We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice RV park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo Coast Village RV Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pismo Coast Village RV Resort
Save
You added Pismo Coast Village RV Resort to your Saves list
165 South Dolliver Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice RV park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 nights in June, just after school was out for the summer. It's a very clean RV park, great showers in the multiple bathrooms if you choose to use them instead of your RV. The laundromat has plenty of washers and dryers, occasionally have to wait, but not for long. Nice little general store with basics and some RV supplies. Little restaurant on site. This is such a busy time of year there - lots of kids on little bicycles and scooters, need to be really careful in backing out of your spot. Great location in town, easy walking distance to pier, beach, several restaurants, surf shop, pool hall and bowling alley.
Most sites are good, little tight for some, and try to not get the back "wall" - most back there are very small and are backed up next to a state campground. Not sure why those have been crammed in there so close.
Have stayed there many times before, and it's our RV park of choice. Very dog friendly, staff is helpful and they pretty much stick to the noise curfews and park rules, making it nice for all.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
19
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you like construction noise (which we were not warned about any point!) and rules ( like lowering your tent by 10am and nothing hanging out to dry so as not to ruin the view which is odd as the only view is of asphalt, other RV,s and cars) you are definitely not right on the beach you can't see it or hear it and just getting to it is a trek as there is a large lagoon between you and the ocean(not in any photos before you get here by the way). The spots are really small everyone is packed in like sardines and we were unlucky enough to be stuck right by the check in gate so it was all day traffic in addition to the construction noise. We complained and were told that they didn't know about the construction which I thought was odd, they told us we could move when my husband said that is a lot of work as we are all set up and asked if anyone could help us they said no but it won't take you long it's just 3 hoses (no it's a lot more than that to disconnect everything and hook your trailer back up and move your tent, ice chests, chairs, etc, etc! it's a lot) anyway we looked at the other spots and thought it was not worth it as they really weren't much better. They gave us a discount which was good however I think they should have at the very least warned us before they stuck us in this spot. My advice for anyone looking for a beach camping experience stay away from Pismo Coast RV Village it's not what you are looking for. We will never be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and i stayed here 3 nights ago and enjoyed it. It is your typical concrete rv park , the spaces are not huge , but the full hookups with cable is nice! It sits right on the edge of the beach and it is very nice and clean. It was quirt, except for some road noise from being close to the highway, but next time we would reserve a spot closer to the beach. They have a nice general store, laundromat, cafe, pool and arcade. The store had many things you might need. We look forward to coming back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I don’t know what some of the people are talking about with some of the bad reviews.. No its not the Ritz Carlton, but your also not spending $400+ a night, I will say they do need a hot tub.. The spaces are really not bad, not even a 5 minute walk to “down town” Pismo. We have stayed here every year for the past 3 years and would say its probably the best park in Pismo, its not huge, the internet is not perfect but, we don’t go out in the RV to watch TV, park does have cable and I did set up the satellite with ease, it was during the San Diego fires and wanted to see the news about it..
Each spot has park bench (which they’ll remove if you wish) and a fire pit which they clean for you every morning. Its close to the water, lots of waterfowl, etc..
They have a store, reasonably priced and has just about everything you need including wine. Haha
I have no problem telling people about Pismo Coast RV and how much we like it. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Pismo Coast Rv Village (PCRVV) is a good rv park located just a few blocks from your typical small beach town resort from the downtown shopping and restaurant district with all the conveniences of box-store and better-known family restaurants just a couple of miles either side of Pismo Beach in Arroyo Grande to the south and San Luis Obispo to the north. A nice pier is located at the end of the main drag restaurant/souvenir shops row.

The RV resort is far superior to the two RV resorts across the street who charge considerably more for inferior resorts not to mention the numerous full-timers that for some reason always seem to drag down the resorts image and quality. Not all but most.

PCRVV's sites are gravel sites with a grass belt behind rows that are not on the perimeter. One side sides onto a state or county park and the other up to the Pacific Ocean. There is a canal-like waterway that separates the park and the ocean so no ocean access from the resort. The ocean is only a couple of block away with easy access.

The facilities included a general store, restaurant and pool. There may have been more facilities, but this all we used. The washrooms were clean with row showers and toilets and regularly looked after.

We are "glampers" who visited in our 38' motorhome so the only thing we would have preferred would be that part of the site be paved so we didn't track gravel into our M/H. We paid $208 for the week in Feb. 2014.

