We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property and Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Palms Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice Property and Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here one night while driving the California Coast. The Hotel was very nice and affordable. The rooms were well appointed and clean. Check in was easy and parking was right out front of the the room. Waterfront is not far away and walk able. Good restaurants in the area

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
32
79
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

You honestly can't beat this place for the price. We stayed here in the middle of January. Our stay was darn near perfect - the room was spacious, clean and freshly renovated. We were so pleased with our visit that we even stayed an extra night. The bed & pillows were comfy, the housekeeping staff was helpful & accommodating, they even tracked us down when we forgot an article of clothing in the room. The owner was cheerful, despite our VERY late check-in at 11:30pm. The road noise was un-noticeable during our visit - we didn't really have the windows open much however. Despite the hotel being completely booked, it was very quiet. The grounds were perfectly groomed, the pool looked enticing even in January! The location is surprisingly close to the beach - we could have walked. The fresh waffles were a big hit with the kids. We WILL be back and have already recommended this quaint little motel to our friends & family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Used the motel for one night on a road trip , absolutely superb and incredible value . Recently renovated rooms , very clean and nice friendly service - for 50 bucks - awesome value - super impressed with this place and would recommend without hesitation .........

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on way to LA, great place to stop and break the journey, such a cute little town with a gorgeous seaside. The room was nice & spacious, the whole place is very clean & tidy. The smell in the reception office is a bit off putting so we decided against breakfast. We would return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very friendly owner, good location. Carpet in our room had some (old) stains but other than that the room was immaculate. I was worried about road noise being close to the freeway but it wasn't really a problem and I didn't need earplugs. Clean and well-maintained property. Everything worked as it was supposed to. Sometimes staying in independently owned motels can be chancy, but this one is the equal of any similar price range big chains, and better than most.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night in Dec. 2013 with my 2 kids. Was pleasantly surprised by how clean and updated it was, considering it is a motel, not a hotel. The manager was very nice and friendly. Free wifi, free continental breakfast. Very close to the beach, and literally next to the 101 on-ramp. I would stay here again. It's nothing fancy, but it did have a flat-screen TV with plenty of cable channels, a large mini-fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Overall, this little motel is a great deal. My girlfriend and I went for a quick weekend getaway for the weekend and only stayed one night. The location is great. We walked just about everywhere we wanted to go. The room was clean. The shower had great pressure and stayed hot for a long time. The owner checked us in and was super helpful. I would stay here again.

The only downside was the noise level. We could hear when the door closed to each room and heard the kids in the room next to us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.