We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for an overnight stop on the PCH.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Palms Motel to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for an overnight stop on the PCH.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Clean, spacious room that provided a great place to rest our heads overnight while driving the PCH.
Friendly reception and ok complimentary breakfast, with usual muffins/toast/cereal etc.
Not really much going on in Pismo, but a good stopover point.
Overall good value for money motel .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    85
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
39
85
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Baden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice little Motel run by a nice guy called Bob. The Motel is offering excellent accomodation at a small price. We stayed there for two nights on our trip along the coastal highway. Room was on second floor. Spacious, with a high ceiling and well equipped. Comfy king size bed, big enough for the three of us (2 adult, 1 child) large flatscreen. Bath was spotless. Wifi worked fine. The rooms have no A/C which could be a setback when it's hot outside. We valued the heater, though warm at daytime it got quite chilly at night.
The pool is small but well kept. Highway is close but not much noise from traffic. Breakfast is the standard but ok. Food options and shops nearby though Pismo Beach offers not so much. I recommend a trip to SLO which is just 13 Miles.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor appear to be quiter - when going to SLO visit the Kreuzberg Cafe on Higuer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend and we were really impressed with how nice the rooms were for a really good price. It was clean, comfortable, and affordable. Great place for a quick trip on a budget!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent just one night here as we were passing through town doing a trip down highway 1. great spot with an amazing ocean view. Rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. lots of stuff to do here - pool, badminton, several ping pong tables, putting greens, and a massive checkers/chess board to play with. Staff was nice, and they serve a fairly decent light breakfast to get you on your way the next day. i would highly recommend a walk down the beach to the pier to take in the all the 'typical' so-cal beach sights - volleyball, surfers, kids running in the sand, and even a few crabs! ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of an extended trip around California. We loved the motel, especially as we had come from an awful hotel in San Francisco. The rooms were really big and spacious, and everything looked new and clean. The motel pool was great, as was the breakfast. Owners were friendly. Locationwise it is perfect, short walk to the beach and restaurants. Really good value for money, I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped here for one night on the way from LA to Pacific Grove. Room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. TV and free Wifi were welcome. There is no air conditioning (just a small fan) which may be annoying on hotter nights but we were comfortable enough without it. The breakfast was fine for fuel before heading back on the road. It was a little noisy as we were close to the highway, but we managed to sleep fine regardless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice motel with a friendly owner, he made me laugh. Rooms are spacious enough, comfortable and clean. Located just outside downtown which was ideal for dinner and drinks. Much better value than the nearby beachfront hotels, motels and resorts which we enquired in prior to staying. The breakfast was adequate - pastries, cereal, waffles, tea/coffee and OJ. Would recommend to others and stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.