We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Palms Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Dortmund, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I spent there one night and i was pretty happy. The room was ok in size with a tv, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was very big and clean, which is the most important thing for me. The breakfast was basically nothing, but we ate the rest if the last-night dinner, so the microwave was handy :-). Location is ok, short walk to the beach and small restaurants and a very short drive to outlets and walmart. It was a bit noisy, because the highway is directly in front of the motel, but it was bearable. The pool is unfortunately not heated and there is no safe in the room, which would have been an issue if i stayed longer, but for one night it was really more than ok. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valued guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel we greatly appreciate your comments and will gladly take into consideration any of your concerns and keep on improving,

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
32
79
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nice enough little motel to explore Pismo Beach and Edna Valley wineries. The room itself was compact, but the bathroom was a good size. I did hear a fair bit of freeway traffic through the closed windows. Close enough to walk to some of the nice little restaurants and the beach. The pool wasn't heated, so I can't imagine it is used for about 5 months of the year. Front desk staff was friendly. I didn't have any breakfast but saw they had waffles, muffins and cereals. Fine for a cheap and cheerful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at the Ocean Palms Motel. we are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time to explore all that pismo beach had to offer, please visit again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Thank you Bob!

On short notice you upgraded from a Queen to a King room, No extra charge.
With your location only blocks away from Pismo Beach pier, we could walk everywhere.

Your rooms are very clean, comfortable and pet friendly! Having a picnic area was a big cost saver. We BBQ fresh surf and turf every night. While relaxing with our pups.

We will diffidently come back to visit you again...
John and Patty Snow

Room Tip: Pet friendly room close to park and picnic area....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at our Ocean palms Motel in Pismo Beach, it was pleasure to host you and your pet, we are very happy you enjoyed the picnic area for your grilling needs and you are right it is a great spot for pets to roam around we are glad you had a great time and we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Ocean Palms is conveniently located right off 101, and just a couple of blocks from the Ocean and the center of everything! Comfortable, inexpensive rooms with fast wifi, and a simple, but tasty continental offered in the morning. It's a family managed , and it shows in the friendly welcoming spirit of the place. Clean, comfortable and affordable, we were planning on one night, but stayed three! An extra bonus is the lovely Italian restaurant across the street, and the Orange Cat Cafe we discovered on the way to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Bob who works the Front Desk is Friendly, and Professional. Please tell him I said Hi!
The rooms are clean and do not smell musty and the beds are foam topped, not like some others at a similar price point.
Its not listed but there are two picnic benches and park style girl on the east side of the property.
You can easily get on southbound 101 from this motel, but traffic noise is not noticeable in your room unless you have radar (aka people who are not adjusted to urban life, like I was years ago).
For breakfast, they have a Golden Malted Waffle Maker, and danishes from Edna's Bakery, Coffee, and OJ from concentrate, this is great for a budget Friendly Motel.
This Place Rocks! and is my new Favorite Central Coast Motel. I don't know why other motels clone themselves from the Ocean Palms Motel, for if they did there would be many more satisfied people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Ocean Palms was a pleasant, clean, and budget friendly little motel. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. They could use some newer towels and could improve on the breakfast, but we were otherwise very happy with it.

Room Tip: The rooms are really big for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great area, beautiful beach, great service. If you're driving down the weat coast, this is the perfect place to stay along you way. I stayed here one night, stopped with no reservation and everything was full, thankfully the gentleman found me a room ! Nothing fancy, but clean. Not expensive, but decent. Enjoy !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.