We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Seal Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Seal Inn to your Saves list
Blue Seal Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Dolliver St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at this motel earlier this month, and will not likely try it again.
Pros:
Comfortable bed
Mostly clean
Location is very close to town, beach, and pier, although the immediate area did not seem safe to walk outside alone, at night.
Decent furniture, and room upgrades (new doors/windows/paint)
Fairly quiet, away from Hwy 1, and from neighbors.

Cons:
Smoke detector missing.
Wall heater knob missing, and stem broken - i.e. there was no heat for the room, and we shivered through the night.
Not enough parking for no. of rooms.
Customer service - Hotel staff did not want to try and accommodate these issues. They did immediately offer to cancel the reservation/refund payment, however this would have left us with no place to stay late in the night.

I don't think the cons would be too difficult for them to fix (except for parking), but the management said they would not remedy these things, because they are a 1 star hotel and there was enough demand. When are heat/smoke detectors optional? What happened to genuine customer service? I don't care if the price is lower than the competition, business should be honest.

Room Tip: Hwy 1 can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    14
    7
    27
See reviews for
16
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Don't get me wrong, I love this place and we have stayed there many times since 1999, but they need to improve seriously.... From broken lamps to torn sheets to faded painting...
They have upgraded some items but still not up tp par....this motel gets high rates for the summer due to proximity to the beach and large pool (unheated)......
Breakfast is poor with bad coffee....
So please improve and we will be back.....

Room Tip: Stick to the main building, bungalows are older....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This motel is located towards the south end of Pismo Beach. It is painted very "blue". There is a string of one story cottage type in-line buildings and a newer 2-story building. The place is not fancy, but there are regular and family rooms with multiple rooms and bedrooms. Most importantly, it is clean. The rates rise past the point of reasonableness for the quality and lack of amenities when in high seSon, but location, location. All in all, it is an ok alternative, especially when not in high season.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for a Friday and Saturday night stay on September 27 and 28, 2013 along with another couple. I chose this hotel because it is just 3 blocks from the beach and walking distance to the Pismo Pier, restaurants and downtown shops. All four of us agreed that the beds were very comfortable (pillow-top Beauty Rest brand), linens and towels were clean, free wi-fi, free coffee and sweet rolls in the mornings, and the price of the King size bed rooms were reasonably priced- $99.00 each night through a booking website. However, the hotel is old and needs much improvements. The television reception was terrible. The little refrigerators in the rooms are loud and there wasn't enough plug-ins in our room to run the microwave and the refrigerator at the same time with the television too. The shower curtains had mildew at the bottom of them but the water was hot. The other couple reported also the refrigerator was loud and they unplugged theirs, dry rot showing along the bathroom baseboards and mildew on the bottom of their shower curtain. Their carpet was worn in spots and had a hole in it under the table. Their television reception also was lousy. The outdoor swimming pool had a piece of the floor missing and jagged edges showing making it undesirable to walk on for fear of cutting open your foot. The attendants were nice and friendly and all in all it wasn't a terrible place to stay since we didn't spend much time at the room anyway. I would stay here again but my husband found too many things undesirable about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice to see such a good deal so close to the beach, pier, and all restaurants. The service from the minute we walked in the door was very friendly and he was very patient with us and our needs. Our price was amazing for two people and I am sure that doubles during the summer, but I think it is smart to lower your prices to fill your Inn.
Room was clean and well stocked with towels, can't say that about some 4-5 start places I have stayed in. Everything worked.....even the remote :) Carpet was clean and did not feel the need to keep on my slippers, but I do anyways!!! Slept very good, and not much noise, we had some young people smoking near the room, but just closed the windows and all was good. The place was full and it is small and yes there will be noise.
I have already told friends and family about this place, it is location, location, location!!!! My son and his girlfriend plan on staying here on their way up the coast in December, you really can't beat the price. This place is family run and it is their bread and butter, be respectful people and remember 54.00 for one night, for two people, a block from the ocean is a deal!!!!!

Room Tip: Get your free cup of coffee with real milk, grab a bowl of raisin bran cereal and a muffin and get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

If you are only looking for a place to rest on your way up or down the coast then this is the place for you. Otherwise if you plan to stay more than a few days, don't stay here. Internet: Intermittent at best and extremely slow. Their continental breakfast is less than as well and their beds feel like chicken wire covered with fabric. When we arrived at 3 pm the property was still littered with empty Jell-O shot cups and empty beer boxes. Also the smell of Indian cuisine is very strong in the office which can be very overpowering in the morning when you are getting your coffee and fake orange juice drink. If you find this all acceptable for $50/night. ...enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stay in Blue Seal motel driving from Los Angeles to San Simeon.
Its very nice, cozy, clean motel. Great hospitality in front desk.
Nice, comfortable bed. We met tourist from Germany and France in this motel. They were also very pleased. We got a good rest and continued our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Seal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seal Inn

Address: 230 Dolliver St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Blue Seal Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Seal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Seal Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Seal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.