We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine little motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Palms Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fine little motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I wouldn't rate it quite as high as some but it is a very well run motel. Reception was very helpful (though we had limited interaction with them) and the motel is obviously very well maintained and very clean. Modern TV, comfortable bed etc but no bath. We were just stopping to break our SF to LA drive and it was fine for that and location is probably good for a longer stay - with walking access to sea, tourist shops and restaurants. We did get some quite loud highway noise when we arrived and this initially concerned us but we didn't notice this at all later in the evening. Didn't have breakfast as it looked very basic and we thought there were more interesting places to dine. We couldn't work out the AC as we only seemed to get heat despite it being a warm day - but the night cooled anyway so we didn't bother to ask for help - maybe we were just to lazy to work it out properly.

Room Tip: If noise is a big issue for you might be wise to choose a room furthest from the highway but not a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabond210, Front Office Manager at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write about your recent stay at the ocean palms motel, we appreciate your positive remarks, we are sorry to read that you wrote there are no baths, i would like to let you know that we do have some rooms with bath tubs available if you request it,the room you rented was with a shower, please make sure you request a bath tub, on your next stay with us.


Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    75
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
79
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am from the Uk - san fran to LA
friendly reception staff. good clean room.
microwave present.
breakfast ok, beaware of the milk - check it 1st to see if you want to put it on your cereal - possibly just white water??

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabond210, Front Office Manager at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your recent stay at the ocean palms motel, we are glad you took advantage of the complimentary breakfast we have offer, i would like to give you an explanation to your comment regarding the milk. We do offer fat free skimmed milk, which guest mostly prefer and that is the one we had out and do offer whole milk on request, we are sorry the front desk did not relate this to you,
we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed on the second floor - high wood ceilings.Very clean and quiet. Excellent service and friendly host. Breakfast included waffles, cereal and juice.We consider this motel a very good value. Renovations currently under way.

Room Tip: We prefer second floor because of cathedral ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good location, a short walk down the hill to the beach. Sparkling clean and Bob is the perfect host. I had messed up our booking, but Bob sorted it out in no time - phew! The added bonus is that at breakfast I had the best cup of tea I'd had anywhere in the USA. Would definitely recommend this motel to travellers looking for somewhere decent, that doesn't break the bank.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I chose Ocean Palms Motel because of its perfect location. Although we arrived in town just shortly before needing to leave for our engagement, we still had adequate time to explore Pomeroy Avenue by foot. The manager, Bob, was very helpful and informative about the town and knew the location of all the businesses I asked about. The room was much more pleasant than I expected. It was very clean and met our needs wonderfully. Although it is close to the highway, (all hotels and motels in Pismo are relatively close to the highway as it is a small town that runs along the 101) the highway noise was no problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwäbisch Hall, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The best hotel on our trip!! Cool location, big and clean room, huge and comfortable beds, bath room/wash basin is separate. TV, free WiFi, free parking, pool, short way to the beach, breakfast included. Bob the Manager is very friendly and helpful. Would go there again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A great place just off the 101. Yes it is close to the freeway but with the window closed this didnt bother us at all. We had a fan in our room which was more than adequate in the absence of any air con. Comfortable, clean rooms which were more than adequate for our needs. Reception were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very basic but functional. Highly recommended for a stay in Pismo Beach, good starting point for exploring the Big Sur and beyond.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.