We really liked the idea of having a small beach community feel with the fact that we could visit the local Walmart to get supplies and Applebee's for a treat for dinner in Arroyo Grande when we chose to. The best of both world's for us.

As an aside, we also checked out LeSage Riviera RV Park in Grover Beach, Ca just a few miles south of this resort and found the sites to be quite cramped. The better alternative to LeSage's would be Pismo Sands RV Park in Oceano, CA where the sites were larger, more grass...

I hope this helped!

Room Tip: In our opinion sites 1-4 and 22-26 are the best rv sites in the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent a week in San Diego and decided to break the trip back up by spending 3 nights in Pismo. My friend had booked a park in Avilla Beach and at the last minute I found this park that is right on the beach I reserved two spots together requesting the sites along the end by the State Park. Biggest mistake ever!!

We arrived at about 4:00 in the afternoon on a Thursday. I asked about my request and got, what request. Nice. They put us together in sites that had no more than 8 feet of space between us. They literally stack RVs on top of each other. Walk out your door and there is your neighbor’s sewer hookup. Behind you is a small strip of grass and guess what, more neighbors. Neighbors everywhere!! The fire pit in the site next to us was less than 12” from my trailer. Five feet across the grass strip, two more fire pits. If you like smoke these are great sites. All in all imagine 400 fire pits! Bring a mask and goggles.

Hated this place. Kids running, riding, running, screaming, running everywhere all of the time. Don’t know how you could have as much dirt in your trailer from the asphalt jungle that this place is. They must import it. We could not get any privacy or peace here. We spent most of our time away and pretty much slept here. Still had to stay in at night with the windows closed. Fires at night. Fires in the morning. A lot of smoke.

I thought at least we can walk over to the beach and enjoy the smoke free environment. Well, there is a very large lagoon between the campground and the beach. Very large! Takes about 25 minutes to walk around it to the beach. This place really isn’t on the beach. Technically it is lagoon front. That was not in the brochure.

To sum it up this is one of the most crowded RV Parks I Have ever stayed at. They charge premium rates for very small sites. Not sure what type of folks give this place 5 stars. I must be missing something. Communal camping is not that great. Just my take, this might be paradise to others. Don’t waste your time or $$$$ here. Avilla beach is really near the beach and much, much nicer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Pismo Beach is one of our favorite quick getaway spots not too far from home. We've stayed at several hotels along the coast as well as rental houses in nearby Paso Robles wine country.

So when we purchased our new 27 foot C class motorhome, we decided our first trip should be to Pismo Beach. We recently adopted Fred, a 5 year old Basset Hound, to join our 5 year old Bagle Hound, Suki. Since most hotels that allow dogs have a limit of one per room, we thought why not travel by RV instead.

Pismo Coast Village is right on the beach, they allow dogs, have wifi, cable tv and full hookups. Sounded like the perfect place to break in the RV and see how everyone likes camping vs hotels. We arrived on Thursday so it wasn't very crowded, maybe 1/3 full. Our assigned space was close to the beach access, close to the showers and restrooms and not too close to the kids playground.

Backing in and hooking up was simple, we were set up in about 10 minutes. The space was level and clean, we had room next to us with a fire pit and picnic table. Plus a space for parking one car, which we didn't need.

Although the space was good, we felt a bit cramped since there were other people all around us. There was little separation between spaces, so we didn't get that feeling of privacy unless we were inside with all of the shades closed.

The walk to the beach was nice, there's a lagoon you have to go around to get to the sand, but it's not that far of a walk. The dogs loved the beach, but had to stay on leash.

You can't beat the weather being that close to the ocean, very nice breeze, always kept us cool. But a little cold at night, but what do you expect being right next to the beach.

Next door there is a state campground which was much more spread out, although they were booked up during our stay. I'm not sure what amenities they have, but it sure is nice to have everything connected while camping. It felt like our old apartment in Downtown LA, but just a little bit smaller, in a much better location.

We may come back here again someday, all in all, it was a great way to start off our adventures in the RV with our 2 dogs. You can follow us on our blog www.roadtriphounds.com

Room Tip: If you don't have kids, don't stay near the playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#10 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#12 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pismo Coast Village RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Coast Village RV Resort

Address: 165 South Dolliver Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach, 400 full-hookup sites, general store, restaurant, laundromat,hot showers, complimentary Wi-Fi, heated pool, arcade, bicycle rentals,miniature golf just a short walk to the pier and downtown Pismo Beach. Our services also include RV repair and service, and RV storage. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo Coast Village RV Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.