We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order a bucket!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cracked Crab

Cracked Crab
751 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2529
805-773-2722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 92 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Order a bucket!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The last time I walked into a restaurant that smelled like this, I was in Maine! I knew I was in the right place. We split a one-person bucket between us. We chose snow crab and shrimp, which came along with steamed and seasoned potatoes, sausage and corn. There were several other types of crab from which to, choose, including Alaskan king crab.

The tradition is to dump bucket orders onto the table in front of you, and that was pretty cool, too. Very, very good — and a must if you like seafood.

Also — be sure to try the crab bisque. They make it with sherry, which lends a nice nutty flavor to this very rich soup. I sampled my husband's clam chowder, and it was very creamy and good, too. Don't plan on counting calories here, but just go and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    149
    43
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“YUM. A good crabby dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I ate here on a busy Thursday night and we both loved it. The place is small and a little cramped, but they provide excellent service and the food is really very good. The two hostesses the night we went offered to call us (since there was a 45 minute wait) on my cell phone, and said it was fine if we went around the neighborhood for a pre-dinner beer (which we did.) It turns out the wait was only about 20 minutes, and they had a table for us when we closed out and returned.

The food... my wife had a crab melt open sandwich and crab-topped salad. I had chowder and seafood enchiladas with a white sauce. Everything was hot and excellent, our server was funny and helpful, and we scarfed everything down in what seemed like minutes. Lots of people were ordering the "buckets" with crab and other items... seems to be the popular thing, but that's not what we were looking for. We'd go back here in a heartbeat. Great place.

No reservations accepted... so just throw your name on the list and wait it out!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDONDO BEACH, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“GREAT SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Another golfing outing discovery. This is a small, Ma and Pa establishment located in the heart of Old Town Pismo. All of their seafood is fresh and outstanding but my favorite is the bucket where you get a choice of several different items. But my favorites are dungeness crab and slipper lobster (which has nothing to do with lobster but it's good). No reservations but give them your cell number and you can browse the numerous shops until they call you.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We happened I here for lunch and were not disappointed. Menu updated and printed daily so it's all fresh. We had salads, soup and calamari which was outstanding. Our only disappointment was we didn't have another nite in town to go back for a large dinner. But, we will be back!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a great place to eat if you're in Pismo. My wife and I have eaten here several times and are never disappointed. Their house salad and clam chowder is my favorite. Yummy food with a great atmosphere. The only downfall is they don't serve hard alcohol.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracked Crab also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Cracked Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracked Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.