hassles at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The motel on the outside well kept, rooms were very clean. Location was great, everything in Pismo was in walking distance. We will stay there every time we go. Great 4 days. I will tell my friends to stay there! Thanks Pismo palms.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

if you're looking for a place to spend the night without breaking the bank, Ocean Palms is fine. We paid a total of $83 for a 2nd floor king room. It was plenty big enough, had a vaulted ceiling, with a small room off the bathroom with a large mirror, counter, micro, and fridge. The bathroom was a bit small, but clean and adequate. The water pressure was good. The bath towels were fairly thick. The bed was pretty comfortable albeit maybe a touch too hard, but we slept well. The pillows weren't the best. The motel is right off Hwy 101, but we only noticed a little road noise early in the morning (6:00 a.m.). Breakfast was modest; waffles, cereal, juice, the usual. The motel is a 6 1/2 minute casual walk from the beach (I timed it). There is a big pool, but we didn't use it. The Ocean Palms is not fancy, but when we're on a road trip, we pretty much roll into town, check out the local attractions, check in, go back out for a while, eat dinner, come back, watch some TV and go to sleep. We don't need fancy, but do insist on a safe, quiet area, a clean room, and a reasonable price. The Ocean Palms offers all of those.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.