We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow eatin' but good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cracked Crab

Cracked Crab
751 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2529
805-773-2722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 90 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Slow eatin' but good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Fast service but the crab is so good it takes 2 hours to pick every morsel out. Nice salads and very good gumbo. Be prepared to wait but no lines at 5 pm! Best meal we had in Pismo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    134
    37
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good fun, good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband loves seafood so we had to try this. There was quite a long wait (up to an hour, sitting on a bench out front) but this shows how popular it is. Very friendly and efficient staff and great fresh food, plus, if you don't like seafood there are other choices on the menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Roadhouse stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My gf and I stopped here coming back to the Bay Area from Palm Springs (the long way through LA). It was pretty crowded, but we got a table pretty quickly. I heard the place can get pretty crowded at times, so I guess we were lucky We both had just clam chowder, which was very good. Service was excellent.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was my first time at Cracked Crab. They had a good wait line when we arrived at the restaurant. We inquired about the wait time and was conveyed 20minutes of wait. The service was quite impresive, they were abke to acomodate 10 people in less then 10mins inspite of the long que.
Micheal was great and took care of our order with great service.
We will return soon to this restaurant and highly recommend this place to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Found this restaurant online. We went mid-afternoon, so there was no wait. I had the crab po-boy and it was excellent. Husband had the halibut and he loved it as well. Wait staff very attentive (we had Rae/Ray?? Very nice woman). The father and son next to us had driven down from Monterey CA just to eat here! (2 1/2 hrs) They told Rae what they were looking for and she and another member of the staff "designed" dishes for them (we just ordered from menu - will know better next time). Highly recommend. They do not take reservations, so plan ahead!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracked Crab also viewed

 

Been to Cracked Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracked Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.