We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic motel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Palms Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Basic motel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We decided to spend one night in Pismo Beach before exploring the Big Sur area and we selected this motel, mostly based on price. The motel is located two blocks from the ocean, in a few minutes one can reach the beaches and the pier. On top of that, there are plenty of restaurants and bars in walking distance. Our room was basic, maybe looked a bit old but nothing was missing and everything worked. The motel offers breakfast included in the rate but it is very poor. I would recommend this motel based on location and price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    72
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
32
68
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A friend and I got a good deal for our two queen bed room ($84 ex. tax for a night). We stayed in a first floor room, which was very quite and clean with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. We first planned to stay in one of the motels closer to the beach, but that wasn't necessary because the ocean is only a five minute walk away. And after a day at the beach, the (very clean) pool was a nice place to play cards and hang out before going to a restaurant in town, wich is less than 10 minutes walking distance from the motel. All this, plus the very friendly owner made this the best budget motel out of the +/- ten we've stayed in during our trip in California. The Ocean Palms is nothing too fancy of course, but from our other experiences in motels in this price range it doesn't get much better. If I get the same deal, I'll definitely come back to this place the next time I go to Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigginton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you want a bath you will have to sit on the plug as it is designed not to stay down! Otherwise a very comfortable stay in a first floor room. The pool looked good but had only attracted a solitary duck during our stay. Breakfast was pastries and microwaveable breakfast bagels. Located just off the Interstate and very close to the beach area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good - Staff helpful and polite. Room good size and clean. Good shower. Quiet room. Quite good value really as a stopover.

Not so Good - breakfast was basic, with little room to sit. No air con but had fan which worked well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We used this motel as a one night stop over en route from Santa Cruz to Santa Barbara. It exceeded expectations for a budget hotel.
Clean and well maintained,friendly and polite staff. Room large and quiet and well equipped. Excellent shower.
Breakfast adequate.
Will use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed there on our way from LA to SF and it was just what you hope for: a clean room, clean bedding with plenty of pillows, clean bathroom with new granite and relatively quiet even though it sits by the highway ramp. The breakfast (coffee, cereals, muffins) works great if you're on the go and the waffle maker was a huge hit for the kids. Overall, a great deal for your money. We'll recommend this place and will stay there again.

Room Tip: I would ask for the tucked in rooms where the window/ door is as far removed from the highway as pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a road trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles....really lovely Motel. Perfect location as only a few minutes walk to the beach and close to the highway (so we didn't get lost!) Lovely owners and nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach
Ocean Palms Hotel
Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.