We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfull surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Motel to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightfull surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I've just been here for one night and I think is one of the best motel I've ever been. The room was very clean, they got everything(TV, fridge, towels, free wifi).
The structure of the motel is nice, the location too and there is also breakfast included. It was a good experience

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    103
    47
    6
    9
See reviews for
46
108
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed three days got in late the first night tried to sleep in but couldnt because was woke up by a leaf blower first then it was a pressure washer that the guy blew dirty muddy water all over our car not cool! Room was nice and clean bathroom way too small! Felt disrespected! And paid $400 for a rude wake up and dirty muddy car! Thanks alot!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our family has been staying in Pismo Beach for over 20 years, we have stayed at almost every motel there. The Ocean Palms is one of the best and most accommodating at a very reasonable price. The owner, Bob and his family go out of their way to make sure that you have whatever you need to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean, the pool is great, it"s just a short walk to the beach and the breakfast (complete with waffles) is terrific!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Ocean Palms Motel. I had requested a room with the best possible WiFi connection because I had to do some work during my stay and this request was met without any problems. Bob, the owner, made sure that I was able to connect to the network and checked several times on me to make sure that I was able to do what I needed to do. (without being intrusive)
The room was a good size and very clean. The motel is close to the highway as well as the beautiful beach and the pier.

I would definitely stay again at this motel when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was a small motel by the 101. It looks like it had been updated within the last couple of years it was a nice room plenty of room along with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, fridge and microwave. The bed was my only complaint with the room as it was a little to flat and hard. The check in process was ok with the owner he was either a little rude or just a language barrier as he told me my card was declined and I had given him 2 different cards even though I never spoke with anyone there since I booked online. They also had a breakfast that consisted of 2 cereals, miniature pastries and a waffle maker along with coffee and orange juice. Overall not a bad stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We've stayed here many times as we drive through Pismo Beach about once a month. We always stay for just one night but the price is what keeps us coming back! We always feel like we get much more than we paid for here. Great service, awesome location, comfortable beds, clean rooms and again... The price can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I checked in on a Saturday night and was told by the owner that he was expecting me on Friday. I had made the reservation with him several days earlier by phone. At first he was going to charge me for the Friday night, but then he realized the mistake was his and said not to worry and I checked in for my Saturday stay. When I returned home the next evening I saw that my credit card was billed for 2 nights, the Friday I wasn't there, as well as the Saturday. I immediately called him and told him of the billing error and he assured me it would be corrected. Over the course of the next two weeks I called him several times and each time he told me he would look into it and call me back. He has never returned my calls or refunded my money. I feel this is a dishonest way of doing business and he is charging me for a mistake he made, not me. I visit Pismo Beach several times a year but will not be staying here again. Very dishonest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#12 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#10 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#15 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.