We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pet friendly hotel on the waterfront pismo beach ca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Gypsy Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Gypsy Motel
1020 Cypress, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
mesa az
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“pet friendly hotel on the waterfront pismo beach ca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel sits right on the beach, with a short stairway to the sands below.
The front units have the best view and there are some second and third floor units in the
rear that have partial views. We took the only available unit, a partial-view studio
on the second floor which had a Murphy bed in the spacious room . Surprisingly,
it was comfortable, but you may want to ask before booking if that is a concern.
There is morning coffee. but no breakfast, so you have to go around the corner
to eat. Keep this in mind: there is no air conditioning. The open window with sea breeze and a small fan worked in mid-September, but summer may be a different matter, especially
if you can't get a front unit.

Room Tip: ask for a front unit and what kind of bed is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    9
    13
    5
See reviews for
29
34
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've stayed her 3 or 4 times over the last few years and we have found this to be one of the best deals in town. We choose this place over others primarily because it allows dogs and is one of the few that do. The rooms are very well kept though they are a bit dated. It's an older hotel, and while there are others nearby that are much newer, we prefer the charm of this place, not to mention that it sits on top of a hill so that most rooms have an incredible view of the beach. It's literally steps from the sand and is just a short walk from the motel to the center of town. The rooms are clean and well kept and the ones that we've stayed in all have a little kitchenette which is a very nice feature. The service is great! We plan to keep coming back year after year.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room in the lower building (unless you like to climb a lot of stairs).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Much cheaper out of season, beach front 8/27 $125, can't beat that, one bed and a sleeper sofa, typical sleep quality, nice property, sleepy beach town, near eateries, coffee and the pier, enjoyed it 200 character minimum they called to see if we were still coming

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in one of the family suites in July and I was so impressed. There was a very well-equipped kitchen, the place was clean, the staff were very helpful, it's a great location but what I really liked was the attention to detail. For example, the fridge was in the room I slept in and it ran silently. Same with the AC. There were no squeaky doors (important to me because I get up early) - even the bathroom fan worked so well that after a shower the mirror was practically dry already. I just kept noticing stuff like this the whole time we were there...and I should have reviewed this sooner because I would probably have remembered even more!

One thing I do remember is that there was a sign on the door saying our suite was owned by some other people. I asked about this and they said every room is privately owned, and the owners get priority; otherwise the rooms are up for grabs. Maybe this is why everything worked so well?

I noticed the outdoor landscaping was very well maintained also. The place is not big and even the pool is a triangle shape due to limited space - but my kids certainly didn't mind and they spent a ton of time in the pool. Plus it's so easy to walk to downtown Pismo. We would definitely stay here again - and hopefully we will next year!

Room Tip: If you are 5 or more, go for the suites - they are 2 rooms put together, and we were in one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Used to come here frequently when we were younger and glad to say we still find Sea Gypsy a great place to stay. We love the location, both its on the sand orientation, and proximity to pier area. We always get an ocean front room and love to sleep with the ocean sounds right there. And then walking on the beach, and walking to all our favorite places, is just the best!

The included kitchen makes staying there so convenient. The wallbed in the front unit is pretty comfortable, and there's a pullout sofa bed for extra sleeping space. We often get the attached back bedroom unit as well - fully equipped comfy room. Although there is a fresh ocean breeze, the front room can be stuffy if you don't have access to the back bedroom and can open that window for cross-ventilation. Also, on this trip, we had some noisy neighbors who were also smokers, out on their deck, so we got some of their excess.

There is a good pool and jacuzzi. The staff is terrific. There is also plenty to do near Pismo - wineries, San Luis Obispo, lots of small towns nearby like Avila Beach, Arroyo Grande and Oceano.

The Sea Gypsy and Pismo Beach are highly recommended!! We will keep going back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I have stayed there twice now and enjoyed it immensely! Our first stay, we were in one of the smaller rooms in the back building. Its small, very little room and not a whole lot to write home about. But the bed was really nice, room was very clean and we just enjoyed our time together. Its also really close to the downtown of Pismo, I don't think we drove anywhere for 3 days. Being so close to the beach and all the shops downtown made up for the ok room

The second time we stayed in one of the oceanfront suites. WOW! awesome view, perfect room, the kitchenette was perfect. Very clean, great beds, and we slept with the balcony door open to listen to the ocean. This was in May so temps weren't too high.

Staff is always friendly, price is always reasonable. In may we stayed for ~$110 per night. Great price for oceanfront.

Room Tip: Stay in an oceanfront suite if you can afford it. If not, the other rooms are small, so don't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The room was in the back between two buildings - yes, the hotel is right on the beach, but unless you get a room facing the ocean, be prepared to roast! The air conditioner is very, VERY loud, and doesn't cool the room down. Tight spaces in addition - very little room to move around. Clean, but that's about all that was good about it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Gypsy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gypsy Motel

Address: 1020 Cypress, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Sea Gypsy Hotel Pismo Beach
Sea Gypsy Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Gypsy Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Gypsy Motel to your Saves list