We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Seal Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Seal Inn to your Saves list
Blue Seal Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Dolliver St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
1 review
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great spot. Just need a/c for the summer. Rooms get pretty hot. It was a great location, very close to everything necessary to have a good time. Very well priced for a week day rate. The room was cleaned very well& left neat. Excellent front desk customer service &well trained staff. Only problem was the room temperature got very high during the day & the room had no cooling unit or ceiling fan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    15
    7
    27
See reviews for
17
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradley
Level Contributor
251 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to Pismo Beach and decided to give this place a try because it was recommended by a local business owner. We remembered stopping by there once before but couldn't remember why we didn't stay. I walked in the lobby and the smell was disgusting. I'm not sure what kind of smell it is but now I remember why we didn't stay. There was an elderly lady at the counter who put up her index finger and said, "Wait." Another female came to the counter to help me and she was very nice. I asked how much the rooms were and was told that they were $139 a night!! I can only rate what I saw or smelled. I'll never stay in a motel that smells like that in the lobby because I can only imagine what the rooms smell like. I'm giving the Blue Seal a "Terrible" rating on "cleanliness" because of the odor in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Blue Seal is on the old highway one, a small old-fashioned motor lodge type but it has been lovingly spruced up by the current owners. Everything inside and out has been freshly painted and the bathrooms have been refurbished. Our room was quite small but had a queen bed and a newer flat screen TV, and served our needs for a one night stay very nicely. At approx. $60 for a wkend rate it was a fair price considering the good location. The desk manager was very friendly and helped us connect to the free wifi service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
211 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we arrived in this motel with a coupon and we paid 55€ per night for a double room. the room was decent and clean. the position is good (3 minutes walking distance from the center of the town that is really small). furnishings were not modern but we didn't spend a lot of tme in the room so , at the end, the motel was ok

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were driving up the coast out of season, so could have taken our pick of places at Pismo Beach, but it was dark and late and we wanted somewhere to stop off and get some sleep so pulled into the Blue Seal. It was a friendly welcome, the room was cheap given the coastal location, and I liked the quaint blue buildings! It was walking distance into town and to the Pier. It is not exceptional, but I felt for the money we got a good safe, comfortable clean room, and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Last night we stayed in a Red Roof Inn in Monterey for $130, there were bugs in the bathroom, carpet was dirty and the toilet wasn't bolted down and then it decided not to flush! We came go Pismo today with no reservations and decided to check the blue seal, the front desk clerk/manager? Was exceptionally nice, got us extra pillows and gave us a great rate. Room is a little dated but just fine for what we need it for, sleep and shower. Location is walking distance to everything. I would def come back to the blue seal.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Everything was dirty, the towels had what im hoping was only ketchup on them. The blankets and pillows and sheets were stained, uncleaned, and had what appeared to be blood on them. My boyfriend and I are always checking hotels for bedbugs before we even sit on the bed, and when checking between the mattresses we found somebodies dirty socks and underwear. We slept on the other bed in the room, thinking maybe it was safer... Well, next morning, I have two bites on my arm. So I'm just going to warn, this place might have bedbugs on top of dirty linens and towels.
Gross.
& the place smells like mold.
OH! The management is biased to who they will rent to and how much they will charge you, and they are rude and scold you if you let anyone know how much you get your room for because people start calling them out. I'm white and they gave me a 3 bed room for $125, but I was talking to a black girl outside later and she told me that she had begged for the same room but the management wouldn't go lower then $250. After she confronted the manager asking why he changed the price for the person next in line he got upset and came to my room telling me not to talk about the prices of rooms to other people staying there. WTF?

Room Tip: Dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#19 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#12 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 28 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Seal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seal Inn

Address: 230 Dolliver St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Blue Seal Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Seal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Seal Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Seal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.